We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunkineely
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Save
You added Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
St Johns Point, Dunkineely, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Bryansford, County Down
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I treated our wives to a one night stay at this extremely cosy house hotel. Upon entering, we were met by a very hospitable hostess who took us to our very tasteful rooms.

After a wonderful walk we retired to our rooms to prepare for dinner. We all enjoy seafood and we were not to be disappointed. The signature dish of prawns and monkfish in garlic butter and mozzarella was so tasty I devoured every morsel..

John Dory, halibut and sole were on offer and this all went down well with a lovely Pinot Grigio.

If any foodies who are out there are reading this, you MUST visit this place. Fantastic hospitality, accommodation, price, food and location.. What more do you want? Well done guys

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    21
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
124
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

A recent visit to Castle Murray Hotel restored my confidence in Irish hospitality! This hotel is in an excellent location, not far from Donegal Town, in the North West of Ireland. Accommodation was first class, bedrooms benefited from individual design and decor, bar area was comfortable and homely, the restaurant overlooked an inlet of the Atlantic ocean, the menu was mainly designed around sea food, but there were other mouth-watering dishes, the food was superb, beautifully presented. Dinner service was just a little slow, but we were in no hurry. Breakfast was good Irish fare. Cost was reasonable.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms overlook the sea and ruins of an old castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have stayed at Castle Murray on several occasions and every time it has been perfect. The staff cannot do enough to make your stay a happy and memorable one. The rooms are all individually designed but each as beautiful as the other. The honeymoon suite is just beautiful. We were lucky enough to get a front facing rooms and the view was just breathtaking.
The food was, as always perfect; from the home-made cookies that were waiting for us in our room to our evening meal. Breakfast was gorgeous and they offered everything from a full Irish to American pancakes with blueberries and maple syrup.
This last visit was the first time we have taken our three daughters and they absolutely loved it, we will definitely find another excuse to return.

Room Tip: The front facing rooms with the views of the ocean are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from a relaxing break at Castle Murray and the only words to descride it are "a little piece of heaven"!

We have stayed several times and it never ceases to please on every front from, accomadation, cleanliness, service, ambience, food, you are treated like royality in this truely relaxing atmosphere where you will be pampered and nothing is too much o ask for.

Upon checking in your are welcomed with a huge smile and made feel at home the instant you set foot in the door, you are shown to your room, we had room 10 a hidden little treaure with it own private staircase up to the room and a large roof terrace overlooking McSwaynes bay (a truely amazing location). Each room is uniquely decorated all very tasteful and to an excellent standard and have outstanding views of the rugged Donegal coastline.

We headed down stairs to the lounge where there is a homely open fire crackling, we sat on the comfy leather sofas in the lounge area with a class of your favourite tipple in hand overlooking the bay on a sprng day brings a smile to your face.

The restaurant serves a selection of locally sourced products, you definately have to try the house starter special monkfish and prawns in galic butter and topped with melted cheese - sheer indulgence that will leave your tastebuds watering. Whtever you choose for mains will be exquisite and served with fresh vegetables and potatoes. House selection of desserts is a little sample of everything for those who cant decide. The staff have an excellent knowledge of wine to accompany your meal and shall happily help you decide. The service is amazing your every wish will be catered for with a smile.

A lovely romantic break, once you try this hotel I quarentee you shall return many times and have very fond happy memories of your time spent here.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and decorated to an excellent standard, well sound proofed as well as having ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I have spent at least two weekends at Castle Murray every year since we met over 20 years ago and we have never been disappointed !We were there recently for Valentine's and my birthday celebrations and were made so welcome and treated so well by all the staff. The food is the best we have ever tried and we have tried many restaurants!The house special starter -prawns,monkfish and garlic butter with cheese topping is out of this world. I usually have the sirloin steak which is always cooked to perfection. As for the house "selection de desserts" platter - Mouthwatering does not begin to describe it !The only thing to top the food is the service !All the staff are so attentive and friendly and so efficient even when it is a busy weekend. Special thanks to Fabrice, Marguerite and Peter who made us feel so special as always and also to the lovely girl doing the breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday. The surroundings are so beautiful and comfortable and we are counting the days to October for our return !Fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here last November,and wish i could go back every weekend.The relaxed atmosphere and the feeling of being pampered is what this place is all about ,the staff are so friendly while being uber efficient .the food is mouthwatering from start to finish and not priced over the top.the room was clean cosy and perfect for a romantic nite away .we loved it !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlederg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Castle Murray is truly amazing. Its location is fantastic, overlooking the atlantic ocean. In winter it is even more special as the waves crash onto the rocks below. The food is excellent, menu is well thought out to reflect local products, with service to match. The flow is just right you never feel rushed. The bar is cosy with an open fire. The rooms are all unique and a very high standard. Rooms are very well sound proofed, despite being a windy and wet night we slept well.
This property is most suited for couples, an excellent romantic get away.
Castle Murray is a remote location- but this for us makes this property. Come here to unwind, read a good book and enjoy excellent food. Donegal town is close by, and so are some of Irelands best beaches.
I have rated the value as very good- you get what you pay for. Good food, rooms and service come at a price and when they are excellent I don't mind paying for it.
We have already made a booking for the summer, during the taste of Donegal weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: St Johns Point, Dunkineely, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunkineely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family owned boutique hotel with magnificent sea views. Award-winning restaurant serving top quality localy sourced food. Voted top 50 most romantic hotels in the world "American Travel and Leisure 2011". Ideal for intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Murray House Hotel And Restaurant
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant Dunkineely, Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.