We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Twelfth Lock!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twelfth Lock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Twelfth Lock Hotel to your Saves list
Twelfth Lock Hotel
Castleknock Marina, Royal Canal, Castleknock 15, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Capistrano Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved the Twelfth Lock!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Twelfth Lock and found the hotel excellent. It is not run by a huge hotel chain, but is a small (10 rooms) boutique hotel with a fabulous restaurant on one side with a pub on the other side which has an outdoor covered patio. It sits right on the twelfth lock on the canal (swans and all) which was used to haul goods into the city in long past days. We even stayed on the boat that is tied up right at the front door for a few nights, and that was great fun. It is also available from the hotel. The staff are all very helpful and attentive. There is also a large car park.

The train station is about 100 yards down the path which will take you right into Dublin in about 15 minutes. From Dublin you can take the train anywhere. There is also a town within a 5-10 minute walk which has other pubs and restaurants if you should wish to try them, and a big Mall of shops. We will be going back this fall.

I loved being just out of town and getting the feel of blending in as many near by residents are out walking the canal path with their dogs or back and forth to the train.
I believe that we paid 120.Euros per night. The breakfast was the fanciest Irish Breakfast that I have ever seen! You will love it.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    24
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
8
18
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mayo Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

Stayed in room 6 on the 26th June 2007 for €125 euros and will never stay again.

Railway line and two massive extractor fans outside windows and noise of upstairs overhead.

Won't even waste my energy writing anymore.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

The Twelfth Locke Hotel is located in Dublin's Blanchardtown, right on the Castleknock Marina. While it's proximity to Dublin's City Center is a bit far, its quaint charm and friendly staff more than make up for what it lacks in convenience. I originally chose this hotel because of the lovely photos on the site, which did not disappoint and mostly, because the price was right. A single room was merely 125 euros. What I did not realize at the time that the nightly rate was lower on weekends, a mere 99 euros, and that breakfast in their lovely restaurant was included! My first morning there I tried a traditional Irish breakfast and was so stuffed that I went back to the room for a nap! The staff is the friendliest and most helpful that I have yet met in all my European travels (France: take note!).

As far as sightseeing; I did not rent a car as I was worried about driving on the left-side of the road and once I arrived and saw the distance to town, I was worried. Not a problem. A Dublin City Bus stop was a five minute walk from the hotel and for 1 euro 90; I was treated to the loveliest of rides through the suburbs, across the Liffey River, right into the heart of Dublin's downtown. The rooms in the inn are well-appointed; hair-dryer, iron and ironing board, a heated towel rack, cable TV, a complimentary coffee and tea set up with an electric hot water kettle and a mini bar. And the comfy double bed has a full thick lush pristine white down comforter on it. Much nicer than the usual bedspread!

The hotel has a gourmet restaurant and bar on premises that was packed with both tourists and locals, which attests to how excellent they were. And the hotel has Wi-Fi and a business center should you need to connect to home. All in all this was a fabulous hotel. They even refused to charge me for two bottles of water from the mini bar. And the view was wonderful; a canal and marina with boats moored, against a wooded area. Totally gorgeous. I would highly recommend the Twelfth Lock Inn to anyone who wants a clean and comfortable hotel, an attentive staff and most of all, reasonable rates. Truly lovely!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

We used to live in Castleknock and knew the Twelfth Lock as a bar and restaurant. The food is really good and the bar has a lively atmosphere.
Staying at the hotel however was a bit of a dissapointment. Although our room was far enough from the bar (we didn't hear any noise from the bar), it was virtually ON the train tracks.
From 6am onwards the trains start running and that means you're awake. So.. if you are a morning person not too big of a deal but if you like to sleep past 6am this hotel is not for you.
Just have to mention that the breakfast they offer is really good and sure helps lifting your spirits a bit after a short night :)

  • Liked — Bar and restaurant
  • Disliked — location: it is on the train tracks
  • Tips/Secrets — If you don't mind being woken up at 6am it's good value for money
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2006

A friend came to visit Ireland and we decided to stay in Dublin for the St Paddy's Day weekend. Almost every hotel in town was booked solid, but a web search showed availability at the Twelfth Lock, which although was not originally on my radar screen, ended up being a great bargain (99 Euros) and a most pleasant stay.

Located on the canal and within a short 5 minute walk to the Dart Commuter Railway Station, it was a great option since we were using public transit to get around Dublin for the weekend. The room is typical European sized, but was new, clean, modern and comfortable. The upstairs bar and restraurant was also quite lively and bustling with mostly upscale locals. Food was good and portions were generous, but the kitchen closes at 10:00pm when the bar crowd moves in, so make sure you don't need a late night snack.

Since the hotel is sandwiched between the canal and the rail line, it can be a bit noisy and the upstairs bar/restaurant is a bit noisy as well (the rooms are on the lower level and you can hear every footstep) so if you're looking for peace and quiet, you may want to look for something a little further away from the city. But for the price and the other great attributes, I'd certainly recommend the Twelfth Lock and stay there again (and bring my earplugs!)

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twelfth Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelfth Lock Hotel

Address: Castleknock Marina, Royal Canal, Castleknock 15, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Twelfth Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelfth Lock Hotel Castleknock, County Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twelfth Lock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.