We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An important part of Dublin's History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dalkey Castle and Heritage Centre

Dalkey Castle and Heritage Centre
Castle Street, Dalkey, Ireland
+353 1 285 8366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 attractions in Dalkey
Type: Castles
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy the contrast between 15th century living history with actors in period costume and the interactive elements of 21st century technology (available in six languages). Travel back in time and be enthralled by the extraordinary work of the Archer, the Cook and the Travelling Barber-Surgeon. Afterwards you can climb to the battlements for panoramic views of sea and mountains. Enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the 10th century Church and Graveyard. Follow the interactive timeline from early Christian through Viking, Medieval, Victorian and modern times in Dalkey. Explore the area’s literary and creative connections in the Writer’s Gallery.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An important part of Dublin's History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

One of the seven Castles which were store houses for goods imported from Tall Ships moored in the Bay and ferried ashore - daily re-enactments are great and lots of good coffee shops nearby !

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Visited the heritage centre and had a fantastic time. The performers were great. Lived in Dalkey for years and was great to bring the family back to hear the history. Very well presented.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A cute little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We took a Dart train to Dalkey wandering in the streets of a quaint little town. When we reached the castle, it was about to close for lunch break- bad luck as we did not have much time. So we decided to go to the seaside but when we asked the way we were advised by two very nice ladies not to go there as there was not much to see. Good advice- we went southward to Bray instead.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Whilst holidaying in Dublin in May, I travelled to Dalkey on the recommendation of a friend. It was a grey,blustery and cold day and I quickly sought refuge in the Heritage Centre. I was the only visitor and felt privileged that the two actors 'performed' exclusively for me. The role playing was enormously entertaining (and informative) and I remain beholden to keep the 'secrets' that were divulged. I loved the two hours spent here, and indeed exploring Dalkey itself was wonderful, horrible weather notwithstanding! I cant recommend this attraction highly enough.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“I Live Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It is fantastic, compact unspoilt and friendly, a perfect escape from Dublin.
You will love the atmosphere and the laid back feeling of the place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalkey Castle and Heritage Centre also viewed

Dalkey, County Dublin
Dalkey, County Dublin
 
Killiney, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Dalkey Castle and Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalkey Castle and Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dalkey Castle and Heritage Centre to your Saves list