We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jackson's Hotel to your Saves list
Jackson's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glenfin Street, Ballybofey, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Omagh
1 review
“Santa Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We are just home from our trip to the Santa Hotel, which was enjoyed by the whole family. We checked in early yesterday and was offered a delux upgrade in the new part of the hotel, this was great as we have 3 kids and needed the extra room. The only downside of the delux room is that is in the new part of the hotel and a bit of a trek to get back to reception area but our kids enjoyed the walk and the chance to get in two lifts, real novelty!!
The room itself was clean and spacious not overly 'delux' but perfectly ample for a family break. We ate in the Bistro before the show which was quite but the food was very good and very reasonable, we will definitely return to it even if we are not staying.
We were advised to be in the Foyer for 5.30 for the 6 o clock show. The elves came out around 5.50 to sing christmas songs which the children really enjoyed. Because it was a Thurs nite, it was quite quiet but I think that was a bonus for us. We then went into the bar area for Hot Chocolate and more songs. We only just got our hot chocolate when we were ushered out to go to the show. I think we could have had more time here or perhaps join the carol singing with the hot chocolate so that children have time to let it cool and drink it.
We then went into the function room for the show. Overall I think the show was good and the children enjoyed it, but there is room for improvement. I'd love to see the elves wearing mics so that they could be heard more clearly. Santa was good and the picture was lovely, although we only noticed today that the card was stamped with last years date, not a huge problem, just something to watch out for.
When we left Santa we went to the Bouncy Castle and then walked round the little sheds, kids just wanted to stay on bouncy castle though. We were then moved on to the Christmas movie in another room, which the kids loved and was just a great length. We accompanied throughout by elves who although they were v young, were v good with the children. I just felt that the whole show was a bit rushed and could easily go on for another while.
We had breakfast this morning in the Bistro which was very good although I think they could run it on to 10.30am.
Overall, as I said earlier we ALL really enjoyed the trip and we found all the staff to be very friendly, approachable and chatty. The children loved the whole Santa experience and we will definitely return again. Anything I have mentioned above is purely to help improve the experience for others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that your whole family enjoyed our Santa experience.

We use all guest comments to constantly improve our service. We do agree that the kids hadn’t enough time to enjoy their hot chocolate so we have now changed this that they have their drinks during the Christmas movie. We have also improved our sound during the show so everyone can hear clearly.

We really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you all back to Jacksons Hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    190
    160
    153
    175
See reviews for
288
369
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

a very pleasant homely atmosphere was enjoyed by us on our two night visit,
we had our evening meal in the restaurant on the first night and as it was so good we
returned on the second night to the same high standard of food.
our accommodation was excellent, looking out over the river fin in a very spacious room.
staff were most attentive, and we are looking forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you had a very pleasant stay with us, enjoying our homely atmosphere, food and accommodation. It is wonderful to receive such praise and our staff members will be delighted with your comments.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I was dreading staying here after reading some of the awful reviews and to be honest I think some people just complain for the sake of it! This hotel was lovely! From the moment we walked in we were welcomed by the lovely reception staff! We were given a suite in the older part of the hotel and the room was massive and it had a massage chair THAT WORKED!! Yes the curtains were slightly dated but so what it was charming and we didn't really care as the room was great. The second night we asked could we upgrade to the new side of the hotel (for no other reason than my husband wanted a Jaquizzi bath) we were happy with this room too. If you want a modern hotel then book and request the new side if you want charm then go for the older side! This hotel caters for both tastes. We booked the 2 nights B&B and an evening meal for €118 this was excellent value. Breakfast both mornings were lovely and we ate in the bistro for our evening meal! The meal that came with our deal was out of this world, we ate so much that we could hardly move! We will def be back and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone! It's just a shame that some people feel the need to nit pic over every little thing! Thank you to all the staff we had a fantastic time! Happy Christmas

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was wonderful to read your review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed our food. I am glad you choose to stay with us and didn’t let previous reviews deter you.

It will be our upmost pleasure to welcome you back to Jacksons Hotel again.

Have a wonderful Christmas,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great wee place. Stayed for two nights in November. Staff could not have been more pleasant - felt like we were part of the family. Food was excellent, especially the banoffee! The room was really comfy and warm and the sauna and steam room were in better condition than some of the five star hotels I have visited recently.. Don't miss the walk around the river. Some of the gym equipment may b a little dated but I didn't intend to use it anyway. Such a good stay I have booked it for my folks in the New Year. Perhaps I was swayed by the free dessert and good banter but its fast becoming an old favourite!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for choosing to stay at Jacksons Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us. Our staff will be delighted with your kind comments. Our homemade desserts, especially the banoffee are delicious. Glad you also enjoyed the beautiful river walks around our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

we stayed with Jacksons on th 29th nov for 2 nights. We booked our stay on grab one and for £96 for two nights it was well worth the money. The hotel staff where great, room was great lovely river view of the Finn. Our room was on 5th floor which had a massage chair , great shower which was a steam room and Jacuzzi bath. Room was clean and the bed was sooooo comfortable my husband and i both slept very well. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we ate out, we had breakfast both mornings and it was great too. we also had friends with us whos little girl was with us and she loved the Santa show was a lovely weekend with great Christmas spirit just the weekend i needed to get me ready for Christmas. we also used the swimming pool, steam room and sauna which where are lovely. A nice weekend overall we cant wait to go back in the year and now that i know its a pet friendly hotel i may also bring my dogs next time

will be recommending Jackson's to my family & friends
Thanks G. Musgrave

Room Tip: ask for a river view the finn is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure to read about your recent stay at Jacksons Hotel and thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Our massage chairs and Jacuzzi baths are addictive, and definitely enjoyed by all guests. The stunning views of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods make a beautiful backdrop of tranquillity, a peace of nature that our hotel is very privileged to offer.

Our team at Santa’s Hotel are thrilled they helped you all get into the Christmas spirit and are thrilled that you all enjoyed it.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randalstown, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The rally was a special event for the club, it's 30th anniversary celebration, and the hotel did not disappoint. The staff were very helpful throughout the booking process by meeting our changing needs and during the event. A room to store equipment, a projector / screen and an an area in reception to display club picture memorabilia was readily provided. The rooms were clean and of a high standard and the food (a high priority for motorcycle weekend events) was very good. A restricted parking area was made available to the members. Overall the weekend event was considered very successful and any feedback received confirmed this. I am sure a lot of the members will have no hesitation in making future bookings for friends or family. I would like to thank the hotel management and staff for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: The new side of the hotel has the best rooms but may suffer from noise from weddings etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing Jacksons Hotel to celebrate your clubs special 30th anniversary celebration. It was our pleasure to host your group’s special event. I am absolutely delighted that you all had an enjoyable stay with us. I personally dealt with your group and I would like to thank you for being so efficient and organised.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Purched 2 night b&b break with groupon
Found the room to be clean and tidy with a great bed and shower .
View from window was of river finn (very nice)
Breakfast both mornings was fine .
Staff were most friendly and helpful .
4year old daughter enjoyed herself .
At £96.00 was great value .
Looking foward to our next visit .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you had a satisfying weekend break with us, enjoyed the nice views of the River Finn and recognised our friendly and helpful staff members. They will be thrilled with your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Glenfin Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling village of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.