We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Ballycotton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilmahon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shanagarry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kilmahon House
Kilmahon, Shanagarry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend in Ballycotton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

With my wife, we just paid our annual visit to Ballycotton in East Cork, visiting old friends and revisiting our old haunts. This time we stayed for two nights at Kilmahon House in nearby Shanagarry. It is a really great place. Described as a B&B but really it is grand a country house, fully restored to 5 star standards. We found it to be the most comfortable place, quite luxurious and tranquil, with beautiful gardens and outstanding hospitality.

I recommend it highly and thank Mary for the welcome that she gave us

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you like the country, old homes, elegant food, and the royal treatment then The Kilmahon House is perfect! We arrived to a real treat of scones and tea by the fire after a long day of traveling! Our rooms were pristine, and we were treated to coffee in bed when we woke. Breakfast was a full Irish Breakfast , leaving nothing to be desired. After a beautiful walk around the grounds we headed out, wishing we had planned one more day at The Kilmahon House!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Highly deserving of all the excellent reviews already received, Kilmahon House is the perfect choice. Large, tastefully decorated rooms; comfortable beds (top hotel standard); top quality breakfast (huge choice of fruits, cooked breakfast, homemade breads and pastries and the sunday papers!). Just sorry we only had one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Kilmahon House for a weekend. We loved our stay. Mary and Jeremy are wonderful hosts who make you feel genuinely welcome. We were welcomed on a cold Friday evening with a roaring fire and homemade scones, cakes and tea. We instantly felt relaxed and comfortable at Kilmahon House. Afternoon tea and breakfast are a delightful treat. We enjoyed a long walk along the beach located a two minute drive away. We booked dinner in Ballycotton a short drive away and were so impressed on the first night we booked the same restaurant on the Saturday night. Mary and Jeremy ferried us to and from Ballycotton so we could have a few drinks. Our room was luxurious as was the bathroom which had a beautiful stand alone bath and a power shower. We would have no hesitation in recommending Kilmahon House. You will not be disappointed just be prepared to relax and enjoy yourself. We will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and my partner spent a wonderful 24 hours at this guesthouse. We arrived to a warm welcome, tea and freshly made shortbread and a comfy drawing room.
We were made to feel very welcome, given information about the local area and what was happening and also asked where we would like to head to for dinner.
The house is beautiful. Only recently finished an extensive refurbishment, it is homely, comfortable and manor-like in its design. All of the finer details seemed to be thought of and the fire was always lit when we were in the house.

The guesthouse is convenient to Ballymaloe Cookery School, Castlemartyr Resort, the Jameson Distillery in Midleton, eating and drinking in Ballycotton and surfing nearby.

Mary and Jeremy are great hosts and know how to look after their guests. We were dropped off to dinner and picked up from the pub. Breakfast was made for whatever time suited us and it was magnificent. Freshly baked breads, scones, fruit cakes, smoothies, juices, fresh fruit and yogurts. This was all before the cooked breakfast was even ordered. A wonderful spread-but not one for the waistline! A real treat.

We are already looking forward to going back and will likely bring family and friends next time.

A real find and as good an endorsement of why we should choose family-owned and operated guesthouses and B & B's over hotels.

Ten out of ten.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in this gorgeous house, with the most charming of hosts, Mary and Jeremy. They provide an extremely high standard of accommodation, and wonderful breakfasts and afternoon teas, with delicious home baking. There is a very relaxed, welcoming feel to this house, and we thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent there. We intend to treat ourselves to another stay here, at the earliest opportunity. Also, the Molten Brown toiletries provided were very much appreciated! I would highly recommend Kilmahon House, for anyone who needs a tranquil, stress-free break. The perfect getaway after a hectic week working in the City!

Room Tip: Every room in this house is gorgeous, and furnished appropriately. The master bedroom is especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Mary and Jeremy are perfect hosts and we could not have been made more comfortable and welcome. Mary even dropped us to restaurants and collected us when we were ready to return home. Fantastic food and great chat. I'm already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilmahon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmahon House

Address: Kilmahon, Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored Georgian house offering elegant and luxurious guest accommodation. Just 30 minutes from Cork City and airport the house is situated in Shanagarry, and just a few minutes walk to the Ballymaloe Cookery School and the blue flag beaches along Ballycotton Bay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilmahon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kilmahon House to your Saves list