We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bar

Blue Bar
Harbour Road | Skerries, Skerries, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 23 Restaurants in Skerries
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sligo, Ireland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We ate in Blue Bar on Saturday night, the weather was fantastic which made the view over the harbour even more spectacular! The staff were all very friendly and efficient, the food was enjoyable but nothing out of this world. The portions are small and do not come with sides and are probably a little on the expensive side for what you get but the quality of the fish is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    73
    47
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fab food but service very poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was here last night with my friend. It all started well till the waitress told us that she had forgotten to put our order in. We got lot of apologies and extra garlic bread. We got our main and was left for a long time for the table to be cleared. I had to go and remind them we were there and I wasnt happy with being ignored.Another excuse off the staff saying that another girl had taken over her post. After complaining we got bombard with staff asking if we were ok. It seemed to be excuse after excuse to why the service was poor. Really disappointed with the restaurant that I normally loved. Will think twice before I go again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very determined staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have been to the Blue Bar a couple of times and I've really enjoyed it - good pub grub and a great selection of beers and craft ales (Sierra Nevada on tap!!!) but it also has a great setting on a summers evening. However, it was my most recent visit that has prompted this review. I went to the Blue Bar a few nights ago on a busy and very sunny Friday evening. We sat outside on the veranda and as we finished eating my sister in law (she will kill me for telling this story) dropped her engagement ring under the table. When she couldn't spot it we all quickly realised that it had bounced and fallen between a tiny gap in the decking. After the panic set in we told a member of staff who immediately used a torch on his phone to try to help us detect the ring on the level beneath the deck. After about 10 minutes it was spotted and the bride was thrilled that we could at least see it. Not content with a mere sighting of the ring the staff became determined to recover it They assured us that it would be no problem to lift up the single plank of decking once the other customers had left. However, one barman, Ciaran, went away in order to fashion a device to try and hook the ring and pull it out. Invention 'A' sadly failed but when Ciaran returned with a wire coat hanger broken into a hook and a scooper of sorts we knew we were onto a winner. After a few breathtaking minutes Ciaran, on one knee, produced the ring to a huge applause from the entire pub! We honestly couldn't thank them enough. The food was good, the beer was good, the setting was lovely but the staff went that extra mile when they really didn't have to and that is something their employers should be very proud of. Thank you guys, you were brilliant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were initially turned off this restaurant over 4 years ago when we were refused entry with a buggy, we thought to ourselves "well if they can do without catering for young children, good luck to them" Well they are still there, we visited early evening with our 4yr old minus the buggy & sat in an alcove. The place was buzzing, our daughter was given a colouring pad to keep her occupied, food was plentiful and tasty. We had a chololate cake desert which was slightly burnt, when we brought it to the waitresses attention there was no argument it was just taken off the bill. There is no access for buggys/prams so don't even try. We visited on a second occasion, just the adults, couldn't fault the place. Retired to upstairs bar overlooking the harbour on a clear winters evening, great watching the sun going down.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Potential to be great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had lunch here recently. It has an absolutely beautiful setting. Service was prompt and efficient but lacked any warmth or friendliness. Food was nice, it appeared to be quite expensive on menu but portions were very big.
I'm not sure I would return.. A smile costs nothing but goes a long way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bar also viewed

Skerries, County Dublin
Skerries, County Dublin
 

Been to Blue Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.