We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Recharge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard Einne Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ard Einne Inn to your Saves list
Ard Einne Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Inis mor | Aran Islands, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Recharge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My stay at Ard Einne was great! The hostess was gracious and friendly but professional. The location is a bit away from the main tourist spots, but I wanted something quiet and take long walks, so it worked out perfectly for me. It is a great way to meet people and learn about a place - history, culture and people. The only challenge for someone staying more than a few days would be laundry as doing laundry was not permitted. This would be a great get-away for couples too if they like to hike and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Friendly advice: if you are staying at a Bed and Breakfast, please realize that you are staying at someone's home. If they are dropping you off and picking you up from the ferry or the tourist area, they are doing it because they are gracious. Asking them to pick you up at 2 am when you are done with the pub or being noisy in the middle of night is childish and pathetic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We took a short flight to the beautiful Island. A taxi was waiting there, and as it was raining hard we decided to take it. It was funny that we made ourself comfortable in the car and in less then 2 min. the driver said that we arrived :) ( 10 min walking).
Personally i didn`t like the service, the lady was not too friendly or helpful.
The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean, and there was a lovely livingroom where you could drink your coffee, read or watch tv.
Although it is a small island, it was a disadvantage that the B&B was so far from the "village" . It is a long walk, and unless your a fan of walking a lot, you will hate coming home in the cold night all that way walking. ( a litle hint: the lady will tell you it is less then 30 min, but unless you run, it takes longer ;) ).
Breakfast was good, as an irish breakfast is, and i have to say they had lovely bread scones. Best i had.
One of the days we rented bikes (10euro/pers), and we made a tour of the island. It is breathtaking. One of the most beautiful places i have visited.
I would definately go back, and if the B&B would be closer to the village, i would book the same place.

Room Tip: ask for a room with windows facing the sea,most do
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We arrived on a Saturday and cycled to the B&B.It took roughly 15 minutes to get there and at first everything seemed nice.once we checked in and left our bags we went off to cycle around the Island.
On returning we needed to shower and leave again for a pre-booked meal.The water was stone cold,when mentioned to the owner she came to the room and double checked.(the showers look like electric showers but are actually connected to the mains water which is heated by the electricity) The owner seemed more concerned about keeping the electric bill low rather than having warm water for their guests (as is stated in the guest info booklet).
We were told she would look into it and turn on the "booster" after returning from the restaurant we found the water still very cold.There was no answer from the reception or the phone when we tried to bring up the issue.
When checking out the next day it was mentioned to her again,to which she stated it couldnt have been cold as she checked it downstairs and it was steaming hot.
Very frustrating to deal with...
also no T.V in rooms and Paper thin walls so you can hear EVERYTHING

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

near the airport, about 45 minutes walk from Kilronan.
Good and friendly hostess and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Mid-Atlantic State - Rural
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

The Ard Einne Inn is a bike ride away from the village and pier which is great if you are interested in the people and history of the island - no so great if you wanted to be close to the puds and craic. Directly in front of Ard Einne is a tiny grave yard with St. Einne's church from about 1200. As you wander through the graveyard you find the history of the island - families that were entirely wiped out during the 1918 pandemic for example. The tiny church appears to have "sunk" in the sand about 4 feet, but in fact with centuries of burials the grave yard is built up around the church. Traveling away from the village to the end of the island you can walk along the coast to one of two "blow holes" on the island that are carved into the rocks from the sea.

The B&B is modest and comfortable. Tiny bathrooms and bedrooms - but it is designed for sleeping and not hanging out at the B&B. Clodagh will cook dinner for you, but you can get dinner in the village and have the opportunity to interact with the crazy tourists and locals. Her breakfasts are sensational. Arrangements can be made to haul your luggage to the pier.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We went to the beautiful Aran Islands during a long week end. We booked our B&B quite late so we ended up staying at Ard Einne. On their website, they advertise that they are 2 kilometers away from the pier, which is true IF you're a bird and flight straight to the B&B. We were wise enough to rent a bike from the pier and it took us a good 25/30 minutes to get there. On the website, they also say that they are a 3* guesthouse. Fine with me, but it's the really first time that I stayed in a 3* guesthouse without a TV or a real heating system and for €60 per head!
My review probably sounds pessimistic but we were quite disappointed with this B&B and we did quite a bit of B&B in Ireland. The only highlight was the good breakfast but again nothing exceptional. I have to admit though that cycling to the B&B was nice as the views are fantastic.

Next time, we'll book our B&B a bit more in advance.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

My husband and I were excited to travel to the island, but didn't realize most of what you wanted to see could be accomplished in one day. So that was our first issue, but the second was the location of the B&B. Unless you wanted to rent a bike for the day, it was very difficult to get around. Walking was fine, but not for every meal. It was at least a 40 minute walk to get anything to eat and to get a ride back on one of the tourist vans was a BIG PAIN. At one point we sat in one for 30 minutes waiting for the owner to take us back, but never did because he was waiting for more tourists to take his tour. Needless to say we didn't enjoy our stay. The accommodations were adequate, but because of the eco friendliness of B&B the toilets didn't always flush and the shower had no pressure. This was fine, but difficult to take with all of the factors involved. The hostess was sweet and meant well, but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ard Einne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Einne Inn

Address: Inis mor | Aran Islands, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard Einne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ard Einne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Einne Inn Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard Einne Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.