We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigh Fitz Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tigh Fitz Guesthouse to your Saves list
Tigh Fitz Guesthouse
Killeany, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #5 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Tigh Fitz during the Ted Fest 2012 - Penny was lovely and welcoming. I had booked a double room by mistake instead of a twin room and she sorted it out immediately, The room was comfortable and the breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
26
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Penny was superfriendly, she suggested us to rent a bike and that was a lovely idea! We rent the bike when we went out of the ferry boat and we reached tigh fitz by bike: it is very close to the port, but far from all the noise of the tourists! Penny helped us discover the island, che really knows everything and can suggest you all the good places to visit! Aran islands are gorgeous!
You can leave the bike just around the home, in a nice small garden looking the sea.
The room was very big and very clean, and so was the bathroom!
In the morning we had a very good breakfast (you can choose from a variety of proposition) and then took the bike and went away.
Really a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I and my friend stayed here for one night recently, one night too many. After a great day cycling around the island we returned to the B&B to have a shower, After awhile the owner came to our door saying there was water flowing down from our room to her sitting room beneath. I went downstairs and sure enough her ceiling was dripping water, she was quite angry and argued with me in front of other guests. I apologised although I and my friend did nothing other than have a shower as usual. The following morning as we were checking out she became irate and asked us what we were going to do about her ceiling.She accused us of leaving the shower door open and letting water flow directly onto the floor. We told her it was clear she had a burst pipe as the floor in our room was not wet and we had not left the shower door open. She argued with us for 15 minutes again in front of the other guests. I have never been so embarrassed or witnessed such horrible customer service. This experience completely ruined our time on Inis mor.

Room Tip: Don't use the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Penny was lovely, very helpful and accomodating. The Aran Islands are beautiful. Best of all, the bed and breakfast is about a mile from the port, off the beaten track. If you pass the donkey on the way there, she likes apples very much. We had a view of the water from our room. The room was cozy, comfortable, and inviting. Penny went out of her way to make certain we had everything we wanted for breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

No one does it better than Penny! She is welcoming and gracious- you not only feel like family, you feel like family that has been missed and welcomed home after a long time away! Our room and bath were wonderful, the hotel lounge was warm and inviting and the food- well no one cooks better- I even asked if she did cooking lessons! We walked up to the oldest church in Ireland and enjoyed the town .Our stay was everything we hoped for and left sadly that it was over and saving for the next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kildare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed in Tigh Fitz during Tedfest 2012 and could not have asked for anything better! Not only were we looked after as Penny’s own, but it is also a beautiful short walk to the port! There was so much food on offer for breakfast we were spoiled for choice- and for those too "sick" to get out of bed Penny always made sure to send up something! Penny even sorted me out with an outfit for Tedfest. We will definitely be back again. Thank you Tigh Fitz

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Great place to stay. Penny Fitzpatrick is very welcoming and hospitable. We stayed with her during our honeymoon and had a lovely time. We could not have asked for a nicer stay, and hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigh Fitz Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Fitz Guesthouse

Address: Killeany, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tigh Fitz Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Fitz Guesthouse Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigh Fitz Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.