We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant break!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Finnstown Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Finnstown Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Finnstown Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Country House Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant break!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night dinner bed and breakfast was a brilliant break.
Lovely gardens & beautiful food! Service was great and all staff was very friendly throughout hotel! Cleanliness 100%, rooms where a great size !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    123
    46
    12
    20
See reviews for
101
146
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Visited recently for a large family gathering, service was first class, menu choice was good and the food was out of this world, the atmosphere is regency country house. The grounds are splendid with many features worth finding and a truly pleasant spot to be in the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Short break with my wife. Everything excellent. Evening meal (earlybird) a delight, staff friendly and the hotel is in beautiful grounds. Two niggles. One the cooling fan for the kitchen was outside our window but the room had aircon. so we got by even in the hot weather. Two glasses out side the lift on a table did sit uncleared for the time of our visit.

Room Tip: Avoid window over looking kitchen , dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The county at the edge of the city, a great place to stay at the edge of the city and it feel like the county, lovely gardens and grounds, you can get in and out of the city easily.
Great sleep, good bar food,

Room Tip: Garden rooms lovey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just home from a 2 night stay with our 6 month old baby. Hotel was easy got to with an impressive drive up to the main building and beautiful grounds. Checked in at 3pm. Our room was across from the main building as we wanted somewhere quiet with a baby. Room 108!! Ground floor easy access with pram, large spacious room with cot bed. Room itself had a few marks on the carpet and some wallpaper torn but the room itself was clean. This was a family room so I can understand what kids can be like with crayons etc. The bathroom on the other hand was a different story. The grout of the tiles in the bathroom was filthy. For any hotel never mind 4* hotel this should not have been the case. We ate in the bar on the Friday night which was standard bar food. Both myself and my husband had very bad stomachs afterwards which we put down to the coleslaw being off!! Dinner on the 2nd night was in the AA Rosette Peacock restaurant which didn't open until 7pm. AA rosette it was certainly not, it was fine but not fine dining. The staff in the restaurant were extremely friendly, Moira and another blonde lady in particular went out of their way to sort high chair and boiling water for my sons bottle. We used the swimming pool on both days. I hear it is getting renovated....not quick enough, changing rooms had musty smell, lockers didn't lock and pool area in good need of a tidy up. Plus the windows in our room and the swimming pool were filthy. Strange as it seems given all my comments above I had a nice weekend at the hotel but when visiting dublin again I would go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms in Garden building for families quiet but room 108s bathroom needs a good cleaning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tristan J, Director of Sales at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Weemaz23,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is only from the feedback of our guests that we may strive to achieve exceptional standards with all of our guests.

I am very disappointed that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Should you have the opportunity, I would be most grateful should you email me at sales@finnstowncastlehotel.com with the details of your booking so that I may investigate this fully and ensure it is improved upon.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Tristan Jacob
Director of Sales
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

For years I have been driving past the gates to this lovely place on my way to work without realising what lay beyond the gates. Lucan is a suburb of Dublin but when you drive up the lovely long driveway into Finnstown Country House Hotel, you leave the city behind and entre a little piece of heavenly countryside. We saw an ostrich, lamas and of course the wonderful peacocks which wander freely around the beautiful gardens. The house itself is an old country manor which is beautifully decorated to represent times gone by. It is luxurious, comfortable and very relaxing. Although we weren't lucky enough to stay in the main house, we were given one of the newly refurbished garden suites, and it was really comfortable and so peaceful and quiet. We had a meal in the bar and then went for a walk before returning for a nightcap. If you are a couple wishing for a relaxing night away from it all, I highly recommend Finnstown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in two different rooms at this beautiful property last month; both rooms were nice enough but the first one had nothing more than a dribble of boiling hot water coming out of it. If I were there again I would immediately ask for a new room.

Other than that though the staff were very friendly, the breakfast was great and tasted like a great Irish B&B breakfast (in a good way), and the buildings and property were lovely. We even saw a fox driving in one night.

Room Tip: Check the shower pressure before you unpack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Country House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finnstown Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.