We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cosy bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BallyBuffet Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
BallyBuffet Bistro
Jacksons Hotel, Ballybofey, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 8 Restaurants in Ballybofey
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had both lunch and dinner here, the service was great and the food very tasty. I had fillet steak with mash and it was gorgoues.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Amazing evening meal in the Bistro at Jacksons. Food is really out of this world, they have talented chefs.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Give it a miss!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

They have changed what was a great menu to one that is pretty hopeless! There are very limited choices and not very good ones at that. Very very disappointed with this. We observed people going in then leaving after seeing the menu. Others also seemed to save face like us have a starter and leave for another restaurant. On going into other restaurants down the street we saw many Jacksons guests eating elsewhere, and any one you spoke to said they ruined it with the rubbish new menu

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

staff working were very pleasant, but not enough staff working. My meal was not cooked, my mothers meal was a 'congealed mess'.
Desserts were good.
I noticed meals from 2 other tables also being returned.
Waitress dealt with my complaint very efficiently.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food went from great to crap in 1 year.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This restaurant used to be delicious.
The last few times we went we had a lovely meal.
(Have been a number of times, all over a year ago)

But they must have different kitchen staff now,
because this time it was awful.

We ordered the same starter we normally get.
It looked & tasted like a heated up frozen meal.

Then the actual dinner was awful.
Ate very little of it, which is unheard of for me,
and my wife thought hers wasn't nice either.

The staff were nice & gave us some money off because we didn't enjoy the meal.

Won't be going back unless I hear about some changes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BallyBuffet Bistro also viewed

Ballybofey, County Donegal
 
Ballybofey, County Donegal
 

Been to BallyBuffet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BallyBuffet Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.