We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for a Family Gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anglers Rest

Anglers Rest
Strawberry Beds | Chapelizod, Castleknock Dublin 20, Ireland
01 820 4351
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Spot for a Family Gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Visited here with a party of (16), which included (4) young children. We were warmly greeted by staff. The restaurant decor is excellent. Very pleasant experience. Would definitely go again! All enjoyed their appetizers, main courses and dessert. The service was excellent. There were several choices on the menu, and on the specials including several fish items on both. Being a large group we were able to experience many of the choices all were pleased with their meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    82
    51
    28
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin,Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christening Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Celebrated christening party for our baby and 30 guests of all ages on sunday afternoon. Staff couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and relaxed. The upstairs venue is beautiful, old-world, warm and spacious. Lots of room for toddlers to run about and play.
I got so many compliments from guests about the choice of venue. The food was delicious as always, with very good choice for €25 per head.
We were under no pressure from the staff at any stage, and despite another party going on at the same time , there was enough room for both parties not to intrude on each other.
It was a wonderful family occasion for all present, and undoubtedly the venue, food and atmosphere were crucial in making this such a memorable evening, despite Ireland's narrow defeat in the Rugby.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just as well we booked! We were here at 7pm on a Saturday night and it was packed. We had a group of 16 for a family birthday...including 5 children. Wonderful food, attentive but not overbearing staff. Steaks and fish were superb. Plenty of choice on adults and children's menus. A non-intrusive trad band added to the buzz after 9pm On the mid to upper price scale but worth it... try the prawns and crab claws starter!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Celebrated my fathers 80th birthday last Friday at the Anglers Rest. Three generations present so varied tastes and they were able to cater for us all. The food was excellent, both meat and fish. and the staff could not have been nicer. The atmosphere was relaxed and cosy and the guest of honour was delighted with occasion. I cannot speak more highly of this restaurant and the staff. One word of advise, drop any elderly guests at the door before parking as the car park is about 100m down the hill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“"Great Restaurant"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions and have to say it is a great place for food. It is a very warm and inviting and the staff are excellent, the food is just lovely and the service excellent. It is in great location and with great parking. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a quite relaxed evening with great food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglers Rest also viewed

 
Castleknock, County Dublin
Castleknock, County Dublin
 

Been to Anglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglers Rest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.