We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunbeg House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bunbeg House to your Saves list
Bunbeg House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Harbour | Gweedore, Bunbeg, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Bunbeg B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The B&B is near the very beautiful, sheltered harbour of Bunbeg. The nearest pub, where Irish is spoken regularly, is only a few hundred meters up the road. A nice walking trail through this part of Gaoth Dobhair is also nearby. But back to the B&B: The host's are very nice and they prepare you a cooked breakfast for free, if you want (You won't need lunch afterwards). The rooms are big and clean (so are the showers). The beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    25
    14
    12
    10
See reviews for
19
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We spent one night at Bunbeg House after reserving a room on the internet. The weather was fairly cool. When we entered the building a strong mildew-like odour in the lobby was bothersome to our noses and throats. The B and B is in a rebuilt corn mill. The common area (where wifi is available) was quite cold, though the hosts put heat on when requested. The room was basic, just OK, but a good size. In describing the parts of the hotel we saw, the word "shabby" comes to mind. The hosts were very pleasant. We did not eat there. In my opinion this guesthouse does not measure up to its claim to be "one of the finest guesthouses in Donegal".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My family and I loved our stay at Bunbeg House, the owners were extremely courteous and helpful and made our stay so much more relaxed due to high standard of attentiveness. The food was excellent and rooms clean and comfortable, also it was an added bonus that pets are welcome. Will definitely be staying here again and im looking forward to it immensely :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Lovely little b&b with the same privacy as a hotel. Rooms a little dated but it was big and had a beautiful view over the active harbour. Really nice staff and lovely breakfast. Stayed two nights, was pretty good value, fairly near the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff. Very relaxing. Local pubs with entertainment and good food not far away. Breakfast was plentiful and with attentive staff. Would recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Bunbeg (Bun Beag) House is a pleasant and quite place to pass a couple of days exploring the surrounding County Donegal. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean.
We all loved our stay and if in some future time we pass again from Donegal our stop will be in Bunbeg House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A good value basic place which apparently does food in the summer , we were there in May and food unavailable in the evening . The setting is beautiful and there are a few places to eat in the village . The owners were friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunbeg House

Address: The Harbour | Gweedore, Bunbeg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bunbeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunbeg House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunbeg House is a friendly guest house with en suite rooms in the village of Bunbeg, overlooking the harbour at the mouth of the Clady River.Bunbeg House has been run by the same family since it first opened in the 1970s, and has since featured in many books and magazines. All rooms have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.Food and drink is available in the bar, which opens in the summer. The relaxed, homely atmosphere makes it a good base from which to explore the Gaeltacht of Donegal.If you’re travelling with a younger child, cots and babysitting services are available.Whilst at Bunbeg House, you might visit Glenveagh National Park, the Dunlewey centre or Glebe Gallery. There are golf courses at Portnoo, Dunfanaghy and Cruit Island. Deep sea diving and surfing are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bunbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunbeg House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.