We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bofey Quinns Bar & Restaraunt

Bofey Quinns Bar & Restaraunt
Main Street | Corofin, Corofin 065, Ireland
353 (0) 65 6837321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Corofin
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a family run Pub/restaurant, celebrating 20 years in Business March 2014. We are only 35 minutes from Shannon airport on the R476 on route to the Burren or Cliff's of Moher. We are well know for our great TRADITIONAL MUSIC SESSIONS every Wednesday & Saturday nights, as well as good home-cooked food. We have fresh fish, pizza, steak, wraps,sandwiches and stews, as well as smoked salmon, chowder and garlic bread. Our restaurant seats 40 persons and is wheelchair friendly. Our menu is suitable for vegetarians, but with only a small selection of gluten free meals(we're working on that one). All our staff are local so can offer great advice on tourist spots in our area. we close MON & TUE between Nov - March. Food served from 1pm to 9pm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Good service, good Guiness, excellent fish chowder, what more to say? If you want a tasty, filling lunch time snack this is the place to go.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistyCoClare, Owner at Bofey Quinns Bar & Restaraunt, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Bofeys, we try hard to have a good selection of food that we know our customers can enjoy.
But it make it all worth while when customers take the time to give us feed back so once again thank you, and maybe we will see you again soon.

Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Great food. Great craic. Very helpful staff. Not to be missed.
Visited as during stay in Corofin. The proprietors and staff were very helpful in sorting out our accompdation. They provided guidance on local places/sights. And did I say the food was excellent!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish C, Owner at Bofey Quinns Bar & Restaraunt, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Corofin. It was our pleasure to be of help sorting accommodation and suggesting sights. Food is our business so we are glad to receive good feedback, thank you again, hope to see you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

As a regular visitor to the West of Ireland, we always find time to have at least one meal in Bofey's! Staff are friendly, owners always willing to chat and we are never disappointed. The food is divine and my personal favourite is the Seafood Chowder served with a generous portion of brown bread.

We have visited both as a couple and with the children - and we are always warmly welcomed. The kids particularly like the homemade pizza's and the desserts! We also rented their traditional Irish cottage when we brought the children and had a fantastic weekend.

We were lucky enough this year to get to their traditional irish music night - most enjoyable!

I couldn't recommend this more highly!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Consistently good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have been travelling to the Burren, and consequently eating at Bofey's, since 1996. We have always found the food to be really good quality and never leave the table anything but full. The staff are always very friendly. They did have a Thai menu also last year but this is no longer the case (probably hard to keep it going in the current economic climate, but it was really delicious food.) We always try to eat in Bofey's during out stays in Corofin as it is one of the highlights for our family of five, including three growing boys...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistyCoClare, Owner at Bofey Quinns Bar & Restaraunt, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to receive such positive feed back. Yes we did have Thai last year and it was a great success , but sadly for us after a lot of money and paper work we were refused a work permit for our Thai Chef . A very sore subject..
I hope you enjoy many more good meals at Bofey Quinn s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tiny evening meals”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

After three very good meals the previous week, last night's (23rd August 2012) was terrible and would be one star if not for the previous week. The fish pie barely filled half the pie dish and contained virtually no fish. Previously meals had been cheerfully offered with a range of accompanying vegetables, but last night's staff would only supply the dish with chips if paid for. To add insult to injury, the portion of these was also tiny and undercooked, and I was charged 3 euros for them instead of the stated 2! They happily supplied the same dish last week with vegetables, chips and salad, but this time I went to bed hungry. It really was an experience not be repeated, and I won't, which is a shame as I am here for a month.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mistyCoClare, Owner at Bofey Quinns Bar & Restaraunt, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are sorry your meal in Bofey Quinns wasn't up to our usual high standard, I am sure if my staff member knew you were unhappy with your meal it would have been replaced immediately as that is our policy. The fish pie should have had plenty of smoked fish in it .
It is normal to serve this dish with salad as stated in the menu, should you wish to have side orders of vegetables or homemade chips there is a charge of €3 per side dish and the staff are obliged to point this out to customers. But maybe the way this is pointed out can be addressed.
We do hope you will come back in to Bofey Quinns again and allow us to put this matter right, as you said you did have 3 very good meals the week before, and we would like to make that 4.
I look forward to personally meeting with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bofey Quinns Bar & Restaraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bofey Quinns Bar & Restaraunt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.