We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still wonderful after all this time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballymaloe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ballymaloe House to your Saves list
Ballymaloe House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shanagarry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“still wonderful after all this time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed at Ballymaloe House five times in the last 20 years and it is still wonderful after all this time. Quite a lot has been added - like the Cafe at the back of the shop and the Grainstore where musical events are held. The rooms are so cosy and Ballymaloe House is the perfect place to relax and unwind. There are wonderful walks, a swimming pool if the weathers is as beautiful as it was for our stay, croquet, and a visit to Ballymaloe Cookery School and it's gardens is a must.
The staff are attentive and as accomadating as ever and the spirit of the place that drew me to it all those years ago lives on. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    44
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
49
128
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Ballymaloe is one of the country's best country house hotels. Deservedly famous for its food, our dinner was absolutely superb and well worth the expense! Our courtyard room was lovely, despite appearing a little old fashioned with the floral wallpaper, but quality was top-notch. It had a nice little glass porch for leaving wet shoes.
The highlight was after-dinner drinks in the beautiful drawing room, listening to a trio of unaccompanied classical singers. With only around 40 guests, the entertainment might have been a bit overpowering in the relatively small space, but didn't at all. It felt wonderfully homely, helped out by the very friendly staff. Worth travelling a long way to stay here in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is a very welcoming, comfortable hotel,catering well for abroad range in age of guests.The outdoor pool was a nice discovery when the temperature has in the high 20's. however it's food offering could do with some modernisation. The dinner menu at euro 70 offer beautiful food but the dessert trolley is dated in its offerings and presentation. Breakfast also could do with some modernisation - fresh fruit and maybe a continental breakfast selection. Stewed prunes with chopped bananas do not constitute a sufficient fruit offering. These things aside,the accommodation is very comfortable,well maintained and staff most helpful.all in all a very nice break from the real world.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments - we will consider your suggestions on breakfast

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After driving around Ireland with a group of friends we stayed on after they went home and treated ourselves to a few nights at Ballymaloe House. It was wonderful.
The rooms in the Courtyard are beautifully furnished and very restful. The beds are great too.
As you can imagine we had food to die for. It was an experience I will never forget and all thanks to the Allen family.
Breakfast is sensational, everything you could ever imagine and more. Dinner was out of this world and the lobster was perfect. I can't wait to return.
A visit to the shop is a must. I was so taken with what we ate I had to buy Daria Allen's Cookery Course and I use it at least 2-3 times a week every week.

Room Tip: We stayed in the very pretty courtyard and were able to keep the car close at hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullagh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a beautiful house and a very worthwhile visit. The food was exquisite and the gardens were astonishing. Definitely worth an 8 hour drive from dublin! :) When I was there, I heard screams from the kitchen and I asked a waitress what happened and they has toasted a mouse in the toaster by accident! Other than that, it was a most enjoyable stay and I will be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to have my wedding at Ballymaloe. It has always been a special place for my family and when I found out that we could host our reception there, I was thrilled. It is no wonder that the Allen family have people returning year after year. The service, rooms, grounds and food are outstanding. Having attended a few weddings since and now understanding the pressure that comes with preparation, I realise how lucky I was to have such a fabulous team looking after me. In the months leading up to our big day Roisin, Caroline and Hazel were extremely supportive and I never doubted that they would deliver.

The food at our wedding breakfast was incredible. We received so many comments from guests about how impressed they were with the quality and variety made available on the day. I knew the chef - Jason from days gone by in Ballycotton, which made it all that more special for me. My husband and I love watching people’s reaction when we ask guests if they liked the soup. The usual response is WOW. We included the recipe for the Pea, Chilli and Coriander Soup in our thank you notes and loads of people have tried it out at home. It is delicious.

We also had a large number of guests attending from England. For many it was their first time in Ireland and the welcome they received from all the staff at Ballymaloe was so warm. Many spent four/five days there and all were delighted with their stay. They especially enjoyed Rory’s music in the lounge each evening after dinner. Only a short drive to Ballycotton, all our guests were really given the full Irish experience. We can’t believe how lucky we were.


Thank you to all at Ballymaloe

Room Tip: Our room was Lily of the Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a weekend anniversary and enjoyed the stay immensely. A lovely rural setting,with attention to make the guests at ease from start to finish. Breakfast is sensational with fresh produce abounding. Dinner on both evenings was of the highest quality and staff were excellent. A walk around the potato field is a great preparation . Worth the money. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballymaloe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House

Address: Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Ballymaloe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballymaloe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.