We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Chicken wings to die for'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anvil

Anvil
Saggart Co, Ireland
0035314586794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Saggart
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Anvil Restaurant is a family run restaurant in the heart of Saggart. It prides itself with delicious, locally produced food combined with friendly efficient service. With comfortable surroundings, dining in The Anvil Restaurant is truly a great experience.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'Chicken wings to die for'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Lunch in comfort ,style and a most helpful friendly staff team rounded off by excellent food............ beats all expectations. I was truly satisfied and will highly recommend and return asap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    37
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great service and tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We did Saturday lunch in Anvil recently and we'll definitely be returning. We were a party of four adults and a baby and had telephoned in advance to ensure we got a 'nice table'. It turned out that one of teh owners had taken our booking and when we had arrived and had been settled, she came over to check that everyting was ok with our 'nice table'. Small things count!!
Okay, the service was first rate - no problems with high-chairs, menus, wheat-free options, or ordering. In fact, the service was excellent. Then the food - we were pleasantly surprised about how it was presented and how it tasted even though we had heard many good things about Anvil from other friends and family members. This was really really nice.
Thank-you to the team at Anvil. We had a really relaxing enjoyable time and left very very satisfied. We'll be back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A lovely Gem of quality menu and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Having dinned out in Dublin the night before and been so disappointed , this gem was such a pleasant and palatable experience. A good wine list for the choosey and menu to boot. The staff are so experienced its very reassuring too. We had starters of squid and also spicy chicken which were perfectly presented. A main of chicken and one of sea bream also. What a delight for the palette. You won't be disappointed after the short walk from the last LUAS station in saggart to this gem of a restaurant. I'll be getting a LUAS return tick for saggart and the Anvil. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome chicken wings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

What more is there to say?!

Great food, great service and extremely friendly staff. The wings are off the hook! Seriously the best I have ever and trust me, I have had a LOT of wings. The hamburgers are really good as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spot great food nice staff good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

As regular visitors for breakfast Lunch and evening meal we enjoy this little gem of a restaurant - good food - great selection and good options for Coeliac customers - parking can be a challenge - but overall very satisfactory

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anvil also viewed

Saggart, County Dublin
Saggart, County Dublin
 
Naas, County Kildare
Rathcoole, County Dublin
 

Been to Anvil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anvil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.