We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, nice view of the water, great Irish hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh Fitz Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tigh Fitz Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tigh Fitz Guesthouse
Killeany, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #5 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quiet, nice view of the water, great Irish hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Let me start with Penny was great. My friend and I arrived, Penny welcomed us, and got us checked in. The room was clean and had a nice bayside view. Penny helped us with a power issue caused by our faulty power strip and then gave us great directions to some local sights.Tigh Fitz is in a very quiet location about 1.6k (1 mile) from the ferry and about 1.4k from the center of the town. You can walk or get a taxi to the pubs or shops. The view along the walk is nice. We slept well that night with a nice ocean breeze.
Breakfast was great and served with a smile. When we were checking out, we spoke to Penny regarding our plan to hike around the island and asked if we could leave our bags with her. She said she would drop off our bags at bike shop near the ferry so we did not have to come back giving us more time to see things. I tried to pay her for such but she refused. She gave us some directions to other sites on the island and wished us well. When we came back to town, the bags were at the shop and the time we saved was enough to have a Guinness before we boarded the ferry. We toasted Penny and a great stay at the Tigh Fitz.
If you are looking to stay on the island in a nice and quiet place outside of town, I would highly recommend Tigh Fitz.Say hi to Penny.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've just returned from a short stay on the Aran Islands. I stayed at Tigh Fitz and this was an excellent choice. If you wish to experience how the life of the islanders look like this is the right place. Penny- the owner- is islander herself and she will give you all details on interesting spots, restaurants, activities and shopping. Her B&B is in wonderful old Irish style which makes your stay on the island memorable.
Overall this is a charming place worth visiting more than once.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepest Darkest North Hampshire
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant 1.5 mile stroll from the ferry takes you to Tigh Fitz. The welcome from Penny is warm and full of Celtic charm and humour. The rooms are fine. Very well maintained and spotless with good facilities. TV and tea/coffee in every room, excellent but bijou en-suite bathroom. There is also a communal TV lounge and comfortable dining room.

I would happily return here again and would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had never stayed at a B&B before but the rooms were what I had expected. The house itself was cozy and felt very comfortable. Your hostess, Penny, is so friendly and makes you feel at ease immediately. The rooms were small as I'm sure most B&B rooms are but the bathrooms/showers were modern and clean. Nice hot traditional breakfast in a lovely dining area. The house is situated a bit away from the town center - about a 15 minute walk but it's in a great location to explore most of the island's attractions. Penny arranged for our luggage to be waiting for us in the boat upon leaving the island. Great little island and the Tigh Fitz adds to it's charm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were excited to get to the Aran Islands but arrived to rain. Although I had only corresponded with Penny prior to leaving the states, we when got off the ferry, she had someone waiting for us to take our bags back to the B&B while we explored. When we arrived at the B&B nearly 7 hours later, we were greeted with the warmest welcome and what I felt was true Irish hospitality. It almost felt like we were staying with family -- she got us to our room, recommended a place to eat, even dropped us off and told us to speak with the owner who would help us with a cab when we were ready to leave. The room overlooked the bay and an old ruins which took our breath away and the beds were incredibly comfortable. In the morning, we had a delicious light breakfast and Penny got us back to the Ferry with a smile and warm stories. Our stay was not long enough but we got a good taste of the Island and I can't say enough about this place. If you want to stay on the island --I would highly recommend giving Penny a call. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Ms. Penny treated my wife and I just lovely. Everything was very clean and proper. The breakfast in the morning hit the spot and Ms Penny drove us to the ferry. The night before, we got back from the pub and sat with Ms Penny and her sister, it was like sitting with my mom and an aunt. Just a lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Penny had her hands full during my TedFest visit. She was full and most of us arrived from the same boat. Still check in was prompt and well managed with a smile throughout.

Having seen how wonderful, nice and attentive she was on such a busy weekend, I can’t imagine that one ever gets anything but the best from her at Tigh Fitz. I had the upstairs room with two beds and had a great view of the sea and a lighthouse from my room. I was in other rooms visiting occasional with other TedFest attendees. All rooms appeared clean and of decent size/decor. I hear nothing but good things said by others staying there.

Not a very long walk from Tigh Fitz to the harbor, but you would want a taxi if with luggage or in a bad rain. Other than taxi’s, I even managed a few lifts from locals, none of which would accept payment and one of which took me there despite living on the other end of the island. Under such hospitality an greater distance would not be an issue. As to distance/cost/availability etc. one has to be aware that one is on a small island and village, which is a different experience than on the mainland. I recommend Tigh Fitz and hope I can come visit again.

Room Tip: My room on the third floor had a nice view of the sea and a light house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh Fitz Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Fitz Guesthouse

Address: Killeany, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tigh Fitz Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Fitz Guesthouse Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh Fitz Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.