We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd stay with Rosaleen and Conal -consistently Fantastic B&B.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisdanar House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lisdanar House to your Saves list
Lisdanar House
Mill Road, Glenties, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Glenties B&B and Inns
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our 3rd stay with Rosaleen and Conal -consistently Fantastic B&B.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just like home from home. Lovely room, very comfy bed, nice and spacious well fitted out. Great place to stay for exploring mid and south west Co. Donegal. Breakfasts are the best we have had during our trips to Ireland. Just fantastic accomodation and food at good prices and so friendly and welcoming. Will be back again. Thanks Rosaleen.

Room Tip: All great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
29
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Thanks a millon for this lovely place in co. Donegal. If you need a place to stay, this is it. The rooms are great (and very spacious), the beds are comfty, breakfast the best I´ve had and the atmosphere feels like home. You will be taken care of, for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our visit to Glenties will stand out in memory because of our stay at Lisdanar House. From the moment we arrived we found one thing after another to endear us to this place. Rosaleen is a gifted hostess, looking after every detail of our stay in what seemed to be an effortless manner. We felt like we had a friend as soon as we met. Her home is spacious and comfortable, and she seems to take pleasure in keeping it spotless. We looked forward to her fresh delicious breakfast. She was always on hand with help and advice during our visit to this beautiful part of Ireland. She steered us towards the best shopping and dining also. With its superb location, centrally located to touring County Donegal, we feel we made a great choice. Lisdanar is a great value on all levels. It’s as relaxed as can be. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A short but fantastic stay with a wonderful hostess in a beautiful house. The room, the cleanliness and the breakfast were all exceptional, and our stay was really great value for money. We will stay again if we come to Donegal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I first visited Glenties 7 years ago and was fortunate to have stayed at Lisdanar. Rosaleen’s friendly and welcoming demeanour was exceptional. Nearly every year since then, family members have stayed at Lisdanar and have all commented how outstanding this B&B is.
My wife and I, with other family members, stayed at Lisdanar from April 23rd 2012 and yet again were not disappointed. We arrived from England at 8pm; Rosaleen greeted us with her warm, friendly welcome and immediately made us feel like valued guests, offering us fresh tea, scones and homemade jam to refresh us after our long journey.
Our en suite room was comfortably large; Rosaleen and Carmel left them impeccably clean with fresh bathroom linen every day.
Breakfast was a 5 star treat every morning, from a sublime healthy fruit salad to traditional porridge and “Full Irish Breakfast”.
It was a pleasure once again to stay in this beautiful comfortable house where nothing was too much trouble, or a problem, for the ever helpful Rosaleen. There is no other place I would rather stay and would be very disappointed if I was told “sorry, we are fully booked”.

It should be a 7* rating!

Room Tip: All rooms are spaciously large, en suite, comfortable and very clean. Double glazing and thick blind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Returned to Donegal after a 24 year gap for my Mum's funeral with my sister, her husband and my cousin and her husband, staying at the best B&B I have been, where from the moment we arrived to be greeted by our host Rosaleen with a big pot of tea, scones and home made rhubard jam.
My room was comfortable,warm,spacious, and vey clean.
The mornings were a five star treat being served by Rosaleen and Carmel with the most amazing selection of breakfast fayre which incidently did not do anything for my waistline but set me up for the whole day.I can definitely recommend Lisdanar B&B if one happens to be in the lovely wee town of Glenties.
Barney Maguire

Room Tip: All the rooms are of the same high standard. clean, warm, comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We always return to Lisdanar to enjoy its excellence; it is so much more than a B&B. Lisdanar is a beautiful comfortable house run by its kind, generous and gracious hostess Rosaleen. Rosaleen who cannot do enough to make her guests feel welcome, nothing is too much trouble for her. We can really recommend Lisdanar without reservation.

Lisdanar is a short walk from Glenties town centre and an ideal place form which to explore the many delights of Donegal. When we leave we always have withdrawal symptoms, it is then we start to plan a return visit.

M&K
Northumbria UK

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisdanar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdanar House

Address: Mill Road, Glenties, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Glenties
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisdanar is centrally located for touring South West Donegal.Its a beautiful property set in its own grounds with ample private parking yet only two minutes walk to the village.All the bedrooms are very spacious with private toilet and shower facilities.All are nicely decorated with loads of extras ...hospitality trays, tvs etc...Lisdanar is half way between the Slieve Cliffs and Glencolmcille village where there is the famine cottages and on the other hand theres Glenveagh National Park and the Poisined Glen.Glenties has numerous beautiful beaches nearby and also lake and river fishing.Theres several Great Golf Clubs within driving distance...Horseriding and bike hire can also be arranged.Rosaleen enjoys helping visitors plan their day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lisdanar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisdanar House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.