We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a true country house experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ballymaloe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ballymaloe House to your Saves list
Ballymaloe House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shanagarry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a true country house experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

we had an overnight stay with dinner at the hotel in march 2013. teh setting is wonderful and the welcome is friendly. our room was in an annexe away from the main house but room was spacious and very comfortable. Each room has a BOSE Wave radio which is very impressive!
Dinner was good but some of the portions were surprisingly small especially a beetroot and cheese starter. the mains were good but again small portions but seconds were offered and the wine selection good. i thought dinner at €75 was too expensive.
breakfast was a lively affaire with very attentive staff. It was cooked to order which is always a pleasure.
overall a very pleasant trip and a bonus of having a lovely shop on the grounds!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you , we appreciate the feed back .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    44
    26
    12
    12
See reviews for
49
128
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent one night in Ballymaloe. We had a beautiful & spacious room. Our only reservation would be that we would have liked a TV and we had not realised that we could have requested one.
We found the staff excellent especially in the dining room. They were so attentive, sincere, and offered more food if we wanted it. This was unique and very typical of Irish hospitality. We could not fault the dinner. It was excellent.
We look forward to returning to Ballymaloe, they employ so many people in a quiet part of East Cork and also support local businesses. This is to be applauded.however, next time we will request a TV.

Room Tip: Request a TV if you like us really like to have one in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you , we will be glad to provide a tv , we suggest putting in your request when making a reservation

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in Ballymaloe for the weekend over Easter. The house is very nice, but could do with a bit of maintenance. We had 'The Rose Room' and it was really pretty! The atmosphere was lovely and the staff were all very pleasant. The dinner was excellent, and our waitress was lovely! The breakfast was nice, but some fruit would have been nice as it was really only bread, cereal, full Irish breakfast and fish. The cafe at the end of the shop is nice, but it is really only for very light lunches and sweet things (which were lovely!). I would definitely go back to Ballymaloe House, and it was a very enjoyable weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for the feed back especially on breakfast - we assume you mean fresh fruit not our fruit compotes and fruit salad ,

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just back from a super 2 night break in Ballymaloe. It is everything that one could expect from a country house and working farm - comfortable, well furnished and a little quirky in a nice way. We had a garden level room with plenty of space and a little terrace. Didn't miss the lack of TV in the slightest but you can ask for one if you wish. The staff are a delight and go out of their way to look after their guests very well indeed. The food is the highlight of any stay. Breakfast is top notch with plenty of choice and dinner a relaxed affair served over the course of the evening - no rush, no need to book a particular time, just turn up and enjoy. The food is fresh, local, top quality and full of flavor - the only difficulty is choosing from the many delicious choices on the menu. There are a number of rooms to enjoy a drink or read a paper. The only slight quibble was that a lunch party commandeered a large part of the main lounge for practically the whole afternoon one day (including whilst dining) by putting clothes, kids toys and baby equipment across sofas which we found a little off-putting. However, it was just one of those things I suspect and we retreated to our own comfortable room with its own squishy sofa with a drink instead. Would certainly recommend this lovely hotel and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a lovely little terrace and bird feeder and attracted some lovely little birds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you , so sorry to hear you were pushed out of Drawing Room - we do our best to avoid that situation .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a one night stay at Ballymaloe. Had the most relaxing 24 hours, just wish it had been longer. Lovely old-world surroundings, beautiful food, really friendly staff. Our room was on the ground floor, facing the gardens at the back of the house, complete with bird feeders on our little patio. Will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you , we love the photo taken on the Ballycotton Cliff Walk

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a Courtyard room with our 2 dogs (they sleep in the small conservatory attached to the room) and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a large bathroom with powerful shower and separate bath. We didn't miss not having a TV! The only thing we found was that early morning deliveries disturbed us (the kitchen is just across the courtyard) but we're early risers anyway - something you might want to consider if you're not.
The food is incredible, SO fresh and simply but beautifully prepared, and always plenty of it. If you require "seconds" of anything, it magically appears - you will not go hungry! Breakfasts were delicious and included homemade butter and yoghurt. The whole emphasis is on using the freshest food available and it IS simply prepared mostly, but all the better for it in our opinion. If you want "titivated" Michelin star pretty food, this probably isn't the place for you.
The grounds are lovely, plenty of places to walk. The pool is only solar heated I believe - I did try it but it was pretty chilly!
If you get the chance, one of the evening talks at the cookery school is well worth attending, very interesting and informative.
There was a corporate group staying one evening and they rather took over the drawing room after dinner.
Overall, a great stay and we'd love to visit again when we're in Ireland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you - we love feed back from pet lovers !

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

No TV in the room, just a library of beautiful books scattered around the house. As expected the food was just glorious, home made bread, butter, yogurt. Locally produced eggs and meat Friendly service, including the founder who was doing a bit of tidying late at night. We had dinner and breakfast and could not fault any element of either meal. Who needs a spa when there are hundreds of acres to walk and kitchen gardens to explore? Just Olde Worlde Style and elegance that is missing from so many other places

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballymaloe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House

Address: Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ballymaloe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballymaloe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.