We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect Irish country house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmahon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanagarry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmahon House
Save
You added Kilmahon House to your Saves list
Kilmahon, Shanagarry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A perfect Irish country house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went to Kilmahon as a group of friends and we took the whole house for a weekend. From start to finish it was a huge success. The house itself is very well located within walking distance of the village and Ballymaloe cookery school.It is a testament to style and restraint. The hosts are absolutely lovely people and make your stay feel like a home from home. Mary's baking is superb and combined with Jeremy's mastery of eggs both afternoon tea and breakfast were truly outstanding. We also had a 3 hour cookery class organised in the kitchen of the house which was very informative but also relaxed and terrific fun.A morning cliff walk at Ballycotton was beautiful and helped work off the calories! Kilmahon is a beautiful place, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: One of the rooms at the front of the house has a large bathroom with a freestanding bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
38
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous 3 day stay at Kilmahon House. It is much, much more than a simple B&B. It is a beautiful elegant country house with an Irish welcome so warm, that you are immediately made to feel at ease. Mary and Jeremy are the most perfect naturally genial hosts we've ever met; they are justifiably proud of their stunning home that they have lovingly restored. They go way beyond just being helpful. They organised taxis from and to Cork airport; gave us lifts to and from local restaurants. They offered helpful advice where to walk locally, even driving my husband to the start of the walk. We arrived after a very late flight and we had a huge plate of delicious sandwiches, cakes and a pot of tea served in the drawing room, where a lovely welcoming log fire was lit. A tray of port then followed! The house looked particularly stunning as it was superbly decorated for Christmas. The bedroom was beautifully restored, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated, which even included a vase of fresh flowers.
Breakfasts are a veritable feast; you wander down to the wonderful aroma of baking (e.g cinnamon rolls and banana bread). There is an amazing choice of food which included fresh fruits, smoothies, muesli, compotes, freshly squeezed juice, full cooked breakfast or scrambled eggs with local smoked salmon. You won't need anything else until the evening! It was simply the best breakfast I have ever been served, anywhere.
I cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. It is terrific value for money and we intend returning next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here in October 2013, not a very busy time for visitors in the area, so we actually had the house to ourselves. Mary and Jeremy were amazing hosts, we felt like we were staying with family. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast was the best I've had in any hotel, inn or B&B, with Mary's baking especially impressive. In addition, they were so helpful with explaining local highlights, places to eat, what to do in Cork, etc. We were deciding between Ballymaloe House and Kilmahon House and I'm so glad we went with this hotel. I would definitely return and if you're thinking of staying in the area, this should be your first and last choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Kilmahon House is a truly superb place to stay if you are visiting East Cork. Or any part of the south east for that matter. We were attending a wedding nearby and booked on the recommendation of a friend. Booking via email was simple, just sent a message and Jeremy replied in no time. Mary was there to greet us as we arrived, such a warm welcome, we felt at home instantly. Jeremy showed us around and to our room. The house and bedroom was beautiful, immaculately restored and spotlessly clean. We were treated to afternoon tea in the drawing room. Such a relaxing room, we feasted on scones, madeira cake, coffee and looked through the photo album of the restoration work that's gone into making Kilmahon House such a wonderful place. Hearing Mary and Jeremy talking so passionately about the effort that went into the project gives you an idea of the affection they hold for the place and it shows both in the finished product and in the way they treat their guests. Mary then drove us to the wedding, such a lovely thing to do. After returning, we had a great night's sleep. The house was lovely and warm, not a sound from outside and the bed was so comfortable. A top class power shower in the morning set us up for breakfast, in the beautiful dining room. So much to choose from, we had melon, fruit, yoghurt, rhubarb, orange juice and a fresh blackberry smoothie. And that was just to start!! We had a choice of hot food, which Mary cooked to order and finished with some freshly baked scones, banana bread and a chocolate muffin with loads of fresh coffee. Just wow! Set up for the day, we packed up and after a good chat with our hosts (and Tess the dog!) went on our way. It's a pity we were only there for a short stay but we'll be back for sure. Kilmahon House itself is a treasure but it's the hosts that complete it. We got handshakes when we arrived, we hugged each other when we left the next day. Superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Mary and Jeremy are awesome hosts. Stayed here back in November 2011, sorry for the lateness, with three girlfriends while we explored southern Ireland. The rooms and beds were so comfy, with beautiful bathrooms, the views on to the grounds peaceful. Its located near the famous Ballymaloe Cookery School and Ballymaloe House which has delicious salads and sandwiches, so it makes a great overnight if you are going there. We went out for dinner one night and upon our return our hosts has setup tea and cookies in the salon for us to end the night. Awoke to a bountiful breakfast and tour of the house. One of us had the pleasure of returning several more times. It is definately a great place to stay and soak up the ambiance of the area... highly reccommend!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just come back from a 2nd visit to Kilmahon House, having stayed there in January of this year. We were so impressed back then, we promised ourselves a return visit as soon as possible. The incredibly high standards were as much in evidence this time as in January, we are delighted to report.
I feel it is misleading to describe Kilmahon House as a B&B, it is SO much more than that. It is a truly unique experience of being made to feel so much at home, with luxurious surroundings and the most wonderful home baking imaginable. The hosts, Mary and Jeremy are extremely welcoming, friendly and more than willing to do whatever they can to make your stay relaxing and memorable. For example, we were en route from Wexford to Dublin this time (a SLIGHT de-tour, but so worthwhile!!!), on our way home from a wine trip to France. Mary and Jeremy helped us unload our cargo of wine, and stored it for us, so our car was not laden down whilst we were driving in the vicinity during our stay. They also re-wrapped some French cheeses which we had purchased and kept it in their fridge until we were leaving. On our arrival, we had the usual welcoming afternoon tea in the drawing room. What a treat this is! Mary's home baked buns, cakes and other treats were so much appreciated, along with wonderful tea and coffee. Mary had booked local restaurants for our evening meals, and drove us there and collected us when we were ready to leave. On returning to Kilmahon, we had port in the drawing room, as we relaxed before retiring for the night. The bedrooms in Kilmahon are out of this world, they have been lovingly restored and furnished with appropriate furniture and fittings. The rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious. In the morning, you are served the most sumptuous breakfast imaginable. A wonderful, colourful array of fresh fruit and juices, cereals, yoghurts, along with more of Mary's delicious baking (soda bread, brown bread, banana bread, Danish pastries, strawberry muffins, oatcakes, cinnamon swirls, jam cakes) await. Also, you will be served a freshly made Smoothie, which is really delicious. THEN, you have a choice to make for your cooked breakfast option, full Irish or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. So, be warned, be hungry!!! (Also, your choice of morning newspaper will be waiting for you)
To summarise, Kilmahon House is a truly memorable, unique experience of Irish hospitality at the very top end of the scale, yet not with top end rates. There are many great hotels in Ireland, but a hotel experience just does not compare to this, for the personal touch and the enthusiastic warmth of the welcome from Mary and Jeremy. It really is a home from home, and nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. My partner and I have been to many hotels and B&Bs for mini-breaks both in Ireland and abroad, and I can truthfully say, this is the most memorable, enjoyable place we have ever stayed. We have stayed in some high-end hotels, and been disappointed in the impersonal approach in a lot of these, and yet the rates were quite high. I now intend to treat ourselves at least twice a year, Spring time and Autumn time, to a mini-break in Kilmahon House. I would recommend this experience to anyone, and I would urge anyone in need of de-stressing, to make Kilmahon House a priority choice, in order to unwind and relax in the most beautiful, sumptuous surroundings. I guarantee you will feel the same as we do!!!
Well done Mary and Jeremy, and continued success to you both.

Room Tip: The master bedroom is the most impressive of the bedrooms, with a huge en-suite bathroom. The bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Spent the first 4 nights of a 2 week stay in Ireland here. Frankly, we could have spent the entire 2 weeks at Kilmahon House! The location is off the beaten path nestled within lovely gardens and beautiful grounds. We were greeted by Mary, Jeremy, and Tess (their dog) as soon as we drove in. The house is beautifully restored and the rooms are spacious, clean, and decorated with gorgeous furnishings. French press coffee was left outside our door every morning at the requested time. Breakfast was a feast that started with cereals, fresh fruit, smoothies, yogurts, fresh baked breads and pastries. And that's before Mary offered to cook whatever hot food we wanted! Upon learning that we had some family members who live nearby, Mary extended an invitation to afternoon tea for us all. When we returned with our guests there was a lovely tea set up in the upstairs parlor featuring more fresh baked goods. In the evenings, the parlor was also available for relaxing with port or whiskey in front of the fireplace. Mary and Jeremy really go above and beyond to accommodate each guest and make their stay memorable. Of all the hotels and B&B's we stayed in, including the $helbourne in Dublin, Kilmahon House was our absolute favorite!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilmahon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmahon House

Address: Kilmahon, Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Georgian house offering elegant and luxurious guest accommodation. Just 30 minutes from Cork City and airport the house is situated in Shanagarry, and just a few minutes walk to the Ballymaloe Cookery School and the blue flag beaches along Ballycotton Bay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmahon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.