We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far out, hospitality very poor and at most average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Man of Aran Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Man of Aran Cottage
Save
You added Man of Aran Cottage to your Saves list
Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too far out, hospitality very poor and at most average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Man of Aran for 2 nights. We were attending a wedding in Kilronan one of the days of our stay. We booked this cottage and paid a deposit of 45 euro. In the mean time a room at the hotel where the wedding was being held became available. I didn't want to lose our deposit by canceling, or mess around the owners of the B&B so we kept our booking at the Man of Aran. In total, over 2 days, we spent 54 euro on taxi's in and out to Kilronan so it actually cost us more in the long run keeping our booking. Besides this we found to our dismay that taxi drivers did not want to travel to the Man of Aran. On the morning of the wedding, which was very wet and windy, two local taxis we called would not come to collect us to take us into the village of Kilronan (approx 4 miles). They instead suggested we start walking towards Kilronan (in the wind and rain with our wedding clothes on) and we might hitch a ride with the tour buses who go to nearby Dun Aengus. Obviously we weren't going to do this. Eventually, Joe the man of the house sorted us out with a taxi into Kilronan but we had to be ready within 20 minutes. We were over an hour early then for the wedding. The night of the wedding, we had to leave the party early to make sure we got home as we were warned that taxi drivers would not want to go as far as Man of Aran later.
Aside from that, we found the Man and Woman of the house ok only. We felt that they made more of an effort with the foreign guests, offering them more toast, tea, coffee etc. We got 1 slice of toast each with our breakfast on both days. On leaving, we were ignored by Maura as we walked out. Not even a goodbye. At the same time she was flapping around the foreign guests telling them how she hoped to see them back again etc. Don't get me wrong, I was happy to see them being hospitable to the foreign guests but they seemed to make no effort with us. I find this very short sighted on their part as we would probably be more likely to return to the island, being from Ireland.
Accommodation wise, the room itself was very dark with no facilities for tea or coffee. The shower wasn't great either. The views of the sea were spectacular though and the garden was very pretty. We didn't have any evening meals at the cottage but did have a full Irish breakfast which, though nice, would not set you up for the day. If I were to book again, I would not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
19
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked 2 nights here for our honeymoon, and it was supposed to be the highlight of our trip. Unfortunately, though the hosts knew we were on our honeymoon, we got a very un-charming room in the annex (which we weren't aware of - a separate building altogether), and not an awesome cottage room (which we thought we were paying for). Though we paid more to stay here than any other place on our 3 week trip, there were less amenities. (no coffee/tea fixings in the room, tv, etc) We couldn't understand why we were put in the annex when we found out we were the only ones staying there and the cottage was empty both nights.
We had bad weather during our stay but the heat wasn't turned on until 10:30pm the first night, and we're from Texas so we were quite cold. :)
At almost all our other BnBs, when we arrived we were received with a warm welcome, coffee, and biscuits or scones, but we were just given a key and that was that. On the second night, it was clear we weren't going to be able to go anywhere because of the weather, so we hung out in the lounge with another couple for a few hours, and even though the owner was in the next room, we were never offered a thing. And we had no food or way of getting food as town is 4.5 miles away and there were storms and very high winds, so walking/biking was out. (dinner is way too pricey)
We felt like more of a burden than a guest and kind of insulted that we weren't given a cottage room for the money we paid and the occasion. The owner was short with us and not very friendly.
HOWEVER. I can't close without saying that the view of the ocean is amazing, and the gardens are pretty. If you don't care about the hosts and your room, than it's fine, but if that's the case I would suggest staying in town so you can be close to..anything. We stayed here specifically for the cottage and it just didn't deliver.

Room Tip: ASK for the cottage specifically or you may not get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

After a wet and windy day hiking on Inishmor, we were greeted by a warm fire in the main room. Joe welcomed us, took our soggy jackets, and turned on the boiler so the radiators could dry us out. He then served us peppermint tea from their herb garden and engaged us in personable conversation sprinkled with wry humor. We had the en suite room in the main house (the best, in my opinion) with a lovely window overlooking the stormy Atlantic Ocean. Maura fixed a superior dinner with fresh lettuce picked from Joe's hydroponic garden. After dinner they set us up to watch the 1930's film "Man of Aran" in the warm fireplace room. The film, quite innovative for its time, shows life on the islands in the early 1900's. The cottage was actually built for the film production, so quite fun to see scenes from there. Sorry to have to leave the next day. We could have spent days there and explored the island in better weather. We would hope to get back there before Joe and Maura decide to retire!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I don't agree at all with the negative review(s). Inis Mhor is definitely different from the rest of Ireland, and that's the way it should be. It's the perfect way to experience Old Ireland. Maura and Joe have to be two of the nicest and most welcoming hosts. I felt like I was leaving my Grandparents after our two-night stay. It sits just next to cliffs overlooking the North Sound and is so unbelievably picturesque. You will have to get a taxi (of which there are plenty at the port) to get to Kilmurvey as it is about a 3 mile trek. I would also suggest hiring bicycles. We hired bicycles for two days and was how we get to and from town. It's only about a 20 minute bike ride into town from the cottages. What is wonderful is that it is set apart from the main town, so it is very isolated, which I think is perfect. You really get a sense of what it is like to live there. Maura is the most amazing cook and fixed us amazing meals. We also bought scarves she knits at home which are gorgeous! I miss the Wolfes!!

Room Tip: For the most authentic experience, stay in the main cottage rather than the annex. Also, the ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor we were disappointed with our stay. Our room was located in an annex separate from the charming thatched cottage. Good location for visiting Dun Aengus and the great yellow cafe nearby but very far out from Kilronan. When we asked the landlady how best to get into town she told us to walk towards town and advised we would soon be picked up by a minibus/taxi. Unfortunately we had to walk all the way into Kilronan (1hr+) and found out later that at this time of year (late October) taxis would not be on that side of the island past 3pm. If looking for easy access to the pubs/restaurants we would advise to stay near Kilronan. The cottage has a lot of potential and beautiful location but sadly the rooms and service let it down especially at a price of 80euros for 2 people sharing

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the cottage, didn't see the inside of those rooms but the cottage is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed just one night but, I wish we could have lingered. Joe and Maura are so hospitable and kind. There were several other, couples,families staying and we quickly felt like a family in the cozy dining area and lounge. Irish weather ,being what it is, we were wet and chilled after our explores around the island, interesting and exciting of their own. Definitely rent a bike as it is the best way to get around. The Man of Aran cottage is very close to Dun Aengus ringfort and a lovely beach, though the water was icy. Coming in to the cottage was warm and welcoming; with tea or a beverage before a lovely, tasty and local meal(Joe has a great organic garden and greenhouses). Views are spectacular, rainbows likely, and the beds are comfy. A piece of local history that is alive and waiting to include you.

Room Tip: Family rooms are in a separate cottage out front but, nice and comfy adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

First time to Aran Islands despite living in Ireland all my life. Very impressed to see how many tourists flock to the islands. I did my bookings in haste without researching much about the island and Man Of Aran caught my eye. Initially it was just myself and my better half travelling and we had intended nothing more than a bit of escapism from a busy summer so Man of Aran was just the ticket. The cottage is nestled into a hillside overlooking the bay with Galway in the distance. The infamous Dun Aengus fort is just a 10 minute walk up the hill and it is truly breath-taking, peaking over them cliffs is spine tingling experience that you will never forget with Cliffs of Moher in the distance. The cottage is small and quaint, well preserved and such a genuine experience. Your hosts (Joe and Maura - i think) are really warm and helpful and never to far from you. I enjoyed chatting with the lady of the house who is a 'proper' islander and the 'old way' is evident in all she does. Sitting at her desk sewing when we arrived, she had so many stories to share about the heritage of her island but it was her breakfast that impressed me the most. So many hotels offer 'full irish breakfasts' but this was as authentic and irish as you'll get. Good hearty local produce cooked the way you wish your mother had!!! I didnt know the B&B also did dinners but from what I gathered, they would have been very special given that her food is award winning and much of it grown in the cottages back garden! So, a trip to Aran is highly recommended and a stay in this B&B if peace, tranquility and authenticity is what you crave. We were in the 'annexe' of the B&B and the rooms where comfortable but basic, perhaps not as authentic as the rest of the house.

The B&B was 5km out of the town/village of Kilroan and even though we hired bikes, it is still a bit far if you are coming for the nightlife! Nothing really happens outside of the village on this island. Otherwise, the peacefulness and tranquility are perfect. Most of the other guests seemed to revel in this and spent a lot of time in the cottage taking all in! As we ended up travelling as 2 couples in search of ceoil agus craic, it wasn't ideal for us on this occasion. Probably only because of the taxi services, there seems to be 1 or 2 operators with mini-buses, I was very disappointed when the taxi operator decided to charge us 20 euro each way which was a clear rip-off despite the 'high cost of living' on the island which did have an apparent abundance of tourists. This really annoyed me. A similar 5km journey next night in galway cost exactly half that. I actually had one taxi-driver threaten that no-one would be leaving us home if we had a problem with the price!

All in all, a great island, a great B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Man of Aran Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man of Aran Cottage

Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Man Of Aran Cottage Hotel Inishmore
Man Of Aran Cottage Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Man of Aran Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.