We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, superb dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballymaloe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ballymaloe House to your Saves list
Ballymaloe House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shanagarry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, superb dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had an all too brief stay at Ballymaloe House recently. Ballymaloe has had a reputation for many years that has made us want to visit, but somehow it has taken us forever to get there. We got a very warm welcome. We had a very comfortable and large bedroom, in a fine Irish country house style. The real highlight was dinner. We had a fantastic meal. Nothing too elaborate or pretentious going on, just really great (local) ingredients that were cooked with lots and lots of skill and knowledge. It was excellent. After a very peaceful rest overnight our breakfast was also very good ... but it would be hard to match a dinner like that!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments , we were delighted we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay
Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    44
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
49
128
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The West
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay over St Patrick's weekend. It was such a retreat. No tv in the room, which I love. (There was a CD/Radio). We stayed in a room that opened out onto the garden and little stream at the back. It was fabulous. Breakfast was delicious. Dinner was wonderful. I found the staff so warm, welcoming and engaging. It was like being recieved as guests into someone's beautiful home; a different kind of 5 star stay. We were totally refreshed and relaxed and we left smiling.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you ,- we liked the comment on no TV in our rooms , we are told we are required to have TVs in our rooms azelwhich for us is against our policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

For €90 b&b pps I would have expected more from Ballymaloe! Breakfast was poor, as was the service....very unprofessional.....with staff members talking about fellow work colleagues while cleaning up around guests, as if they were on their break! Dinner at €70 per person definitely wasn't worth it.... no wow factor here! Stopped off in the Cliff House Hotel in Ardmore, Co Waterford on the way back to Dublin from Ballymaloe and got the real taste of how professional restaurant staff deal with the public!!! Won't be hurrying back to Ballymaloe House in the near future and certainly won't be recommending it to others after this experience!!!!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we liked your comment on having no TV -

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2,513 helpful votes 2,513 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed recently at Ballymaloe and had a really enjoyable break. We 'lived' there for about six months in 1979, but haven't stayed there again since the early1990s. We wondered whether things would still be the same - or would they be better or worse.

We were not disappointed. The things that really matter were essentially the same as they always were - a warm welcome, a warm and cosy ambiance with excellent food and excellent service. A few things had changed - like the disappearance of the help-yourself honesty bar [which commenced when Mr Allen (Ivan) wanted an early night] and the appearance of a reception desk.

It was great to meet Hazel, Joe, Rory, Jim and Ann again - all looking so young and so well; it brought back so many happy memories. It was also lovely to visit our old haunts including Ballycotton and Cobh - East Cork is such a lovely 'un-touristy' place to visit.

We've promised ourselves that we won't leave it so long before we return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms - beautiful room on the ground floor, but our sleep was cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks - we were delighted to see you again , we hope you won't leave it so long before your next visit as we are all getting older - Joe keeps telling us is going to retire .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Perfect, cosy stay in the Winter. We had eaten here on my occasions but this was our first stay.
Attention to detail is excellent. Our room was in the main house. Really lovely but sound proofing is minimum between adjoining rooms. If you don't want to hear your neighbours book an outside room.
Dinner was terrific served by an International Staff with all the same excellent, friendly service.
Drinks in the drawing room were accompanied by a couple of traditional musicians - great fun!
Breakfast was healthy and then a Cliff Walk around Ballycotten completed a lovely break.
Go raibh mile maith agat!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks and so sorry for delay in responding .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We just went down for a one night stay and had a lovely walk around when we got down there, the shop is fabulous for gifts then we had dinner in the restaurant. The starters were just amazing, laid out buffet style and the staff member in the room was extremely helpful. The main courses were a little disappointing, I wasn't asked for a choice on how my lamb was cooked so I guessed it would be medium but it was over cooked and my partners sauce with his beef was very watery. The cheese selection was also a little poor and the deserts came out on a trolley which I would have expected a much higher standard. The wine is amazing value and the staff more than made up for the disappointing dinner, they were very very friendly and professional, we had a lovely drink by the fire in the Drawing Room afterwards. Would definitely go back and recommend.

Room Tip: We were in one of the cottages, it was stunning and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Ballymaloe , we hope next time you can stay a little longer and settle into the cottage , we can lend you our bicycles to explore the area.

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed and dined at Ballymaloe on December 30 for our wedding anniversary. It was our second time eating here but our first time staying and we absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Courtyard in the Fuchsia Room and it was wonderful. Really cosy and comfortable and loved the fact that there was no TV.

When you book to stay here you are automatically booked in for dinner and you can arrive any time you wish up to 9.30pm which is nice. Having eaten here before we were really looking forward to our dinner and once again we were not disappointed. Even though it was between Christmas and the New Year and the weather was bad, the menu of fresh and seasonal food was exceptional.

Every course that we had was absolutely beautiful and as usual the dessert trolley was a major hit, and all this was washed down beautifully by some lovely wine. We proceeded to the drawing room for a few drinks and the service, as during the meal was top class.

The next morning we enjoyed one of the nicest breakfasts we ever had and again the staff were outstanding.

Bottom line is that if you are looking for somewhere to go for a special treat or special occasion then this is the place for you. The staff are great, the atmosphere is hugely welcoming and the food is magnificent. It's not cheap but it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you . We are delighted you enjoyed your visit

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballymaloe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House

Address: Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Ballymaloe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballymaloe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.