We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the hype ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ballymaloe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ballymaloe House to your Saves list
Ballymaloe House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shanagarry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our second visit to Ballymaloe as part of a group booking for 60 people. We arrived a little early and we're told that they weren't ready for us which was fine, we could have a drink at the bar. Food was the set lunch menu for €28 per head. Food was good but lukewarm, surprising as we were the first table to be served. Staff very pleasant. Desert trolley was great. Wine was excellent. Beautiful surroundings but was the food better than I cook at home? Sadly no. Surroundings are beautiful but it's not an out of this world dining experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your feed back , we are sorry you were disappointed

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    44
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
49
128
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent a night in Ballymaloe this year for a special occasion.
It was absolutely wonderful from the minute we arrived to our reluctant departure.
Our suite was superb, the food even more so, and the working garden a delight.
Mrs Hazel Allen made us feel very welcome, and personally visited every table with anecdotes about that day's menu choice.
Breakfast was a revelation, the sausages were homemade, and the waitress was eccentric and great fun.
Will definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments , we are delighted you enjoyed you visit
Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had an all too short stay in this beautiful place. Our room was one of the courtyard rooms which was warm, comfortable and inviting. Dinner was lovely. Nothing extravagant, just good seasonal food cooked well. There was such a wonderful choice of starters that it was difficult to save room for the main course! Dinner service staff were friendly, chatty and did a good job on a busy night in the restaurant. Staff at breakfast were somewhat distracted and twice brought us another table's order and then had to retake our order. When breakfast finally arrived it was delicious. Ballymaloe House is a tranquil place and we felt completely comfortable. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you , so sorry , breakfast was a little muddled . We look forward to seeing you again .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in Ballymaloe House and enjoyed every minute. Our room was outside the main building but was charming and comfortable.
We had a goose sandwich with relish and side salad for lunch - delicious! and then explored some of the extensive grounds. The bar and lounge areas are very comfortable and the staff extremely friendly. We had dinner in a lovely, airy room that evening and really enjoyed it, the food was delicious. The only issue we had was that by the time we'd finished dinner the bar closed a little early for our liking, given that we'd eaten quite late.
Breakfast was great and there was a good choice.
This lovely country house is expensive so I'm not sure when we'll be able to afford to go back but it was a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Many thanks for your kind remarks , so sorry our bar shut a little too early,

Hazel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have known of this hotel for many years, so when n a recent trip to Ireland, was delighted at last to be able to go and stay. Slight faff with the Reservation, otherwise this hotel justifiable lives up to it great and historic reputation. Large and very comfortable bedrooms (no TVs, unless it was hidden…bliss) and great Bathrooms. Wonderfully comfortable public rooms with a memorable collection of art and more so the paintings. Many of the key staff seems to be family members so this ensures an informal, interested and efficiently run hotel. Competently cooked dinner and, and a truly memorable breakfast….(proper scrambled eggs !)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Truly one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. Charming and comfortable room, beautifully appointed. Gorgeous grounds and some of the best food I have had the pleasure to sample. Amazing staff and gracious hosts. A real gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent our first night in Ireland at Ballymaloe after spending 5 days in the UK...and it was the perfect, out-of-the-way place to spend a little down time before continuing onto Cork. We stayed in the 'Lily of the Valley' room, which was conveniently located in the main house. The room was quite comfortable, spacious, and had an outdoor patio (which would have been a perfect place to have a glass of wine had it not been so chilly).

We opted for the 70 euro 5-course meal and were not disappointed, although it was a bit on the pricey side. Breakfast had multiple options to select from their menu, along with a buffet of fruits and some really amazing breads.

I'd say that if you want to treat yourself to great service, a great meal, and a quiet getaway, I'd highly recommend Ballymaloe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballymaloe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House

Address: Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Ballymaloe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballymaloe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.