We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunbeg House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bunbeg House to your Saves list
Bunbeg House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Harbour | Gweedore, Bunbeg, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Bunbeg B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Bunbeg (Bun Beag) House is a pleasant and quite place to pass a couple of days exploring the surrounding County Donegal. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean.
We all loved our stay and if in some future time we pass again from Donegal our stop will be in Bunbeg House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    14
    12
    10
See reviews for
19
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A good value basic place which apparently does food in the summer , we were there in May and food unavailable in the evening . The setting is beautiful and there are a few places to eat in the village . The owners were friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

A ray of sunshine in a ghastly period of weather! Stayed in 6 places and this was by far the best. The breakfast was excellent and the room comfortable. Sadly the area was disappointing - too much building everywhere. Will probably not return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Bunbeg House was a great place to stay. The owners made us feel at home and the hospitality was excellent. The accommodation was spotless and the food was first class. We had as a wonderful time there and hope to return this year. The hotel is very central for anyone wanting to tour around the area and is close to lots of eateries of various types. I would recommend it to all.
D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had invited friends from Scotland to come over to see us in Northern Ireland and we all went to Bunbeg House for a long weekend. We arrived April 2013 to a warm welcome. Rooms were clean and breakfast was lovely. Owners and their family made us feel at home and local pub had great ceilidh on Saturday night. Fantastic live music. Scenery is spectacular and other restaurants had lovely and plentiful food on offer. We will certainly return to Bunbeg House.

Kenny and Ann shaw - March 2014

Room Tip: New extension upstairs had nice view of the harbour and were quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

These guys took excellent care of my family! Georgeous setting in a quaint village. Like something out of a mystery novel or Hardy Boys book. Stay here if you'd like to get away from it all in a beautiful setting. I could almost literaly fish out of the bedroom window as the bay was just yards away. In house Pub completes the package! I'd stay at the Bunbeg any time. All the best Jean and team.
Dan Zink and Family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oppenheim, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Bunbeg House is a very great place to stay. It is situated very quiet on a natural harbour with beauftiful views to the sea. My son and I enjoyed the flood and tide come and go. Bunbeg house is very cozy and they have cozy and spacious guest rooms either. Breakfast is deliciuos. While you enjoy it you can watch the activies around the small harbour. The owners are very friendly and hospitable. I love this place from year to year more and more.

Room Tip: Call for the rooms to harbourside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunbeg House

Address: The Harbour | Gweedore, Bunbeg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bunbeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunbeg House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunbeg House is a friendly guest house with en suite rooms in the village of Bunbeg, overlooking the harbour at the mouth of the Clady River.Bunbeg House has been run by the same family since it first opened in the 1970s, and has since featured in many books and magazines. All rooms have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.Food and drink is available in the bar, which opens in the summer. The relaxed, homely atmosphere makes it a good base from which to explore the Gaeltacht of Donegal.If you’re travelling with a younger child, cots and babysitting services are available.Whilst at Bunbeg House, you might visit Glenveagh National Park, the Dunlewey centre or Glebe Gallery. There are golf courses at Portnoo, Dunfanaghy and Cruit Island. Deep sea diving and surfing are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bunbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunbeg House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.