We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding @ The Lakeside Manor.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virginia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Save
You added Lakeside Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Lough Ramor, Virginia, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginia
Mullagh, Cavan, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our Wedding @ The Lakeside Manor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

From the moment we booked our wedding at the Lakeside Manor Maeve & Breda could not do enough for us, We had eaten in the hotel previously and the food has always be delicious so when we looked at the main function room with the fabulous lake views we were sold! The room was perfect for our wedding and has a fab statement glass wall which separate's a small part of the room which at our request Maeve set up into an arts & crafts corner for the kids.We arrived to our fruit punch arrival drinks were our guests relaxed,mingled and enjoyed the view until dinner was announced.The food as usual was amazing and our guests where left waiting for nothing. All staff were very friendly and helped with any requests made to them.In the evening the guests enjoyed an evening supper dressed out in the adjoining room to the function room were they could relax away from the music if they wanted. Unfortunately the weather wasn't on our side but thanks to the hotel's views and quirky furniture we still got amazing pictures to remember our day! Overall we had an amazing day, filled with amazing people and memories and we would recommend this hotel to anyone. Another huge thank you to the staff of The Lakeside Manor, look forward to seeing you soon!

Room Tip: Lake View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    91
    40
    17
    26
See reviews for
43
160
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have gone to this hotel as a passer by, as a guest at weddings and spent time down by the lakes and each time I have gone I have experienced a mixed bag of service.

If going for a meal in the hotel avoid the carvery! It is never the same no matter how many times I have been. I always say to myself give it another go and then its dissapointing. If you could I would wait for the A la Carte which is fabulous. I enjoy their dishes and there is plenty of selection.

The rooms are nice. Do exactly what is needed from hotel rooms when attending a wedding which is get a few hours sleep. If you are staying I would try to ask for a Lake View because even though it overlooks the car park the lake is still a lovely sight to wake up to compared to the main road which passes the side of the hotel!

Having attended weddings here I am not going to deny that it is not a hotel I would be looking at for my wedding. The room itself is a nice sized room, however the layout of the room is not great. The stairs up to the room are surrounded by a glass wall that nearly blocks off a number of guests from the room and while I know its only for the meal it just makes you feel that they are separated from the rest of the wedding party. The food for the weddings I have been to is lovely. However again because the way the room is laid out it is slow service to one whole section of the room.

All in all no it is not a great hotel. At times there can be great things about it but then there are things that make you wonder how on earth the place is still open! Maybe it might just be time for a complete overhaul of staff management and refurbishment!

Room Tip: Lake View if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

arrived friday evening for a weekends stay , walked into reception and dialled 0 for service ,
i didnt have any problem with this at all despite other reviewers having one.
we were then greeted by jim the owner, who welcomed us and filled us in on bedroom location bar lounge location etc the usual . and then wished us a happy stay .
room had a view of the lake which was lovely and was also air-conned , which was needed this weekend.
there was plenty of people around so bar service was hectic but good.
breakfast is to die for - a PROPER IRISH , with just about anything else available too , and served by a gent -johnjoe.
make no mistake this is a true family owned and ran establishment the way it should be .
jim whom we seen quite a bit of over the 2 night stay was always asking was everything ok? and genuinely seemed interested .
we will definitely be back and thats a fact.

Room Tip: the lake view on the first floor would be amazing if available and worth it too
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked this hotel with a deal voucher, we thought we were getting a great deal with the cheap price. We arrived at the hotel where we had to wait a long time at the reception desk for somebody to come and check us in, the lady that eventually did was very abrupt and not a bit cheery! When we got to our room, which we paid extra for so we could have a lakeview room, we couldn't have been more disappointed. The decor was dreadful and dated and the bathroom was terrible. We left our bags into the room and went outside for a cigarette only to be told by the same lady on the reception desk that we had to hurry up because she was locking the doors. It was only 10pm. It felt more like a hostel or something. We were told there was a kingsize bed in the room but it was just two single beds pushed together and one of them was slightly higher than the other, which made for a very uncomfortable sleep, we complained twice about this and twice they claimed to have changed it but they didn't! The location was dreadful, when we asked for directions to virginia town we were told it was a 5 min walk away. It was infact over an hour and on a very busy road with no footpath! The lake is wasted, nothing goes on, no boat activities even! We had bar food in the hotel and were disgusted with it! I've cooked much nicer meals myself. It was very basic and bland and you could tell the chef wasn't overly experienced or just useless at his/her job. We couldn't wait to leave this hotel and it is safe to say we've been put off ever returning to county cavan. Such a dreaful experience!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here on a groupon deal and we arrived at 2-45 to find no one in reception and a sign to dial 0 on the phone. One of the owners arrived and asked were we checking in, I answered yes, to be told our room would,nt be available for an hour as check in was 4. We went and had a couple of drinks in the bar and at 4-15 our room still was not ready, when I asked why, I was told that they had a function the night before and were under pressure to get rooms ready but why it would take 4 hours to get a room ready is beyond me or nearly 5 hours in our case as we did not get our keys till 4-45. The room was big but as for being a double room, it was two single beds pushed together. Nice view of lake from room but through dirty windows, dead flies and bird excrement The service in the hotel had to be the slowest I,ve ever encountered, especially in the bar where customers were practically invisible to the bar staff. On one morning we were given the wrong order for breakfast even though it was taken by the owner herself. The amount of flies in the bar as people were eating was unhygience and there were several complaints by customers to this effect which were just brushed off with a excuse of it being a hot day. On checkout I thought our 20 euro fee for the lakeside room would have been waived becuase of the fiasco at check in but no such luck as all we were offered was a cup of tea on check in while we waited 2 hours for our room. I cannot for the life of me understand all the good comments regard the owners and staff on here as it certaintly was not our experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My fiance & I stayed one night at the Lakeside Manor hotel on a Groupon deal for b & b & a bottle of wine. On arrival on a gloriously sunny day one couldn't help but be impressed with the setting on the shores of Lough Ramor. When we entered the lobby there was nobody in reception & a sign on the phone asking to dial 0 for attention. This we did & a lady passed behind us shouting that she'd be with us in 2 seconds. 5 minutes went by at which point another couple had arrived to check in. Finally a wiman arrived & said "sorry I forgot all about you"! We had booked a lake view room so we were given a key to room 101 on the ground floor. The room was a good size with a good view of the lake albeit across acar park & with tables for bar customers directly outside - privacy clearly a problem (see photos). We decided to have a late lunch on the terrace. We waited simply AGES for someone to take our order. A sweet staff member (described by my fiance as pleasantly incompetent) kept promising that someone would be along to take our order. Eventually someone did but we decided there & then that we would have dinner elsewhere. After a short stroll we decided to ask at reception for our bottle of wine - this entailed a 15 minute wait at the empty reception desk, 2 phone calls seeking assistance & eventually we gave up & walked away. Later, just before leaving I spotted the same woman & nabbed her for our wine voucher. We had a comfortable night's sleep thanks to ear plugs & breakfast was fine. We would not retirn however as the attitude was far too careless.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for wedding and was absolutely first class, its surrounded by a beautiful lake and lovely grounds with an amazing view, the staff were all more than helpful with everything from we checked in till we checked out. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in. The food was gorgeous followed by refreshing pints and the entertainment was very good and its also well catered for people with disabilities such as myself. Wonderful hotel all round and i would recommend it to anyone, i would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Address: Lough Ramor, Virginia, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.