We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Rose Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Rose Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Villa Rose for a few days on a deal for over-50s. This is the first time we had done such and it was clearly very popular with those in their 60s/70s, with free dances etc being very popular. However for us it was more of a good base to stay whilst exploring surrounding areas. Handy for Letterkenny and especially Derry for shopping and visiting the sights etc. I couldn't recommend a tour of Derry's Walls highly enough - it was fantastic, and only £4 a head including a free cup of tea!. Back to the hotel however, it was clean and bright but its forte undoubtedly is its staff. They were brilliant in every area - reception, restaurants, accommodation and the bars. Other hotels could learn from here on how to provide an excellent customer experience - that's why I give it the full 5*s.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    104
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
74
239
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a fantastic 3 night break in The Villa Rose last week. The room (second allocation) was an upgrade and completely beyond our expectations. The staff were extremely pleasant and courteous throughout our stay. The food was of a very high standard with large portions and lots of courses at every meal. You're in for a real treat if you decide to stay at the V R.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just after Easter my wife and I decided to treat ourselves to a midweek break in The Villa Rose Hotel in Ballybofey as we are regular visitors to Donegal. We booked an over night stay which included use of the spa and a "spa treatment". Our check in was a pleasant experience and although we were early our room was ready. The room was beautiful and very clean and spacious and decorated to a high standard. The spa was very relaxing and the treatments were first class and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Duly refreshed we went to Fara's restaurant in the hotel and although they were very busy and we had no reservation they catered for us. The food was delicious and my wife's dietary requirements were catered for without fuss and the cost was very reasonable. Later as we relaxed in the bar the entertainment was really good. After a good night's sleep we had a delicious buffet breakfast with all tastes catered for. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a short or long break. They have a good selection of great breaks at really good prices. We will definitely be back so keep up the good work.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

It's not often I leave a review as I stay in so many hotels that it would take a while. However, we were so delighted with the stay we had at the Villa Rose that i simply had to comment.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we checked out, we were welcomed by a great team of staff who simply couldn't do enough for us.
The room we stayed in was absolutely immaculate, very comfortable bed and great night sleep! We had dinner in the hotel the night we arrived, again the service from staff was friendly and attentive without being overbearing - so well done, you guys have got that just right!
The food was really great and definitely fantastic quality, everything was cooked fresh and tasted wonderful!
Breakfast the next morning was fantastic! Now, this is a bit of a statement coming up but the breakfast we had was definitely the BEST hotel breakfast we have ever had! We helped ourselves to cereals, fresh fruit salad, pastries, juices and the waiter brought us over tea/coffee - and that was just for starters! We then helped ourselves to the hot breakfast buffet, sausage, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, beans, black/white pudding.....it was delicious!!! Finished off with a round of toast! Really wonderful breakfast!
I was then booked in for a maternity spa package - honestly, what an experience! I actually felt relaxed, rejuvenated and pretty much like a new woman by the time I left the spa. The girl who take care of me in the spa (sorry I never caught her name!) was so pleasant and professional and really made me feel like a million dollars. While I was being pampered my husband made use of the Thermal Spa and really enjoyed it too.
Unfortunately our stay just wasn't long enough - We were only there for 1 night, but it was absolutely fantastic and I would highly recommend the hotel as it truly is a well run, spotlessly clean hotel with staff the owners should be proud off. Our next visit can't come quick enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here last week with family 3 rooms all first class. Restaurant meals and breakfasts were excellent. The girls used the Spa and said the experience was great. The bar prices are fair. Most of all staff are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my mother as part of an active retirement group (1428 club, Mullingar). When we arrived we were given tea/coffee and scones. Reception staff really helpful when I needed the bathroom door handle repaired. It was repaired immediately. Bedrooms were really comfortable and the complimentary water was an added bonus. The dining staff were really friendly and saw that our every need was catered for. The meals were really mouth watering. There was a lovely walk in the nearby woods (which was needed after those meals!!!). There was lovely music at night in the lounge.I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is family run and there is an added friendliness in that. I will be back to this hotel again with some friends and we will tour the lovely countryside of Donegal.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor overlooking the football training grounds and it was really quiet s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have stayed here on two seperate occasions on business in April 2014.
New section of hotel rooms are v. comfortable, roomy, with all the facilities you would need, clean & warm. The downside: if you get put room 134 when theres a wedding on, you will Not be able to think let alone sleep. So the receptionist moved me to my new room at 11pm. Room 153 is just like 134, but with a twist,, no wedding noise but by God, the kitchen extract fans make a great substitute. ( They kicked in around 11.30. I waited half an hour or so thinking they might stop, but I had to call front desk to complain. The night porter turned them off ( no apology though)
No cooked breakfast available before 8 am except continental. This is a simply a penny pinching exercise here.
The second occasion I stayed in the old side, it wasnt as roomy as the new side but it is quiter. Still no hot breakfast again. How is this 4 star guest.treatment ?
I must say the front desk staff were friendly & very helpful. They were 4 star ! Might go back if I was stuck or didnt have to be at work at 8am. Business travellers/Workers beware !

Room Tip: Avioid rooms 134 & 154. Dont bother with breakfast option. You can have a cup of tea & cross...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaRoseHotel, Owner at Villa Rose Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

While I thank you for your constructive feedback, I must say I find it hard to reconcile the fact that you would post such a review and less than 48 hours later ring to book in again last night for a two night stay. Since there was availability in the other hotel's in Ballybofey last night It leads me to believe that your stay could not have been as bad as you have reported since you still chose to stay here at the Villa Rose. We were all but fully booked last night and we offered your our last room. At the Villa Rose we always put the customer first and had you made any of your issues known to myself or my staff at the time I could have gladly arranged a cooked breakfast earlier than our scheduled breakfast times. Our corporate guests are very important to us and we treat them as such.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our bedrooms and reception staff, they are indeed four star in our eyes also and they are valued members of our team. While I accept there is some merit in your feedback I find much of it to be harsh and inaccurate. Our hot breakfast does not commence until 8am each morning, however on request we accommodate our business guests with an earlier breakfast wherever possible. I would also like to state that it is our prerogative to serve breakfast at whatever time we deem fit, this has no bearing whatsoever on the 4 star grading of the hotel. You did not mention in your review that we served you an early continental breakfast on each of your stays and might I add that includes the breakfast we served to you at 6.35am this morning.

Thankfully it has been a very busy April and on each of the occasions you booked we had limited availability remaining as your reservation was booked for arrival on the same day and as such the noisier rooms were all that we had left to offer you.

The one aspect of this situation that I cannot understand is how you never mentioned these issues to our team of staff & management during your stay. If you had mentioned the cooked breakfast to the manager on duty then it could have been arranged for you at the time. When you raised your issue with the night porter in regard to the fan it was dealt with immediately. Yes you are right, his phone manner could have been better and I will speak to him in regard to this but he did turn it off once you made him aware and this is the point I would like to get across. If you had brought your issues concerning breakfast to our attention at the time - face to face then we could have resolved them at the time rather than posting a less than accurate tripadvisor review. If you would like to discuss this further in person then please contact me directly during your next stay.

Regards
Thomas Gallen
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rose Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rose is a 4 star, family owned, boutique style spa hotel. Located in the vibrant town of Ballybofey, Co Donegal, there is always a friendly welcome to accompany our contemporary bedrooms, award-winning restaurant & spa and our atmospheric bar with live music every weekend. We can arrange spa breaks, activity breaks, active retirement breaks and more. With fee parking, complimentary bottled water and free internet we hope you will come and enjoy a memorable break with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose
Villa Rose Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.