We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Tallaght

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Tallaght to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitestown Way, Tallaght 24, Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Dublin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tallaght
derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was really looking forward to my trip to Dublin but turned out the biggest disaster ever. We first got the airport hopper not knowing where we were going and the bus driver told us we were in the worst area of Dublin and to watch our bags. The area was run down, shops boarded up, high rise flats everywhere and the hotel was on the corner of a crossroads of 4 lane traffic taking your life in your hands every time you stepped out the door. We could not check on or use the facilities until 4 pm. There was nothing around us to go and have a drink or food without being in a shopping center which was a tram ride of half an hour. The rooms were run down,dirty cigarette burned carpets, windows that filthy you couldn't see out of them the staff were ignorant. we stood at the bar waiting for a drink while the barman made 3 phone calls.The pool which looked so inviting on the pictures was tired and there were no spa treatments as advertised.. The taxi drivers were reluctant to tack us back to the Hotel from the city and the tram didn't feel safe at night.I would not recommend this Hotel/area of Dublin to anyone, the experience has put me off returning to Dublin.

Room Tip: Keep well away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMTallaght, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Tallaght, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Linshez

Please accept my sincere apologies if your recent visit to Dublin was not enjoyable.
Please do contact me on rkaur@maldronhotels.com as I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience with you.
It is highly unusual for us to hear our bedrooms described as anything by modern and comfortable, as our hotel is very new and the local shopping center The Square is less than a five minute walk from our entrance and apart from hosting Dublin's newest Cinema, it has over a hundred retail and food outlets.
I hope to hear from you soon.

Yours gratefully
Rishnoor Kaur
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    136
    87
    40
    31
See reviews for
94
155
33
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

my boyfriend and i recently stayed in the maldron hotel tallaght..wen we arrived to check in we were told if we wer paying with cash we would have to give a further 100 euro aswell as the 120 we were already paying. i requested to see the manager after the receptionist was not helpfull and the manager was very nice and told us as we had not been told this rule upon booking he would let us away with it..we then went to the room to find the tele wouldnt work so i had to call the manager again and got it fixed..we then went to the leisure centre wer the pool was freezing cold and we got shouted at by the life guard for not swimming lengths so we got out..that night we went for dinner in the stir resteraunt sat down and we wer asked to move to the bar as this area was clised there was no room in the bar i then saw people beibg allowed to sit in the restaurant part so we heading back over sat down and waited 15mins to b handed menus after a further 15mins our order got taken after 15mins of our order being taken they told us they didnt hav lasagne and we wer to order somwthing else after a further 20mins we got our soup..30mins after our soup we got our main..the couples around us wer in the same situation two words to desctibe tis hotel "fawlty towers"

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMTallaght, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Tallaght, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Katef901

I am very disappointed that your stay with us was not enjoyable and would like to reassure you again that this an exception to our usually high standard of service.

Thank you for taking our call and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Rishnoor Kaur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with my fiancé and found the hotel staff at check in very polite and helpful. the room was clean, good size and bed was comfortable. we had hired a car and liked the underground private parking for the hotel. The hotel is close the motorway. There is a leisure club next to the hotel that guests of the hotel can use for free however we did not use it. We would stay here again and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMTallaght, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Tallaght, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear devGas85

We are all delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you feel comfortable recommending our hotel to your friends and family.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Rishnoor Kaur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The first I noticed as I walked through the door into my room was the horrible smell. The drains seemed to be blocked. The second thing I noticed was the extreme heat in the room. On a poitive note the room looked clean. There was only one set of towels in the bathroom although the room had been booked for two people. When it came to trying to go asleep the extreme heat was unbearable and the noise from the roads outside was the loudest I have ever heard in a hotel and I've stayed in many city hotels. The hotel is situated across from Tallaght stadium and the was a match on the night we stayed. The loudspeaker was very noisy but as there wasn't a large crowd at the match and it was over about 10.30 that wasn't so bad. At various times through the night we could hear people shouting outside and sirens and as it was a week night I could only imagine a weekend would be louder.

We also went to the restaurant for an evening meal. The servive was very slow and the food was only mediocre and certainly not worth EUR13.95 for adults goujons and chips.

I would not reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMTallaght, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Tallaght, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Sybil205

Thank you for your review, it is with great dissappointment that I note that your stay with us was not comfortable, so please accept my sincere apologies.
Should our guests bring their discomfort to our attention we act swiftly to provide alternative rooms, so that they may have a good night sleep.

I would be grateful to you if you would contact me, so that I may discuss the matter with you, my email address is rkaur@maldronhotels.com

Thank you
Rishnoor Kaur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here this weekend for two nights, room only.The good bits - beds very comfortable; hotel very clean and in good repair; convenient location near shopping centre and good public transport links into Dublin. Bad bits - our room wasn't ready even though we didn't get there until 5 o'clock which nearly meant we nearly couldn't use the swimming pool which closed early at half 5; Tallaght isn't the nicest place with a lot of empty buildings. It was ideal for us as we were visiting friends in Tallaght and getting to Dublin was easy. Overall hotel good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMTallaght, Manager at Maldron Hotel Tallaght, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Lavelevi

It is great to receive such positive feedback and I am delighted that you found our hotel facilities and service to your liking.

Please accept my apologies for the delay in your room allocation, while we try our best to have all rooms ready for guests arrival, at times special requests delay allocations.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Rishnoor Kaur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent levels of service from all staff. Was particularly impressed by when I had the do not disturb sign on door, they respected this and left a note and a pack containing fresh towels, toilet rolls, tea coffee etc and details of who to contact if I needed anything else. Never had a hotel do this before and was impressed.

Hotel is not in the nicest of areas and Limited restaurant options locally (unless wanting pizza, burger or kebabs) so had to eat in hotel – food fine and excellent service.

Room was a good size and very clean. Only downside was inability to control temperature in room so had to have window open which was noisy as hotel next to junction of two main roads.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMTallaght, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Tallaght, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear 77nab

We are all delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us made memorable by the service you received.
When staying with us again, I would like to encourage you to visit our extensive leisure facilities which include a heated hydrotherapy pool.

Kind Regards
Rishnoor Kaur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
purley
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Not the easiest place to get out of in a taxi but this modern comfortable hotel provided a warm friendly welcome from staff, a decent sized functional room with a spacious bathroom. Bar food was average and the bar itself was as plain as it gets. All staff encountered were very friendly. Good for a business stop over.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMTallaght, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Tallaght, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear RichardPurley

It is very encouraging to receive such positive feedback, we are all thrilled that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable and you found the staff to be friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Rishnoor Kaur
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Tallaght? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Tallaght

Address: Whitestown Way, Tallaght 24, Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Dublin)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Tallaght
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tallaght
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Tallaght 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Tallaght reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallaght Maldron Hotel
Maldron Hotel Tallaght County Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Tallaght, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.