We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunkineely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
St Johns Point, Dunkineely, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Recommended by a friend with local connections. We called in for a coffee after visiting St.Johns point. Great location with a comfortable lounge. Very friendly staff who persuaded us to have one of their homemade scones - well worth it ! Hope to return some day for a longer visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    21
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
124
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Once in a lifetime you come on a place like this by chance.It is set up on a hill on beautiful St John's peninsula, with breathtaking views of the sea and easy access to quiet sandy coves. The hotel is charmingly unpretentious and staff were very friendly and accommodating.

My room was spacious and had a view of the sea. It was very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. The bed was superb. Tea and coffee were waiting with tempting home made chocolate chip cookies, set out in a separate area with armchairs.

The food was superb at dinner and breakfast. I have eaten in good restaurants all over the world but the best meal I ever had was here. T

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was excellent. It is situated out on St. John's point which means you have limited eating options and need a car to get there and around.
The food is the key dinner is a 5 course menu that has plenty of choice and we enjoyed both evenings. In addition they have a couple of speciality dishes.
I could have sat all day taking in the view from both our room and foyer sitting area. Our room was a little on the small side but this is because it is an old building that has been beautifully restored. I will come back

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here one night for a birthday treat and it exceeded all expectations. Brilliant location overlooking the bay, lovely rooms( not huge but adequate) with the softest most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on, crisp linen, plump pillows all fabulous and nicely decorated. The view from the window (room 3 ) was magnificent. We were lucky that the weather was hot sunny and dry and the whole experience exceeded any of our recent foreign trips .The staff are super friendly and helpful. And as for the food!!! well ,recently my son knowing what a foodie I am asked me what had been my favourite meal ever and I really had no definite answer but now I have. We travel and eat out a lot as you will see from my reviews and I can be very critical but this was the best ever. Our package included B+B and dinner. The dinner if booked on its own is 47 euro which I suppose is pricey but believes me worth every penny. The restaurant is run so well service is relaxed so don't go here if you are in a rush but to us there was just the perfect timing between courses. We started with an amuse bouche of crispy duck confit and a selection of homemade breads and olive tapenade, our starters were garlic prawn and monkfish gratin and croquettes of smoked chicken and goats cheese, for mains I had grilled lobster on tagliatelle( 14 euro extra but worth it) and my husband had lamb. Desserts chosen were a selection of home made ice cream and for me a plate of mini deserts all followed by coffee and an apricot tartlet out on the verandah overlooking the bay. Every mouthful was a taste sensation and I wasn't surprised to hear that it had been prepared by a French chef, simply outstanding.
Breakfast next morning after the quietest most comfortable sleep ever was also excellent. Lovely fresh fruit salad and yogurt, cereals, homemade jams and breads, usual fry or grilled salmon which was delicious, all served in the dining room overlooking the bay.
If you want to treat someone ( or yourself) who appreciates good food and loves a relaxed scenic atmosphere you’ll not do better than here .Even the cookies with the tea and coffee in the bedrooms are home made. Great mid week offers 110 euro B+B + dinner pp. Thank you Castle Murray for such a wonderful birthday.
Before dinner drive into Dunkineely and have a drink In Macs pub so friendly and welcoming also.

Room Tip: Rooms at front with sea view are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We're from the area so we knew what to expect from dining in the restaurant on a number of occasions previously. We were checked in by the lovely Fabrice and shown to our beautiful room over looking the bay. It really felt like we were on a foreign holiday, sipping cocktails on the deck in the glorious sun. Dinner was just amazing, my husband had the prawns & monkfish in garlic butter which is to die for & I had the crab risotto. Followed by Gerry's recommendation for main course the special of the evening we had monkfish & scallops. Dessert was beautiful, I had the selection of desserts & the other half just couldn't pass the warm belgium chocolate cake. It had to be one of the nicest meals we have never had. Breakfast the following morning was lovely, sitting overlooking the bay. There was a buffet for cereals, juices, yoghurt, fruit, bread & cheese & orders for cooked breakfast were served from the kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay & can't wait to go back again. I might have to drop a few hints for my next birthday! Go on you haven't lived until you stay at Castlemurray :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in Castle Murray House for one night and wish I had been able to stay longer. It has a beautiful location and the view from the restaurant was incredible. The staff were friendly and really helpful. The room was clean, beautifully decorated and they even had a jar of homemade cookies in your room on arrival. The food was excellent. Looking forward to going back at a future date.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I thought I would treat the other half to castle murray house, and yes it is a great venue, but I would recommend go down the road a bit to one of the B&Bs like SeaView on the beautiful point, and visit Castle Murray house for dinner . Check that there is not a big group in at the same time though, else you'll be in for a wait . Room was dark and not overly clean , bathroom only just acceptable (toliletries on a low shelf hidden away , why ? ) Breakfast really nice , but finshes PROMPT at 10am , so no lazy lie ins . Chamber maid rattling with keys at our bedroom door at 1030 (although to be fair she apologised ). An American lady was waiting at checkout for her bill for 20 minutes .A bit chaotic but not in a charming way. I doubt we'd return here to stay .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: St Johns Point, Dunkineely, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunkineely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family owned boutique hotel with magnificent sea views. Award-winning restaurant serving top quality localy sourced food. Voted top 50 most romantic hotels in the world "American Travel and Leisure 2011". Ideal for intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Murray House Hotel And Restaurant
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant Dunkineely, Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.