We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was terrible except for one staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lucan Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lucan Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Lucan Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Junction 4A | N4 Westbound, Lucan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“everything was terrible except for one staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

i visited the hote on paddys day week and everything was terrible , the food was cold, an ddy and the rooms smelted horrible and very nosiey as well. i went down to the so called restaurant .. a bar haha and this is not a joke evrything was bad. all the staff i taught was unfriendly and not nice but one member of staff was really nice to me and looked after me very well . he was a young male and i hope he wouldnt mind me putting his name foward but david was such a nice person and very smiley to all the public. really this man really made by morning the day of paddys day and after it on the friday. he talked to us and every other customer and whatever i wanted he helped me with. also its a great thing to have with staff for a bit of humour most places these days dont even respect taht or will turn your nose at u but david was so nice and i would recconmend going to see him serve me once more. on my last day i gave him a friendly ip to stay in the hotel business because i have being a genral manager for 9 years and i know a good membe rof staff when i see one.. so if i dont count david and all the information above i didnt really enjoy my stay but a big thank you to david

Room Tip: go when you se a young lad ha
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelucanspahotel, Director of Sales at Lucan Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear Sarah and Pat
Thank you for taking the time to review The Lucan Spa Hotel. I am very disappointed to hear your stay with us was not met with complete satisfaction. We take any complaint or criticism very seriously and believe any complaint will help us achieve higher standards in the future. I am glad David was kind and friendly and was able to look after your every need. The hotel is known for its friendly and warm staff and I was glad to hear he looked after you well.

If you wish to discuss your stay further or have any other comments or feedback please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Regards,

Claire Casey
Sales and Marketing Manager
The Lucan Spa Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    43
    42
    29
    25
See reviews for
30
55
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Decided to try out this hotel for sunday dinner was a let down meat was only lukewarm and tough, vegtables were cold, potatoes were ok got a mineral from fridge which was warm so need to say we will not be going again for sunday dinner ..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I got married this year and had my wedding reception in The Spa Hotel in Lucan and it was the most magical day. This is a hotel that i would highly recommend to anyone for getting married. The staff could not do enough for us they accomadated for our every need. The room was mind blowing it was fabulous. When dinner was being served they constantly asked my guests if they had enough food- not one person had to ask twice for more food. The food was delicious . I had guests coming up to me saying how lovely the food was, which was great becasue once the guest are fed then there happy. The room and reception area was spotless. The bridal suite was lovely and my two boys had great fun in the jaccusi the morning after the wedding.
We stayed in the hotel the next day for a few drinks and they hotel were so good they brought out complimentry sandwiches for all of us . There just isnt enough words to tell you or recommend to people about this hotel - they are superb
Sharon

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed 1 night after a meeting nearby.I wasn't sure what to expect from reading some of the reports.
I was pleasantly surprised.O.K. the rooms are a little old fashioned and the bathroom a bit small but the room was clean and comfortable and quiet with the window closed even though it faced the main road.

The common areas have a feeling of faded grandeur and the service was very good.I had to leave at 5.30 a.m. too early for breakfast but the night porter sorted out a good continental breakfast for me.

All in all for the price I paid, I have no complaints at all.Excellent value

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

stayed in spa due to family reunion in north kildare....locaation was good for me....car parking excellent...noise from motorway could be tackled by suitable engineer and with the co operation of nra help could be offered......room dated and bar food was good...used to have a super bistro but that is now closed due to recession....please open again i say................staff good......just needs serious investment and some advertising when dat is finished..........................

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucan hotels

DUBLIN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

I had a business meeting in the Spa Hotel recently and found the staff to be very attentive; within minutes we were served food and the guy who served us couldn't do enough. On the downside the food was not great just OK and portions were quite small.

Ideal location for a business plus there is plenty of car parking spaces.

Would go back again but the food needs to improve.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

my advice on this would be that if you stay there, have a car, since most things are far away to walk. They do have nice rooms, with full beds, and internet capability, for a charge. There is a complementary breakfast, with includes the Irish Faire. Dorrie in the breakfast area is wonderful. Dinner in the bar area is good, and the fancy restaurant downstairs is very nice (3 full course meal). There is not a van that takes you to and from the airport, you must have cab or car... bed is kinda hard, but room was nice, no alarm clocks in room. construction being done at time of visit. Public bus stop not far from hotel...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lucan Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucan Spa Hotel

Address: Junction 4A | N4 Westbound, Lucan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucan Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Lucan Spa Hotel is located on the N4, just off the M50, 15 minutes’ from Dublin Airport and 20 minutes’ from Dublin city centre.The Lucan Spa Hotel offers spacious and comfortable rooms. These luxurious rooms all have en suite bathrooms and satellite TV. Wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.The Earl Bistro serves breakfast in the morning and a lunchtime carvery menu. The charming Hanora D Restaurant has an evening a la carte menu, whilst The Ballynetty Bar offers bar food.A wide range of amenities including a cinema, shopping centres, a swimming pool, canoeing and golf are all only a short distance from The Lucan Spa Hotel.The Lucan Spa Hotel has become one of the most exclusive wedding venues in Ireland since its recent transformation. The magnificent new Boyne Suite is a spectacular venue for your perfect day, providing a stunning setting for you and your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Lucan Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucan Hotel Lucan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucan Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.