We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully the weather will be good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mizen Head Visitor Centre

Mizen Head Visitor Centre
Mizen Head, Goleen, Ireland
00 353 28 35115
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$458*
and up
Beara Peninsula and Mizen Head Private Tour from...
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Goleen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hopefully the weather will be good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

When we started our trip to Mizen Head the weather was partly cloudy and we enjoyed the fantastic views of the beaches and mountain. By the time we got to the top the weather had deteriorated so much we thought we were driving in the clouds. We enjoyed the museum but will have to return to take a nice hike. We are putting it on our return to list.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kilkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is amazing, its like no other place, on a fine day you can see forever. If you are a visitor and you can only go to one place this is it

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amy1cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We shall be returning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Mizen Head was just fantastic. There are no other word's to describe it other than breathtaking! The Visitor Centre was clean and affordable but we were sad to discover they had no souveniers (e.g fridge magnets) with the simple word's 'Mizen Head' engraved on them.
However, that did not turn us off.
The bridge and views are just gorgeous! It was sunny, but just notice that it can get windy near the bridge but don't worry there is a kind woman on the bridge helping you to get across if you are frightened. The walks were stunning and we definitely shall be returning!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pick a fine day and enjoy a spectacular day out on Mizen Head. The views are amazing over the Atlantic and the exhibition is most interesting

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank agho99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This place should be more famous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The irony of this tourist attraction is it's location. It is what makes it so scenic, yet it is the small roads and distances that make it less visited that it should be.

Firstly the car park is massive. There is enough room to swing a bus.
Because of the low visitor numbers on the day I was there at least it was a pleasure to look around, there was no feeling of being "pushed along" and there was no inhaling you breath to sqeeze past screaming children.

A good attraction overall, the only improvement would be reducing the prices of the gift shop. Maybe they could actually increase the entrance price to fund that. It was only 6 euro to get in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank frontiergentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mizen Head Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Clonakilty, County Cork
Glengarriff, County Cork
 

Been to Mizen Head Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing