We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmurvey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Inishmoore and while we did not stay at the Kilmurvey House I can definitely vouch for the character of the owners. Treasa was a saint and helped us out in a big way. Our ferry departure for Doolin was bumped up an hour and we found this out at the top of Dun Aengus Fort. We could not find a ride back to the dock and were advised to start walking the 3 miles back to the town and hope that someone would give us a ride. That we did and about a mile up the road Treasa came to our rescue. She graciously stopped gave two half panicked and complete strangers a ride into town. She obviously loves her work and the travelers that come to her island. When we return to Inishmoore hopefully in the near future we will be sure to stay with Treasa and Bertie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
62
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stay here.

So you're visiting Ireland? Want to see a place unlike no other place? First, come to Inishmore. It's unlike any place I've ever traveled to. The stone to people ratio has to be somewhere around a trillion to one, regardless, it's a beautiful island to explore. Rent a bike, get lost, find your way, follow a sheep.

The Kilmurvey House is like a beach front house, a house nuzzled up right against prehistoric history. You cannot get any closer to Don Angus (spelling) without actually building on the property. In fact, I'm not so sure if the owners of Kilmurvey own the land, they just might. What's nice about staying here, is that when most (or all) of the day trippers have left, by about 4 or so, you have the place to yourself. So walk up to Don Aengus (spelling again?) and enjoy it how the distant Irishmen and women enjoyed it, peacefully, and with nothing more than a wave crashing on a rock several hundred feet below. It's truly remarkable how people lived this close to the edge, but the Kilmurvey house gives you key access nobody else can.

So, it's close the Don Aengus, it's also close to an incredible cafe which wreaks of peat, which i think is a good thing. You can rent a bike on the other side of the island and just leave it here, no questions asked. Breakfast was great. The owners are incredibly helpful.

Stop researching and just book this place. Our room could have hosted a party of 75, seriously. Not all rooms were built like ours (we saw 2 other rooms, much smaller) but for some reason ours could have kept 3 horses, a few sheep, and a few visitors comfortably. We weren't complaining!

I cannot wait to get back to this place. It's just one of those desolate places that has so much history, yet so simplistic. It's bringing me back just thinking about it. I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Kilmurvey for one night in late August. The Inn itself was perfect. Incredibly friendly and helpful hosts; very clean and large room and really maybe not as plush as some of the 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed in, but every bit as comfortable and frankly far more enjoyable. It's quite a ways from the "town" of Kiloran so you do need to think through how you are going to get back and forth but it really turned out to be no problem. The minibus drivers were always happy to drop us off but generally it's going to cost you 5 to 10 euro each way which we found to be perfectly reasonable. The great advantage to this location is its proximity to Dun Aengus. In the morning we were absolutely the only ones up there. Perfect trip; perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A visit not to be improved upon--excellent warm welcoming atmosphere and service from a family whose usual response was "no worries, no worries" or "no problems, no problems." Always, "Do you have everything you need? Is there something more you would like?" This after placing before our small group everything we'd asked for and more. Creamy yogurt, made-on-the-spot granola, choices of fruits, several in compote--then smoked salmon and delicate scrambled eggs or the traditional full Irish breakfast with fresh coffe or tea.....perfect way to start a day of visiting ancient sites, or shopping in the nearby (just around the corner) shops, lunch at the cafe, too--or tea down the road a ways.

For one such as myself, yearning to walk the beach and wade in the water--just minutes away down the hill past the cemetery. A beautiful sandy beach with low waves frothing white as they break and run up the beach almost gently when compared to Oregon's Pacific Northwest combers booming, crashing in. And Du'n Aonghusa just out the gate, turn right, visit the museum, then on up the trail; an experience I look forward to on my next visit. Lovely weather after months of rain, we were so blessed.

So, in summary: Beautiful weather, most gracious persons welcomed us into their lovely, comfortable home and served us excellent meals, then assisted us with luggage and transport.

For my first visit to Ireland, all my expectations were more than met and in the most gracious manner possible.

Room Tip: Our room a flight and a bit more (#3) was quiet with windows on two sides, a corner room with views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've stayed here September 2011 and loved it. It was a bit complicated to get to the House but once we were there we we’ve been charmed. We asked a tour bus near to the ferry to bring us to the Kilmurvey House and they accepted immediately (against a small fair). As we arrived on a storm day, we were afraid not to be able to leave the Island for a few days and asked the Kilmurvey House to shorten our stay. This was no problem at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We rode our bikes here from the Ferry. We were on a VBT bike trip. Explored the surrounding countryside then stayed the nite. It was a nice bike ride to this B&B and highly recommend renting a bike off the Ferry and riding the 5 miles or so to the inn. Wonderful hosts and good food. Will return one day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Absolutely charming, restful genuine place. We stayed here two years ago and returned last month for a two night stay. It is as good as we remembered!! We were blessed with fine weather for our trip which made it so good - beautiful beach couple mins. walk from b and b.

These people are charming genuine professionals who run a wonderful homely place. The food is to die for, rooms very comfortable, love the books scattered round the house which one can browse through. Kilmurvey House is so worth a visit ! We dined here on our first night beautiful cod dish, our ten year old really enjoyed homemade chips and chicken, which we were not charged for - lovely touch Teresa.

Keep up the good work guys- this place can not be improved on! Thank you for a lovely stay

Coady family
Tuam

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilmurvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurvey House

Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Kilmurvey House Hotel Inishmore
Kilmurvey House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmurvey House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilmurvey House to your Saves list