We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virginia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Save
You added Lakeside Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Lough Ramor, Virginia, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely setting by the lake even in the Irish rain!. Staff very helpful and accomodating. Food was simply first class indeed. Particularly recommend the steak cooked on hot stone. The breakfast was superb - great because it was cooked to order and plenty of coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    104
    41
    19
    31
See reviews for
46
181
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of eight of us arrived early Friday and received a very warm welcome. We were even offed tea or coffee as the rooms were not all ready as we were early. All the staff were great and even able to remember all our names. The food was very good and the table service was fast. Hot food served on hot plates just as it should be.. The entertainment an Saturday night was great and the drink just slipped down. a treat. Breakfasts were superb with all that you could eat and drink.. A big thanks to all the staff and especially Brenda who helped us all out with any problems..The whole trip was great value. Many thanks. J D Gill

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in the Lakeside Manor Hotel. When booking the room for the one night we found the lady who took are phone call was very nice and at our arrival at reception she had a very friendly homely welcome for us. We found the staff very nice and helpful. The furniture through the hotel is something to take in, even with in the bedrooms, beds very comfortable, very clean and with un-suite, the bedroom with tv, tea & coffee, hairdryer all available. Food was very good.
The site in which the hotel is located on has beautiful setting, fantastic scenery for wedding photos, videos, with a lake for those different photos to take. There is plenty walking areas around the hotel and would give children freedom to play and enjoy the out side doors.
We would love to go back again and stay for a few days, as we found the over night stay very relaxing and peaceful. We would have no problems to recommend The Lake Manor Hotel to our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in the Lakeview manor hotel. It was a groupon deal which included a bottle of wine, and an upgrade to a lakeview room. The reception staff were helpful and pleasant. Even though our room wasn't ready we were offered tea or coffee in the bar whilst we waited. The food was ok-no complaints but a bit pricey. The room was dated but had everything we needed. A nice place to stay for some peace and quiet. We enjoyed it. We would return if another deal was offered..which should be either a bottle of wine or a meal or both, as we don't drink wine. There should be a choice. Otherwise no complaints here, and recommended as a budget hotel with all you need.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked a wee 2 night stay through Groupon in the Lakeside Manor and opted for the 'upgraded' view room to ensure the break was worth it. For a total of €80 this was a bargain (including breakfast and a bottle of wine). On arrival we were met with superb scenery and straight away I knew this would be good. The hotel itself is tidy enough on the outside and there was ample parking. I was a wee bit concerned that a nightclub was at the corner of the hotel where I thought we would have a sleepless night (unless we went to the disco :-) ) but this nightclub had been closed for over a year so no worries there.

On entry to the hotel it was indeed (from other reviews) a little dated but overall it was pleasant and welcoming. The receptionist was very friendly and informative and once checked in we went straight to our room. Again this was dated but was large and had all the usual things you would expect in a hotel (kettle, iron, tv etc) a slight con against the room was the twin beds put together as a double. The view was exactly as described with a little balcony to further enjoy the view.

We went straight to the bar where it was busy bit not to the detriment of the service and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We chatted to the friendly staff and decided to take a short trip to Virginia to have a couple of drinks and a meal. The staff were responsive in meeting our request for a taxi and one was there within 15mins (as asked for). Virginia itself was also a pleasant surprise where everyone were friendly and always smiling. We visited a few pubs before deciding to have a meal in the town/village main hotel (River Front Hotel) which served some of the best food I have ever tasted! A short taxi ride back and a nightcap (or 2) settled us down for the night.

The following morning we asked for breakfast in bed but 25mins after the time we asked for we got a little concerned that we would miss breakfast so decided to go to the restaurant. The staff were apologetic (but not to apologetic) and we were sat in front of the windows for our breakfast. This was excellent and filled us for the day! We decided to take a drive to Cavan for some light shopping before again going to Virginia for a few drinks. I must say Cavan shopping is very poor and certainly worth a miss or a longer drive to Dublin?

After a few (to many) drinks in Virginia we decided to have food in the hotel this time as we heard the steak on a hot slate was its speciality? I was a little put off by having to cook my own steak (only because I didn't think the slate would be hot enough to cook my steak to my liking) but was persuaded by the (again) friendly and helpful staff to have the steak on a hot slate..........I must say this was excellent and went down really well with the smooth beer I was also drinking. Very happy indeed

A modernisation programme would easily set this hotel out amongst its competitors but overall this was a great stay with great staff, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Fantastic place to stay very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble. Superb food and drink the breakfast is one of the best I had throughout my stay in Dublin Rooms were very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to chill out. Will be returning. Stunning scenery.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived at the lake view manor on a Friday evening, there was a great atmosphere in the bar and the staff were really friendly. We checked into our room and were delighted with it, it was very clean and had a nice traditional feel. We got such a good deal for two nights! We ate in the bar that evening and the food was lovely and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend this hotel , lovely staff in a great setting with beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Address: Lough Ramor, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.