We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent...5 stars..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Malin Hotel to your Saves list
Malin Hotel
Malin Town, Malin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
donegal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent...5 stars..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Had my wedding here on Saturday the 14th june and from start to finish it was brilliant. Couldnt ask for better...food, staff and accommodation was great. Special thanks to rina, andrea and micheal! I would Advise anyone looking for a venue for a wedding come here, they bend over backwards for u!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    29
    13
    0
    6
See reviews for
28
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Really great meal here at the Malin Hotel. We were booked into the Dining Room - great atmosphere and decor. Food 100% top class and portion size suited all the appetites at the table - kids and adults. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I can't comment on what it is like to stay here but having eaten here I won't be back. We were looking for somewhere to have a small snack, a bowl of chowder etc. The service was adequate and the surroundings grotty but the food left much to be desired. we ordered the muscles in white wine sauce and a 'starter plate' which consisted of (according to the menu) chicken wings mozzarella sticks, wedges and cocktail sausages. The muscles were obviously frozen, small and certainly not what you would expect considering where you are, the sauce was OK. The plate arrived with chips, not wedges and some horrible fish fill pastry thing with no apology or explanation. The queasy stomachs we were left with for the rest of the day were not pleasant.
Maybe we got them on a bad day, but we won't be back to see!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I chose The Malin Hotel based on great reviews on Tripadvisor and we are so glad we did. Location is perfect for exploring the north of the Inishowen Peninsula (we would highly recommend visiting the Glenevin Falls, Doagh Famine Village and Culdaff Beach). The hotel staff are fantastic, a real credit to what is a very friendly and welcoming village situated around a pretty little green square. The Manager who checked us in very kindly gave us a beautiful room, overlooking this square. The room was very comfortable, airy and bright and classically furnished with one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have found in any hotel in Ireland. We loved it. The restaurant was incredibly good value and our dinners that night showed an obvious talent and care in the kitchen for cooking good ingredients simply. I also thought the wine list was one of the better ones I have seen for quite some time. Breakfast was also great with an excellent choice. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be our first choice when back in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just decided last minute on Easter Sunday to head for Donegal by using the Magilligan ferry to Moville which takes about 15 minutes.
After a short drive we arrived at the hotel without booking and were delighted to be told a room was available at an excellent price including dinner!

As we have not stayed here since the 1980's we didn't know what to expect but it was more than a little bit different than our previous stay.

Our room was really cosy, well decorated and clean. The bed was spacious and comfortable and although there was music that night we were not disturbed by it. Another plus was the good powerful shower.

O and we loved the little touch of the chicks and cream eggs!

The food was amazing for a 3 star hotel, my open prawn sandwich was delicious especially the wheaten bread and dinner was even better, we both had salmon which was mouth watering.

Breakfast was good too especially as it was served nice and hot and not cold like so many other places we have stayed.

All of the staff were helpful and friendly and we hated checking out but intend to return.

Room Tip: Stay away from where the music is being played
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here last weekend for a friend's wedding. A large group of us stayed 2 nights in this brilliant place.
Check in was quick and easy, and after catching the lift up To the second floor, we found our room to be lovely!! Really comfy beds, with pretty bathroom and good sized windows. Tea/coffee facilities were brilliant. Breakfast was extremely tasty, with a decent continental selection.
The bar was great, and a friend and I kept the residents bar open very late on both nights, with no Complaints from the staff.
The wedding was done beautifully, and I know the bride and groom were really pleased with the hotel.
The service from all of the staff was fantastic, with some really friendly people working there.
Would I stay again? No doubt. Would I recommend it to others? Most definitely.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I attended my brothers wedding reception here at the Malin Hotel in April. The staff were very friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. The food & service at the wedding meal were lovely.
The rooms are clean & welcoming. I would recommend a stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Hotel

Address: Malin Town, Malin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going through the door, you're greeted by the creme de la creme of local society. In the air, a distinct scent of haute cuisine and sensual traces of eau de cologne. Ah! C'est la vie in le Malin Hotel. Here we do things "la francaise" - food par excellence, rooms au courant. And a great pint, too! Boutique? We created the word! We're your little pied-de-terre and your "moulin rouge" in the midst of the beauty of Donegal. Boudoirs that'll knock your socks off, wine to blow your mind and scenery that'll make your eyes pop. Unique? You can say that again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Malin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Donegal
Malin Donegal
Malin Hotel County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.