We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre to your Saves list
Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Saggart, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed for one night on a business trip.
Large room, clean and tidy.No problems.
Leisure facilities excellent, with pool.
Fantastic golf facilities, with two golf courses on site. Perfect hotel for golfers or golfing parties.
I played the main course next to hotel. Tough course!!
Restaurant was very good as was breakfast.
I always stay here when in Dublin, if I can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    322
    213
    113
    71
See reviews for
243
236
29
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife got us this break through Trivago website, and the deal was fantastic. This was a surprise birthday treat to watch the darts at the Citywest. My wife e-mailed the Hotel explaining my birthday e.t.c..... and we were upgraded to a beautiful room with 4 poster bed, and were greeted with a fruit basket and a note wishing me happy Birthday!

The hotel was buzzing, due to the darts and a international handball competition - which was great as there is nothing worse than a Hotel that is empty with no atmosphere.

We tried the Lemongrass restaurant - excellent food/service at reasonable prices. Sunday carvery in the Bistro was really good also. Bar prices are a bit steep (4.70 for a pint) but you come to expect this in most Hotels.

We tried the swimming pool which was refreshing, using the steam rooms/sauna - but the jacuzzi didn't seem to be working.

Overall it was one the best weekend breaks we have ever had, partly due to the fact I am a massive darts fan and we kept bumping into the players as they were staying at the hotel too.

The Citywest is on the outskirts of Dublin and it took 1hr 30min using a bus and Luas tram from the airport - next time we will just use a taxi (50euro) - The hotel would really benefit from providing a shuttle service to airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel was build during the Celtic tiger years, but if you don't know better, you'd estimate it being many decades old. Everything is set up in the style of an old land house. I strongly prefer more modern style. Especially when the cost of the land house style is comfort like in having two old fashioned handles for warm and cold water instead of a combined handle in the bathroom.

The dimensions of the hotel are really enormous. When you are like me in top floor, you'll need 5-10 minutes from your room to the lobby. The elevators are reasonably fast but rumble as if they were produced not in 2007 but in 1987. Make sure not to get a room near the elevators, the rumbling and bell ringing will ruin your sleep.

My standard room was huge and clean but there were water stains under the window. No WIFI in the rooms, just in the lobby. However there is (slow but free) wired internet access. The bed was king size and comfy with worn but clean sheets.

The bar for the evening had a wide selection and nice staff, prices not cheap but still reasonable. So overall no issues.

Breakfast was in a crowded, small room. Far too few waiters so getting coffee and tea is a fight (just help yourself, they don't like this but just be bold). Two food choices: Lousy continental buffet or Irish breakfast with fried and scrambled eggs, ham, bean, tomatoes, sausages and black and white pudding. The Irish breakfast is of good quality but queuing for having an unfriendly woman shoveling food on a wooden tablet reminds me more of a high school canteen then of a four star hotel.

All in all, I really don't like this hotel very much but I might be slightly biased because I so much hate the style in which it was build.

Room Tip: Make sure room is at least 4-5 rooms away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel and staff are great but we happened to arrive the same weekend as an international kick boxing tournament so the place was insane. The main issue was it was my mums 65 birthday weekend which we advised the hotel in advance and no one told us it wouldn't be suitable for a family occasion with the hotel already hosting an event. The manager was very sorry and tried his best to make it work for us and all said and done that made things better. I would stay here again but probably after it gets a new owner its currently run by NAMA and they don't care about hotels just debt recovery.

Room Tip: The off corridor room get less traffic and so are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

we stayed in a superior room while attending a wedding...the location of the rooms are crazy.....in order to go back to my room in the palmerstown section i had to come out of the building were the wedding was then walk right around to the entrance then it was a very long journey to my room........the rooms are very dated and in need a a complete renovation i seriously think this hotel is very over priced..................breakfast was very basic and nothing exciting.the wedding was wonderful the food was fab.....the hotel seem to put all there energy into the weddings and have forgotten about the rooms.......i thought by staying in a superior room we would have something superior ie bathrobes , sparkling water etc but this didnt happen......nothing superior about the superior room...........

Room Tip: ask for a room near to reception otherwise prepare for a long walk bring your flat shoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saggart hotels

meath
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here last night.. hotel was beautiful bar was good they had a band on.. My problem was the restaurant.. The waiter i think he was italian in his 50's was rude an ignorant he had novcustomer service skill never smiles we were not giving a jug of water no veg with meal.. I liked the hotel but the waiter ruined it for me.. He looked like he hated his job an put me in a bad mood.. Other then that i had a good stay..

Room Tip: They give the option of smoking rooms which i thought was good the last place i stayed didnt..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August as a family of two adults and two children. The room was tatty and had wallpaper peeling off around the window. The carpet was stained, but in the bathroom we found a big piece of long black hair stuck to the wall of the shower... It wasnt mine. The food in the restaurant was only ok and not worth the price we thought. Though we were impressed with the food in the thai restaurant which is in a different building so would recommend eating there. The kids entertainment was very good with a magician and kiddes disco in one of the ballrooms. We have stayed previously as a couple in this hotel and the rooms have been immaculate so we were really dissappointed this time and unfortunately put off going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre

Address: Saggart, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Saggart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saggart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure & Golf Hotel Saggart
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure And Golf Resort
Citywest Hotel Dublin
Citywest Resort Dublin
Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre County Dublin, Ireland - Saggart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.