We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer travels in Donegal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunbeg House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bunbeg House to your Saves list
Bunbeg House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Harbour | Gweedore, Bunbeg, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Bunbeg B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Summer travels in Donegal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Spent a blissful few days in Gweedore in late August, stayed at Bunbeg house and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Rooms were clean and spacious,breakfast was excellent,staff friendly and courteous and the setting beside the old harbor in Bunbeg was fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    14
    12
    10
See reviews for
19
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I first read about the place in the book McCarthy's Bar, where the author extolled the virtues of the owner - how courteous and friendly he was and how he went above and beyond the call of duty in arranging stuff for him. It sounded nice and we went there for a weekend a number of years ago, it being only a few hours from where we live. We were checked in by a pleasant woman and all seemed fine. When we came down for breakfast the first morning the owner was on the floor taking orders and such. He seemed really nice; joking and smiling with a couple as he took their order. Then he disappeared, knowing that we were waiting, and only returned when the couple's food was ready. He served their breakfasts with a smile and hen came over to us. We found this 'pleasant' host to be nothing more than an incredibly ill-mannered individual. We greeted him with a 'Good morning' and got the reply: "Tea or coffee?" No smiles, no pleasantries. Just a 'I feel very put out' sigh as he wrote in his order pad. Same deal as he took our orders for a fry, every question uttered as though it was such a chore. He turned and muttered something along the lines of "They'll be right out" as he walked away. When he came back he put the plates in front of us without a word uttered and that was that. Away he went. The rest of the weekend was the same. We wondered what the problem was, because he was being really nice to the few other couples that were staying there. We came to the conclusion - rightly or wrongly - that because we didn't have the look of 'money' about us - like the other couples sort of had - this guy just didn't give a toss.

Fast forward to the present day and we were in the area again and decided to give Bunbeg House another go, this time for a meal. We talked about the last time but agreed to give it another chance. After all, the location was great and everyone deserves a second chance, right? We got in and were seated. The owner was behind the bar talking to a man as he dried a glass. A pleasant enough girl came up and took our orders. We had to go to the bar to order drinks but that was no big deal. When I went up the owner was at the end of the bar talking to this man about fishing, telling him about good locations and that some guy had caught a big salmon at a particular point in some river. I was standing maybe six feet from where they were, the only person stood at the bar, waiting to be served. He knew I was there but continued his conversation with this man. I waited for about 2 minutes before he finally turned his head and said, "I'll be with you in a minute." Then he listened to the guy tell some fishing story before finally prying himself away to serve me. "Right..." was the one word he used to greet me/ask me my order. I ordered 2 gin & tonics and he served me, again, as if it were a chore. I paid, he handed over my change, then put on a Guinness for the guy he was talking to and started chatting to him again. Even though the place wasn't busy, we waited almost an hour(!!!) for our food, which was incredibly infuriating. The girl came down and apologised a couple of times, saying it wouldn't be much longer. The food that arrived was nice enough, but by heck we really did not enjoy it. We left pretty fuming that we had given this guy more of our money, and a second chance.

I don't know what the deal with this guy/establishment is bit one thing is for sure....we will never set foot in that hole again. I'm sure if you tramp in wearing a Barbour coat (or tell him you're writing a book) you'll be treated like royalty. But if you're the kind of person who likes to spend your casual time dressed in jeans and a t-shirt and you don't have a Rolex on your arm to show you're earning £££ you'll probably be treated like vermin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recently spent weekend here and found the whole atmosphere and pace totally relaxing and unwinding. Its location is really lovely, hidden and private but still very convenient. Found everything clean and tidy and breakfast was great. Many thanks to Andy for being a very welcoming host, and to Jean and family for their hard work.

Room Tip: we asked for a harbour view though for a quiet night think any room would do
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Plus points:-
the location
Good size room
Friendly owners
Nice breakfast
Bad points:-
Tired, dated room
Frayed towels in bathroom
Very indifferent attitude of the young man who informed us the cafe was closed. Told us to walk ( nearly a mile) up the road where we would find a cafe on the corner. It was also closed.
The worst part was it was so COLD. When asked, the same young man did turn on the heating for a short while. We got soaked through and couldn't dry our clothes and shoes as the heating didn't come on at all the 2nd day!!
The Internet connection only worked in the TV lounge


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went for a weekend trip. Great location, the view is stunning, overlooking the natural harbour and pier. It was so relaxing. Jean and Andy made us very welcome.
Internal handrails would be helpful as I have trouble climbing stairs. The rooms could do with a bit of a make over but I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just spent three nights here and had a great time. The setting at the harbour is beautiful and very relaxind. Andy and Jean were great hosts and made our stay memorable. The accommodation was great and the service was very efficient , but most of all very friendly. I will be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Antrim N Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife, daughter and myself recently stayed here. The location is very good, with a great view of the beautiful harbour and rocky coves. The hosts, Jean and Andy are very pleasant and helpful, although a little difficult to find at times. The rooms are tired and slightly depressing and would be in need of a good makeover.
The breakfast was ok, with the usual cereals and cooked fry on offer.
I had originally booked two nights with the option of staying for another two so we were all glad to be moving on. We found another B &B not far away, which was excellent.
I made the mistake of using Bunbeg House's own booking agent, Gulliver travel, instead of booking.com so I paid quite a few euros more than I should.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bunbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunbeg House

Address: The Harbour | Gweedore, Bunbeg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bunbeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunbeg House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunbeg House is a friendly guest house with en suite rooms in the village of Bunbeg, overlooking the harbour at the mouth of the Clady River.Bunbeg House has been run by the same family since it first opened in the 1970s, and has since featured in many books and magazines. All rooms have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.Food and drink is available in the bar, which opens in the summer. The relaxed, homely atmosphere makes it a good base from which to explore the Gaeltacht of Donegal.If you’re travelling with a younger child, cots and babysitting services are available.Whilst at Bunbeg House, you might visit Glenveagh National Park, the Dunlewey centre or Glebe Gallery. There are golf courses at Portnoo, Dunfanaghy and Cruit Island. Deep sea diving and surfing are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bunbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunbeg House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.