We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and tasteless takeaway” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Gourmet Restaurant

Thai Gourmet Restaurant
12 Mill Street, Balbriggan, Ireland
+353 1 968 0808
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Balbriggan
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Expensive and tasteless takeaway”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I ordered a takeaway from there last night. The food was very dry and tasteless but cost alot. I got a sweet and sour chicken (which had very little sauce so was dry), 4 miniature veg spring rolls and bbq spare ribs (that didn't taste good) for €19.80. I taught for what I got and the very average food that was shocking. Won't go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food & lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my husband went for a meal here on Friday night. The staff were very friendly and kept our water glasses full! We had a combination starter which was gorgeous! My favourite Thai dish is a Massaman curry, it wasn't on the menu, but they made it for me, which i thought was fantastic. The main courses are approx €13 - €19 however, you have to pay for the rice separately, which i felt was a bit expensive. In saying that, its a large portion so next time I think maybe one would be enough for 2. Can't fault the food or service, the decor is lovely too! Will definitely go again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Food excellent, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Beautiful meal in a lovely restaurant even though not too many people there on a Thursday night in September. Felt that €13 for a main course was reasonable except the very small print states that you pay €2.50 for boiled rice. Felt that this was a tad expensive given that the same dish was €9.50 including boiled rice as a take away. Half a bottle of white wine was also expensive at €11.50. Pity as the food was perfect but we would probably just get a carry out next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant mid-week. We were practically the only customers in the place although the kitchen appeared to be doing a roaring trade in takeaway orders. The staff were textbook. Very attentive yet discreet. Everything was immaculately presented. The food was lovely. Clearly freshly prepared and full of flavour. Two starters, two mains, one desert, one Irish coffee and a mid-list bottle of wine came to just over €70.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to enjoy thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is one thai restaurant where myself and my wife go without any hesitation..food and service is absolutely brilliant..enjoyed every time been there for food..our absolute favourite us the tom yum soup..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Thai Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

Balbriggan, County Dublin
 
Balbriggan, County Dublin
Balbriggan, County Dublin
 

Been to Thai Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Gourmet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.