We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy place, great owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skerries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Cottages
Save
You added The White Cottages to your Saves list
Balbriggan Road, Skerries, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Skerries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dreamy place, great owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I only regret..I could stay just one night! This is a great B&B, excellent managed, so comfortable and with great view. We woke up and had a walk on the seaside (you only have a few steps from the bedroom, you ARE on the seaside!) watching the lobster boats...Then breakfast, you can't miss it, simply delicious. I strongly recommend The White Cottages for a short break, a romantic weekend (perfect!), families with children, a strategic stop during your Ireland tour (perfect location). To the owners: keep on like this, you are doing a great job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    21
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
121
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having stayed here for a brilliant break in February we returned for a stop off and found the same consistent quality we experienced on our first visit. The welcome was wonderful and we were updated on the family news. The accommodation, food, facilities and kindness shown by Jackie and Joe were fantastic. Breakfast was brilliant as usual. Thanks once again to all at the White Cottages for a marvellous stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed in the harbour master suite, incredible views. We had the lobster lunch really delicious and great value. After dinner we noticed remote controlled candles left for our use, really lovely touch. As were the comfy blankets on the terrace for when the evening got chilly. Breakfast really good, nicest bacon ever . Cannot recommend this place highly enough . The owners were lovely cant wait to go back. Have never left review before , simply had to in this case. Beautiful x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed in The White cottages last week and we had such an amazing stay. We stayed in The Captains room with a view across the water. The room was warm, inviting and clean. It is only a short walk down to the pier and some really nice restaurants. We had a wonderful nights sleep and the next morning were treated to a really nice breakfast overlooking the water, cooked by the very friendly owner. I would highly recommend The White cottages for break away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I together with some family members recently stayed at this B&B and cannot speak highly enough about it.Just the look of the white cottages from the exterior suggests romance and quaint charm. What greets you inside only enhances that impression., Its divine.The rooms have a sort of Provincetown, Cape Cod feel to them, perfectly decorated to suit the cottages' seafront location. Breakfasts were generous with a broad choice of healthy food. The proprietors were the perfect hosts.It proved to be a delightful and unforgettable weekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a lovely stay in this cosy b&b last weekend. Cottages are literally right on the sea and beautifully decorated. Joe gave us great tips on where to go for the best crab claws I've ever tasted. Breakfast of smoked salmon, brown bread and scrambled eggs was amazing! Served up as we looked out on the stormy sea. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I booked our accomodations here just by seeing pictures for our honeymoon. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. Our hosts were so nice and hospitable and ever so accomodating. The prices are very affordable. The food was amazing and fresh, even the tomatoes were outstanding (nothing like any here in the states!) We booked a private room with a bathroom because we wanted to be on our own. The room was adorable and clean and the bathroom was quaint and charming. We were in the room above the kitchen area with a window overlooking the Irish sea. Can't wait to book again for our ten year anniversary in three years! Side note: We traveled in June of 2006, but this only goes as far back as 2012.

Room Tip: The only thing I would warn against is if you're tall. My husband is 6'3" and looked li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cottages

Address: Balbriggan Road, Skerries, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Skerries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Skerries
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The White Cottages Hotel Skerries

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.