We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skerries Mills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skerries Mills

Skerries Mills
Skerries Town Centre | Fingal, Skerries, Ireland
+353-1-8495208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Skerries
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skerries Mills is a unique collection of two windmills and a watermill with associated mill pond, mill races, wetlands and is an ideal place to visit on a day tripOne of Dublins top tourist attractions.In association with Dublin Tourism, Heritage Island, Houses & Castles of Ireland, Fingal Tourism & Taste of Skerries.Step back in time with our guided tours and see the mill as they were in day gone by with many of the exhibits working. The Mill complex also houses the Watermill Cafe and the Craft Shop which stocks the leading brands in Crafts, Irish Giftware and Souveniers.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Skerries Mills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great afternoon, you can go to see the windmills from the outside and go to the cafe/shops but it's well worth taking the optional tour which was very reasonably priced for the time we were given. Our guide was brilliant with kids and let them have a hands on experience with the milling and had fun with them too, had lots of time for questions and seemed to enjoy his job very much! The tour itself takes you into two fields into one windmill and up close to an older one. If you've young kids, make sure they've used the toilet as there's nowhere to go once you leave the main building and the tour took about 40 minutes. Also it was freezing as the area its in is quite open so wrap up! We went off-peak and there was snack food available in the cafe, good coffees and a nice gift shop. Something different to do!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    8
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Has much improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I wrote a review about here that wasn't so kind, a few years ago and I'm very glad to say its so much better. The food is lovely and the staff are great. It looks like its been managed properly now.
You must visit here if you are ever in Skerries for Lunch. The soup is of the finest quality and I have been here now on a number of occasions and its consistent, that's important.
Good value too. Congratulations on improving the whole experience!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skerries, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Such a good community spirit here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lovely place to go, always buzzing. Food good and gear surroundings, so much great art to look at and the shop is certainly worth a look through. Really nice seating area with sofas and newspapers etc. all the locals meet pals here for long lunches and chats.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have been before and had interesting tour.This time went to see how improvements had come along.Found a book which had our grandparents in so very happy.
Lovely coffee.Everyone very helpful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The mill tearoom cafe, Skerries.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I went to eat in the tea room outdoor café and rarely have I been served such bad quality food in my life. I ordered prawns with chips and the prawns seemed to have been old, the batter rock hard, and to top it all off, the chips seemed to have undergone similar treatment - reheated, deep fried for far too long. Like the prawns, rock hard, even in the middle. I ordered garlic mayonnaise with it. I was served with sweet chilli sauce instead. I had to go back into the main building to get it changed to what I had ordered. That took them five minutes to sort out. Not so much as an apology as if it were my fault, and forget about so much as a smile, not forthcoming. I returned the lot in disgust. Never again. Do not eat here!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skerries Mills also viewed

County Dublin, Province of Leinster
 
Malahide, County Dublin
Skerries, County Dublin
 

Been to Skerries Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skerries Mills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.