We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jackson's Hotel to your Saves list
Jackson's Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glenfin Street, Ballybofey, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Lake Wales, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“In the Countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Jackson's Hotel is not located in a metropolitan area so one should not expect to compare it to the same. However, the rooms are very large and ours was approximately twice the size of those in Belfast and Dublin. The hardwood floors did "creak" abit and some re-furbishing would help. But, remember, countryside hotels are just that. They have an ambiance all of there own and one needs to overlook the minor and major on the major. The quaintness of this family inn is quite remarkable.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor and you will not hear anyone "creak" the hardwood floors above you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. It was really a pleasure to read and I am delighted that you enjoyed our country hotel.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    211
    169
    167
    191
See reviews for
304
425
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On arrival the receptionist did not seem to have any record of our booking , she checked the system for what seemed like ages. she then gave us a very old and dated family room, the tv in the room matched the decor old and faded with very little colour and sat on a plywood shelf, toilet was clean but had bad lime scale under rim . we also were overcharged on arrival, corrected when i complained . . this hotel is supposed to be 4 star i have stayed in better 2 star hotels will not be returning, and will not recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am greatly disappointed to read about your recent stay at Jacksons Hotel. I do sincerely apologise for any issues that you encountered. If at any stage you were dissatisfied with your room, had reception been notified they would of being able to offer you an alternative.

We are a 4 star approved hotel and have had to meet all necessary guidelines and regulations in order to obtain such accreditation.

I do apologise and hope you do return to Jacksons Hotel again.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I cannot understand how this hotel is still keeping its 4 stars - it is not up to the standard of any of the other 4 star hotels I have stayed in. It is a nice enough hotel but extremely dated and very disorganised. When we arrived to check in our room wasn't ready, we were told to take a seat until it was. Over an hour later we were still sitting there, I went up to the desk (which there was constantly a queue for as only one member of staff checking people in very slowly) to be told yes my room was ready - got the feeling it had been, god knows how long we would have sat there before someone had the decency to tell us.
We were in a deluxe room which was nice (far better than the old part of the hotel which my parents were staying in - i've seen better b&bs than those rooms), but very bare. None of the usual things you would expect a 4* to have like conditioner, mosituriser, face cloths, and a very small bed, which was comfortable though. The main letdown of the weekend was the lack of staff and complete disorganisation which seemed to reign. There only ever seemed to be one man behind the bar, and sometimes no-one. We were spoken to very rudely by a member of staff at the leisure centre when we inquired about the elusive spa, which there is no brochure for (asked at reception) and doesn't seem to exist.....Breakfast in the morning was chaos. Waiting ages for a table, one toaster, no glasses, butter, or milk. We had a good value weekend as we were on a grabone deal, however, if i'd paid the going rate as my parents had, i'd be extremely dissapointed and I wouldn't be in a rush to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read your review and I must state that we have worked hard to achieve our four star accreditation where we have had to meet all necessary rules and regulations.

Our check in time is from 4.00pm. We do try our best to provide guests with an early check-in subject to their rooms being ready. We have been extremely busy this summer season and have taken on additional staff. I do apologise if you found things to be disorganised and if a staff member was rude to you, this will definitely be investigated further as it is not the level of standards that we adhere to.

The spa at Jacksons Hotel has recently opened and is operated independently. We are waiting to receive brochures back from the printers and apologise for these not being available to you.
I do hope you return to Jacksons Hotel in the future

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a mistake from arriving to see 2 dogs in the reception ,the room(144) was 70's early 80's decor with a stench to match there was no hot water no reception on the tv and the kettle sat on the floor as the cord didn't reach the socket which came out of the wall when removing plug ,left at 6 am due to the fact that we had a generator outside our window so we never slept .The spa was a major letdown with the jacuzzi at boiling point and paint falling from the poorly maintained ceiling , Overall the worst place we have stayed ever .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am disappointed to read your review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor and that I didn’t get the chance to meet with you to rectify the situation.

Room 144 is one of our standard rooms, if at any stage you were unhappy with your room and had reception been notified they would have been happy to offer an alternative or an upgrade to one of our Deluxe rooms.

It is a pity you left our hotel feeling dissatisfied and that we didn’t get the chance to meet in person.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just back from Jacksons hotel me and my family had a great time the staff was so friendly lovely food and accomadation was really nice. My two kids also had a really nice time in the kids club will definitely be back soon..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that your two kids had a great time in our kids club. Our kids club is extremely popular with families and it is great to hear that your family enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights recently. We had booked a family room and I had contacted hotel a few days before arrival to make sure they had a room to suit 2 adults & 3 kids, however when we arrived our room only had a double & 2 singles with no room for a pull out bed. The reception staff were very helpful and found us another room with 2 doubles and a single. While this wasn't ideal, it was fine for the 2 nights, I got the feeling that the better family rooms had been given to people who had checked in earlier that day - we were a bit late arriving!
Aside form this, hotel had lovely atmosphere, nice lobby and bar, food in Bally bistro was good. Breakfast was a help yourself affair, but very nice - but I did find the 2 burco boilers perched on a table in the restaurant a bit dangerous - we had to get hot water ourselves for tea/coffee.
Swimming pool was good, and all staff very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It is a delight to hear that you experienced our lovely atmosphere, great facilities and helpful staff. I do apologise for any mix up with your room, our family rooms are extremely popular and are allocated upon booking not checkin.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived for a two night stay this month. Room was gorgeous!! No hot water in the morning either of the days. Waited for out dinner for over an hour, was nice, but not worth the wait/the price. Didn't bother waiting for desert. We stayed in the New part of the hotel, like a maze!! One morning we had "do not disturb" sign on the door, house keeping still insisted on coming in until i politly told them we were still in bed. Lovely hotel, just a few down points

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor, I am delighted you enjoyed our gorgeous room.

I do apologise for any issues that you experienced during your stay and if you could provide me with further details so I can investigate this stay@jacksons-hotel.ie

I am pleased you found our establishment to be lovely and we really hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Glenfin Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling village of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.