We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class, First rate, Five star experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Malin Hotel to your Saves list
Malin Hotel
Malin Town, Malin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Meath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First class, First rate, Five star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I got married in the Malin Hotel this july. I had a fabulous time. The hotel was lovely, a real country chic, five star experience. I especially loved the atmosphere that the decor evoked.... Every room is different, many having lovely views over the pretty village green. The bridal suite held for me a timely grace that is hard to recreate and many larger hotels have failed to capture.
The service ,again, was like stepping back in time to a different world. A world of quiet civility, dignity and graciousness.
The food is fabulous, the chowder being one of my favourites and the tea and scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream, something to savour..
In my opinion to go this far north in Donegal and to experience Inishowen at its truest ,a visit to Malin Hotel is a must.

  • Liked — Great hospitality, food and comfort
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    29
    13
    0
    6
See reviews for
28
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Although remote in location I couldn't fault the hotel for its accomodation and family feel. The staff were courteous and very helpful as though nothing was a problem. I'd never been to this part of Ireland before and would gladly come again. It's a great base to venture around Donegal and within easy reach of Derry airport. The food was top drawer and my room was clean and very comfortable. Thank you Malin hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Stayed here for one night on a romantic break with my Fiancee.
Hadn't booked and came across the hotel by chance.
The hotel is set in the beautiful village of Malin, with a large green area out front.
When we went in to asked if there were any rooms free and the receptionist took us around to see the rooms available and the main room, situated at the front over looking the green was amazing to say the least.
With a large 4 poster bed, LCD Tv, and juliet balconey over looking the green. The bathroom was amazing with a large monsoon shower and the most amazing roll top bath in the middle of the floor. We snapped it up at a fairly reasonable price.
After a walk on the nearby beach (about 10-15min drive to Malin head and 5 finger bay) we went back to the hotel, bought a few cold beers and sat on the green reading the papers and watched the world slowly slip by.
In the evening we ate in the resturant and the food was great. The decor could have been brighter but clean and friendly.
The bar had what every Irish Bar has, good beer, whisky and wines.
Would recommend this Hotel if your passing through the area. Wouldn't go there for more than 2 nights.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

We found the hotel to be very comfortable and welcoming,considering the weather outside.The rooms contained everything that we would wish,although it was a bit of a squeeze in the bathroom,particularly in the toilet area.
Hotel facilities are good.The bar is very cosy and the restaurant serves an excellent choice of food,enough for every pallette and it carrys a very comprehensive wine list.
The staff are very attentive and cannot do enough for you and are extremely helpful with local information.
Overall,we will definitely return and recommend it highly.
Chris Bowe (Algarve,Portugal).

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

The food in this hotel is fantastic but unfortunately the en-suite bathroom let it down terribly.

The room was an okay size and had a great childrens room attached but the bathroom was not of an acceptable standard. The tile grouting was black and the sealant around the bath was very dodgy also.

I would recommend anyone to go there to eat but not for the accommodation.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Hotel

Address: Malin Town, Malin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going through the door, you're greeted by the creme de la creme of local society. In the air, a distinct scent of haute cuisine and sensual traces of eau de cologne. Ah! C'est la vie in le Malin Hotel. Here we do things "la francaise" - food par excellence, rooms au courant. And a great pint, too! Boutique? We created the word! We're your little pied-de-terre and your "moulin rouge" in the midst of the beauty of Donegal. Boudoirs that'll knock your socks off, wine to blow your mind and scenery that'll make your eyes pop. Unique? You can say that again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Malin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Donegal
Malin Donegal
Malin Hotel County Donegal, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.