We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“middle of nowhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Teac Jack

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Teac Jack to your Saves list
Teac Jack
Derrybeg | Glassagh, Bunbeg, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Bunbeg B&B and Inns
MOIRA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

just back from staying 2 nights( came home 1 night early ). Reason being NOTHING TO DO. you have a choice of your room or bar, or if you wish to drive for approx 2 hours to go somewhere !!. NOT all negative however, WARNING : this place is VERY likely to expand your waistline lol. Food amazing, atmosphere amazing, staff so very friendly, nothing a problem. So all in all if you dont mind being out in the wild a bit GREAT place to go. Maybe just not for us. Can't knock it as a hotel, rooms great,beds cosy , room warm. Would recommend it DEF.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view. we were looking into the garden of a house next to Hotel, nice it was tho !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on a groupon deal and it was the best deal that I have had in a long time.Breakfast each morning was excellent and served very promptly.
Bar food in the evening was exceptional with a wide variety on the menu and also served promptly by the bar staff who were very friendly. Eileen on reception was a nice lady who was very informative on what was happening locally.We had a room at the front which had great views of the ocean and which was also comfortable.I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mairemhicphaidin, Manager at Teac Jack, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and look forward to seeing you back with us soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just back from 2 night weekend stay and must say we had totally enjoyable weekend. Lovely friendly staff, room basic but excellent, great bar with evening entertainment. Food in restaurant was 1st class. Great place for kids too. Will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mairemhicphaidin, Manager at Teac Jack, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look foreward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushmills
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

How do I review this place? The best music, friendliest wait-staff ever, funny owner. What a great time my friends and I had here. The views are fantastic and after walking out on the Bloody Forelands, what a fun place for soup and sandwich. It was going to be a quick stop. Two days later, we left. This is the area to be in Ireland, not down south.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddy at home
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great place to stay and immerse yourself in the local gaelic culture, also good base for exploring the region. Bar is nice with a lot of locals drinking there and speaking the cupla focal. Bar food basic but good. Rooms comfortable. Only issue I have is with breakfast, it's not the best. The full Irish is fine in quantity but the quality is poor, don't know where the sausages and puddings come from but they should change their supplier.Also poor selection of bread, only sliced pan until we asked for brown bread. Serving staff are all very pleasant but breakfast was a big disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mairemhicphaidin, Manager at Teac Jack, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments sorry that we did`nt have any homemade breads out when you came down for breakfast. We bake our own homemade breads and there is usually a selection out for breakfast. With regards to the sausages and puddings we will take a look at the products. Hope it has`nt discouraged you from visiting with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We spent three nights in Teac Jacks and had a grea time. The room was spotless. Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help. The food was very good and plentiful. The place was buzzing on St Patrick's day celebrations went on until the wee sma' hoors.

I would definitely return and probably will.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mairemhicphaidin, Owner at Teac Jack, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, Really glad you enjoyed your stay looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Teac Jack over the Mid-term break. What can I say – warm welcome, great location, tasty food, fantastic atmosphere, Craic, and the Guinness was not bad either!! They even chill the Heineken Glasses!!!!!

We had a lovely cosy room, the view was absolutely amazing. We were a gang on the rip and I must say the staff was very friendly and helpful. The ‘Céilí’ was really good a huge crowd of experienced dancers that didn’t mind helping us amateurs!! It was great to hear the ‘cupla focal Gaeilge’ being spoken. Plenty of lovely sight-seeing locally.

Teac Jack is a really well run hotel and it is very reasonable. I would highly recommend it, we will be going back for sure at Christmas.

A big thanks to all the gang☺ from Arron and the Lads

Room Tip: Get a seaview at the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teac Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teac Jack

Address: Derrybeg | Glassagh, Bunbeg, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bunbeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Teac Jack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teac Jack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.