We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality and top chef food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron's Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goleen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Heron's Cove
Save
You added The Heron's Cove to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Harbour | Goleen, West Cork, Goleen, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Goleen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing hospitality and top chef food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Sue is wonderful. The staff is great and food is amazing. The cove is lovely as is Goleen and you are near to so much of what the area has to offer. I didn't stay in the rooms, but in a large house up the road, so can't speak to the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    15
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
50
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Heron's cove for 2 nights last weekend, clean and cosy bedroom with a spectacular view, very friendly welcome and the most wonderful food I have ever had from a B & B. The quality of the food was amazing - Fresh and made to order. It's easy to see why this little gem has won an AA rosette and best breakfast award ! The ladies who run The Heron's Cove were very kind and really couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. We were also presented with a goodie bag when leaving with home made chutney, biscuits and sweets all in a lovely material bag. We will cerrtainly be back again ! Local pubs were cosy with a fire blasting in the Fastnet, friendly people and a very friendly cat named Whiskers - A local legend ! Lovely atmosphere and superb value for money!

Room Tip: Room 4, lovely view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have spent two glorious nights in beautiful Goleen in this lovely, quaint, cosy and spotlessly clean B&B. Parking is a bit hit and miss but you will always find somewhere. Our room faced right out onto the harbour and the views were spectacular. There was a very well-stocked bathroom and bottled water was also supplied on the tea/coffee tray. There’s an in-room safe too which is great if guests don’t want to trudge around West Cork with valuables in their pockets or cars. We were so lucky with the weather, and took great delight watching for the heron (he made two appearances!). The dining room also looks over the harbour and was such a relaxing place to eat. Mobile phone coverage is almost non existent in Goleen and some of the surrounding areas, but that suited us perfectly. We didn’t want our peace disturbed as we absorbed the breathtaking beauty of the many beauty spots in the area. A must for visitors is Mizen Head, the most south-westerly point in Ireland (€6 per adult, which is well worth it). It’s mesmerising to watch the sea crash off the rocks hundreds of feet below, and the old lighthouse station has plenty of memorabilia to bring visitors back to the days when there was no internet, mobile phones or any other types of technology that we depend upon so much now. Also worth a visit are the villages of Schull, Crookhaven, Baltimore, Bantry, Dunmanway, to name just a few. There are plenty of coffee shops and places to eat so the only problem you will have is deciding which one to go to! We also had the pleasure of a delicious meal on the second night of our stay in the Herons Cove restaurant. Mouthwatering, beautifully cooked and well presented from beginning to end, we couldn’t fault anything about it – the Sticky Toffee Pudding is to die for by the way!! We had a totally relaxing few days down in West Cork, and will definitely go back and see more of it at some time. We would highly recommend Herons Cove as a place to stay, but book early as it is very popular. Staff are friendly and courteous – you couldn’t ask for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at The Herons Cove for 5 nights, it is such a pretty place, it's got that feeling of "coming home"... the rooms were clean and very comfy, our balcony looking out over the cove I will miss forever more, breakfast was wonderful everyday and dining in the evening was superb. The staff were so friendly and kind nothing was too much bother, our room was cleaned and freshened each day, it was a great base for touring, we went to Mizen, Crookhaven and it is a stones throw from Schull, which is a thriving county town we were lucky to get the ferry there across to Cape Clear Island and spend some hours on this quirky land!! Thank you Sue, Vicky and the rest of the staff, it was simply wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Dined in Herons Cove last Thursday and it was really a beautiful meal. I had the Mussels followed by Scallops and my wife had a Seafood Hors D'oeuvres starter followed by Monkfish. It was well presented and beautifully cooked. The Wine Cellar is a feature of the restaurant and you go up and pick your own wine. We drank a Reisling from Villa Huesgen called By the Glass and it was perfect.
The service, the ambience , the value and the view of the harbour are really very special. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Room Tip: Look for a room that looks over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for one night in August and wished we could have stayed longer. However I would have needed to buy clothes in a larger size.
As we booked late we did not have a room with a view, instead we had a twin room at the side which was comfortable, clean and quiet. The weather when we arrived was truly dreadful so we didn't need to sit outside.
Our evening meal was beautifully prepared and the service was excellent. Breakfast the following morning couldn't be improved, basically you tell them what you want to eat! In the morning the view down the cove was lovely and the heron was again on duty as he had been the previous night.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spent 3 nights at Heron's Cove and it was possibly the best B+B I have stayed in. For a start the location is just perfect- on a small peaceful harbour which our room overlooked, and we shared a lovely balcony with the next room where we sat and watched the tide come in and the resident herons searching for thier dinner in the water.
The welcome was warm and friendly and all of the staff made us feel very welcome and gave advice on what to see in the local area.
And to top it all the food was amazing! Breakfast was cooked to order and plentiful. Chef would prepare anything within reason from a full cooked breakfast to salmon and scrambled eggs, or pancakes with maple syrup. Fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts and soda bread also provided. Certainly it was a wonderful start to the day. We also ate twice in the restaurant in the evening, and the food was again superb - fresh and well prepared with a good choice of seafood and other items. Excellent value fixed price dinner menu and a fantastic selection of wine.
I will definitely stay here again if I visit this part of Ireland again and totally recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron's Cove

Address: The Harbour | Goleen, West Cork, Goleen, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Goleen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Goleen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron's Cove B&B and Restaurant, Goleen, West Cork has been presented with the AA Hospitality Award Guest Accommodation of the Year 2012-13 for Ireland, AA1 Rosette for culinary excellence and AA Breakfast Award. Near Mizen Head, Ireland's most southwesterly point. 5 cosy comfortable en-suite bedrooms (4 sea view, 4 shower, 1 shower/bath) with DD TV, Tea/Coffee tray, Mini HiFi & Electric Blanket. Failte Ireland 4 stars, B&B Ireland, AA ****. Seaside Restaurant serving best local produce. Friendly local staff. Member: RAI, BIM Seafood Circle, Eurotoques, Slow Food. Recommended: AA, Lonely Planet, Lets Go, Frommers, Fodors, Alastair Sawday's, Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.