We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service without a smile” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie 15

Brasserie 15
Ashleigh Centre | Main Street, Castleknock 15, Ireland
01 821 8580
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
westmeath
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“service without a smile”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

went in here a few weeks ago with my hubbi as suggested by there sister restaurant across the road. We were looking for the steak on the stone special that was been advertised on a notice board.When we went in to Brasserie 15 we were greeted by a waitress without a smile......we asked about the special offer steak on a stone and were told quite rudely that we dont do that offer , i explained that we were just told in there sister restaurant that this special offer was available. No defo not we were told. We decided to pick something else from the menu. The hubbi had fish pie, nice sauce but was there need for 1 lb potatoes on top , and there where no prawns in it as advertised....I had two starters that were just average...The best ( being funny here) was the appalling service , never in my life have i experienced anything like it. It was obvious there was a manager on duty but he did nt seem to bothered..The waitress checked on us to ask were we enjoying everything......we only had water in front of us at this time...When clearing our plates she shouted at us ..You want coffee.......That was it no would you like to see the dessert menu.....Big sale loss.....Would not go bac here ever again...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    15
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Small portions, overpriced, understaffed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was there last night with a party of 5. None of us will visit again. Portions very small, price is way too high for what you get, service is slow as understaffed. Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wayyyyy overpriced, service too slow, miserable portions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I, and 5 others, had dinner this evening at this restaurant. None of us will be going back again. Here is why :

- portions were miserable (too small). For example, my colleague ordered the soup and it came in a very large bowl. Unfortunately, the bowl is designed with a pretty small recess, approx 4 inches wide and half an inch deep. An ordinary bowl of soup is around 350ml. We collectively concluded this bowl was about a third of this.

- 4 half slices of brown bread (2 inches by 1.5 inches) and 2 tiny cuts of white for a party of six hungry adults - give me a break....

- the menu prices for main courses look in line with other restaurants, until you learn what the main course comes with (nothing). One of my colleagues ordered fish, out comes a large plate with a tiny piece of fish, a daub of sauce and nothing else. Similar show for the rest of us. No veg, no potatoe, no side salad - all extras

- we each paid €30 for two courses. This would have been expensive at half the price

- staff were very nice but service was slow. As is typical with restaurants that do the above (shrimp on portions) they also run their staff ragged and it was clear to see this.

No of us will be returning, there is plenty of value and quality available locally

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average average average!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with my mum and aunt, was really looking forward to trying it considering all the hype about it. However, mums meal was WAY too salty that she couldn't eat it and when we complained about it we had a snotty response from the manager. The waitress we dealt with was lovely and very apologetic, she informed the manager who we thought would come over to apologise however he ignored us. At the end of the meal mum asked to speak with him. She explained the issue, made it clear that we knew he had been told that there was a problem and had failed to address it. He's response was rude and obnoxious and we will not be going back as a result of this. However, the waitress who dealt with us was lovely. My food was average however managers attitude definitely put us off

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Food, pity about the staff Attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good food, but I am not returning to this restaurant. The reason is quite simple - a very poor & condesending attitude from the staff, this is totally unprofessional and does not generate a pleasurable dining experience.
Try some of it's sister restaurants, same good food and with proper professional service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie 15 also viewed

Castleknock, County Dublin
Blanchardstown, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Castleknock, County Dublin
 

Been to Brasserie 15? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie 15, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.