We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot and great host!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochinver Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballinadee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochinver Farmhouse
Save
You added Lochinver Farmhouse to your Saves list
Ballinadee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ballinadee B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great spot and great host!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We made reservations via our US travel agent and Brenden Vacations. The setting was beautiful with rolling hills and close to Kinsale. The rooms were comfortable and showed as new with spacious bathrooms. Our host could not have been more helpful and prepared a very nice breakfast with lots of variety.
Upon our hoists suggestion we went to Kinsale for dinner and found Kinsale to be a delightful shoreside community with lots of options for restaurants and pubs.
This is the countryside a lot of agriculture and dairy farming and while a ways out of the built up area it
It is 40 minutes to Cork so it is in a handy locale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We are spending four weeks in Ireland and wanted to stay on a farm B&B. This is a nice home, but really not a farm. Yes you can go see the cows, etc. but not a farmhouse.

It is also out on a narrow country road about 20 minutes from Kinsale - not a good idea to drive in the dark after dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We found lochinver farmhouse without much difficulty and Helen was a welcoming host. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Even though we arrived mid evening Helen gave us a hot drink and cakes which was very welcome. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order, and delicious . The view from the farmhouse is beautiful and I would recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our stay at Lochinver Farmhouse was in mid-July 2012. Although the location is somewhat remote, we were able to find the location thanks to our Garmin. Helen met us at the door and welcomed us to her home.....the view out the front window is spectacular. Helen offered us coffe and snacks and we chatted for a few minutes about the things to see and do in the area. Our rooms were adequate and clean. Breakfast the next morning was very good and made to order from the menu selection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Lochinver Farmhouse and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a beautiful quiet rural setting, super comfortable beds, immaculate rooms, large spotless baths, delicious homemade breakfasts made to order, and gracious hospitality. What more could you ask for ? It was a short drive from Kinsale, situated near a beautiful river and rolling green hillls, just gorgeous. It was a pleasure to meet Helen and other members of her family including all "the girls" (dairy cows), fun. It was one of our favorite places in our 3 week stay in Ireland and we travelled all over the country.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Although Lochinver Farmhouse is in a rural area, it was easy to find. Mrs. Forde greeted us upon arrival and assigned us the River Room which had a view of --- the river! Also the views of the pasture lands was beautiful. The following morning, we watched as the cows formed a single line and headed for the milking shed. A really nice sight. We were invited to watch the milking process at 7:30 AM.

We had twin beds which we requested and the room was very adequate in size. The bathroom was also a nice size and had a powerful shower. The bed and bath linens were excellent quality and all the amenties provided. We slept very well.

The grounds around the house are well tended flower gardens. The parking area is very large. And there were plenty of cows munching nearby.

Mrs. Forde gave us a pub dinner recommendation about 5 km from the B&B - Hurley's in Ballinadee's village center. It was definitely a local spot and it served an excellent Fish and Chips.

In the morning Mrs. Forde surprised by travelling companion who was smoking outdoors. She brought her out a cup of coffee. Breakfast was excellent - lots of fresh fruit, porridge, poached egg on toast points, and an omelet. A pot of coffee arrived just as we sat down.

There was only 1 negative for us and that was the seating arrangement in the breakfast room. There is a large table set for 6 and a small table for 2. Mrs. Forde assigned us to the table for 2 because a family of 4 would be joining us. This type of arrangement excluded us from a lively conversation among the 6 seated at the larger table. It was unwelcoming.

Room Tip: As for a room that overlooks the cows coming/going to the milking shed in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Upon arrival at Lochinver Farmhouse, one is struck by the incredible view of the pastures, hills and Bandon River Estuary. The rooms, although not luxurious, were very clean, spacious, and had every ammenity needed. Our room was "the Farmhouse" and was such fun for us retired cattlemen........we could view the dairy cattle right out window! Helen was a gracious hostess and gave us good suggestions for restaurants and other sightseeing attractions. She had a comfortable living room with a great view and we took advantage of that in the evenings to chat with her and with other guests. Made to order breakfasts were delicious. This is a very relaxing place to stay in an absolutely gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lochinver Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochinver Farmhouse

Address: Ballinadee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballinadee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballinadee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your host and hostess Don and Helen Forde live on this family run dairy farm, beautifully situated overlooking the Bandon River Estuary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochinver Farmhouse Ireland/Ballinadee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochinver Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.