We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous hotel :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rose Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Rose Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Rose Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous hotel :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had our wedding reception in this lovely hotel on 17th May and it was amazing. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived at the hotel until we left. The function room was stunning, the food was delicious, the service was unbelievable and quick, the staff were so friendly and attentive and all our guests were so impressed. The rooms are modern and lovely and omg the suite is fab...Thank you so much to Rhonda, Tommy and the all staff for making our day one to remember, was fantastic, we will see yous soon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    115
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
84
271
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here over the May Bank holiday with my wife and we had a fantastic break. Arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were made most welcome when we checked in by the friendly and efficient reception staff. Our room was on the second floor and was a 'corner' room with different views from both windows. Room was clean and spotless as was the en-suite, free wifi with an excellent strength and complementary bottles of Ballygowan water were an unexpected bonus and most welcome. Went off to explore the town for a while including visiting McElhinneys impressive store and arrived back a little peckish and ready to eat. There was a rather large wedding party starting to gather and we decided to wander over to 'Fara's Restaurant ' which is the main restaurant for guests.
We were met and seated quickly and orders taken for drinks and starters, I had the chilli beef nachos and my wife had the chowder. Both arrived fairly promptly and the plates had also been heated, the chowder was perfect as were the nachos. The restaurant was fairly well full and the service seemed to be in full flow with all sorts of appetizing and wonderfully aromatic dishes emerging from the kitchen. I had the fillet steak and trimmings for the main and my wife had the chicken steak combo all of which were cooked to perfection and exactly as ordered. My goodness it was so good and really filling we really were struggling to find space for a sweet. However I decided to push for it and ordered a choc mint cheesecake, maybe not the best choice as it was set for too long and had a heavy pasty texture to it. We went off for a few drinks in the town after that and arrived back late, a two piece group were playing in the bar which was busy, but as they were'nt great we sat in the foyer and eventually retired for the night, Breakfast in the morning was a busy affair and again served in Fara's , superb and enjoyable service again. Overall impression was that this family run business is well run and judging by the number of guests and talking to them, ticking all the right boxes for people. By the way the large wedding that was on, we had a perfect nights sleep with no hassle.
Thank you All at the Villa Rose, we really enjoyed our stay, appreciated the effort made by the staff and hope that we can get back again some time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just got back from my stay in the hotel for 3 nights as I had a family wedding and have to say that it is a great hotel. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and also the rooms are very clean and are cleaned every day. The breakfast is very good too and also the dinner as it is well priced and the food is fresh and delicious! I have nothing bad to say about this hotel but everything for me was very positive!

Room Tip: My room was on the 1st floor and it was very quiet. There is also free wifi so you can ask at recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here with my partner for a weekend and it was fantastic. The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff were more than helpful and so nice. We had breakfast and dinner both days in the hotel restaurant because the food was so good! There was a wedding on both the Friday and Saturday and even though our room was close to a door and I'm a very light sleeper, I didn't hear a thing from the wedding guests! Would recommend to anyone for a nice break away.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is a four star hotel with a five star welcome. Friendliest staff ever and helpful and attentive. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast superb. Even though it is a buffet service plenty of helpful staff offering frequent top-ups of tea and coffe and toast.
Drinks over priced as you would expect but you don't mind when you are getting such a marvellous service.

Room Tip: We got 135. End of corridor with one double bed and two singles but loads of space. Views from two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with my cousin and 9 month old baby through the supervalue breaks..... from check in to check out the staff couldn't have done more for us. Unfortunately my little one became ill and we had to change dinner reservations to room service etc and the staff were so good to us. Having the background in hotel business myself i am in aw as to how quick the staff are at responding to requests, attention to detail, and accommodating to our needs from directions to doc appointments!!! The food is out of this world from presentation to taste... something i miss being back home :) Keep up the good work everyone and hope to see visit again sooner rather then later and hopefully see some of Donegal ha ha

Room Tip: request one off the street side if possible it is a busy street with traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey, Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had our wedding reception in the villa rose on the 20th April, and what a day we had, the hotel was top class, rhonda, Tommy and staff where fantistic on the day they could not do enough for us and our guests. and on the build up to the wedding, no matter what request we had, Rhonda was only to happy to help us,would advise anyone that is planning their wedding, to go and visit the villa rose, they offer great packages and services. even for a weekend away the hotel would be a great place to stay, the rooms are lovely, the food is great and the staff are so friendly, and as for the spa well that just speaks for itself..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rose Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rose is a 4 star, family owned, boutique style spa hotel. Located in the vibrant town of Ballybofey, Co Donegal, there is always a friendly welcome to accompany our contemporary bedrooms, award-winning restaurant & spa and our atmospheric bar with live music every weekend. We can arrange spa breaks, activity breaks, active retirement breaks and more. With fee parking, complimentary bottled water and free internet we hope you will come and enjoy a memorable break with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose
Villa Rose Hotel Ballybofey, Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rose Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.