We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right, on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamaica Inn

Jamaica Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jamaica Inn to your Saves list
Jamaica Inn
Sixmilebridge, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just right, on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Me and my sister stayed here for 5 nights and had a lovely time.
On arrival we found out our booking through a hostel website had not been processed (an error on the part of the website, not the hostel), despite this the owner, Michael, offered us the full 4 nights for even cheaper than we'd got it on the internet!
We stayed in a dorm, and then moved to a private room. Both were neat and clean, with heaters that we could control.
The bathrooms have obviously seem some use, but they were acceptable and the showers were lovely and warm.
The hostel is in a tiny village which is quite far from most attractions, but the owner has worked out some reasonable prices with a local taxi firm i.e. Shannon 12euro, Bunratty 10euro. And he even offered to book the taxis for us, which saved us using mobiles at expensive rates abroad.
The owner, Michael, was very friendly and helpful and had a lot of information about local attractions and towns.
The kitchen was clean, it had a microwave, hob and fridge which we used. The restaurant was closed while we were there.
The wifi was hit and miss, best accessed from the common room. The common room was comfortable and we enjoyed sitting in there and reading the recent copies of National Geographic that were on hand. We didn't try and t.v.
While we were there we visited Bunratty folk park, Durty Nelly's pub, went horse trekking (we're both complete beginners to horse riding), took a Barratt tour to Galway and Cliffs of Moher, looked around Ennis and Limerick. Plenty to do if you've got the mind to do it.
We were very pleased with our choice overall and would definitely recommend the hostel. A tip would be to contact the hostel before you go to help arrange cheaper transport from the airport.

Room Tip: Contact the owner if you want a room with wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Contrary to what other reviewers have said the owner Michael and his wife have always been extremely friendly and helpful when I have stayed there with groups of university students which we have done for three years or so.
The rooms are quite basic but clean and functional and the use of the kitchen and lounge is a great bonus. The location is very convenient for the Burren where we did much of our academic fieldwork and I would definitely recommend Jamaica Inn!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I have friends living in Sixmilebridge and therefore wanted to be close to the town, I looked at staying in Limerick but found Jamaica Inn instead.
I found the owners and staff extremely friendly and helpful.
The room was secure, comfortable and cleaned daily. They had pay TV and a good sized kitchen, it was close to the pubs, general store and the local bistro
I would definitely recommend this hostel to other travellers

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Myself and three friends stayed at Jamaica Inn on our way to Poland, our flight was really early in the morning, so we travelled from Mayo and stayed. Checking in and out was simple and quick, the owner greeted us and even showed us to our room. We slept very well and felt well rested before our trip away. I found the price very reasonable. The rooms were warm and clean. I would definately recommend this little spot.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Several people in Limerick told me the city closed the B&Bs and the hostels and put up high rise hotels. There is a Travel lodge, but it would not budge from the 42 Euros for one person. (However, 3 can stay for 42 Euros.)
Therefore, the only hostel nearby is Jamaica Inn. It had an adequate kitchen, was in a small town, was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. There was safe and adequate parking. The rooms and halls were brightly painted, but the TV did not work and there were some areas that needed repair. The bathrooms were clean. There was a restaurant in town. I would not choose to stay in Sixmilebridge except that Limerick had no hostel. Townspeople told me the city was positioning Limerick as a high rise hotel/convention city. However, they complained the high rise hotels were mostly empty, but wouldn't budge on price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

My friend Carol and I have just returned from a great 3 night stay at the Jamaica Inn . Our room was small, but it was clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and helpful, and the house dogs are friendly. Breakfast is not included but there is a kitchen that you can use, and a cafe on site which serves a very good Irish breakfast. I had no complaints about my stay, and would recommend the Jamaica Inn for a short break.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — I have no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Dear Travelers, We recently stayed at this hostel and would not recommend it. We thought it would be convenient to the Shannon Airport and would be less expensive than nearby hotels. However we were wrong. The owner, Michael, was terribly rude, and the room was dirty and dark. (The moldy shower curtain fell off each time one took a shower.). The hostel was overun with noisy high school rugby players until 11 or 12 at night and the the drive there was difficult on a very curvy road.. Fortunately prior to our trip home we found a number of less expensive and more accomodating hotels within 1 or 2 miles of the airport. (Try Twomile Inn or any in Shannon Town). Backpackers and families beware, the Jamaica Inn was not a good choice for staying near the airport. We had a wonderful vacation in Ireland and this owner and establishment was definitely and anomaly. Sincerely, Sheila of Chicago

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamaica Inn

Address: Sixmilebridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Sixmilebridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sixmilebridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamaica Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.