We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Manor Hotel Restaurant

Lakeside Manor Hotel Restaurant
Lake Ramor, Virginia, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Restaurants in Virginia
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have used the Lakeside Manor, as a stop over for breakfast on numerous occasions on my trips from Rosslare to Cavan, I cannot complain about the service, the quality of food, or the price. I have always received a friendly reception and the area is always clean.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co Armagh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Good menu but Excellent steaks cooked to perfection. Although I had mushroom sauce it was almost a shame to add it to the dish as the steak was so delicious. Hand cut chips would have enhanced the meal but unfortunately so many folk dont take the time to do them.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great 2 night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

On arrival our room was not ready but quickly resolved. Rooms abit dated but clean and warm. We only had the bar menu, heard goog reports about the food from guests especially the steak on a stone, the bar food we had was good. Staff are friendly, curtious and professional. would defo stay here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

had a very enjoyable weekend in lakeside manor ,staff very friendly and never too busy to talk and pass a bit of time with you ,the food was great and well presented especially the fillet steak on the granite stone don't miss out on it .the décor is a bit old fashioned but that is far from the heart of a very nice enjoyable weekend that I hope to visit again and take in the lovely view of the lake. when booking try to get a lake view room for one of the nicest views I have ever had in a hotel

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Sublime Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Most people visit here for the sheer beauty of the location: situated as it is on the shores of beautiful Lough Ramor, a large expanse of lake, landscape and sky where you can free your mind of life's stresses and partake of good food and drink from the friendly Lakeside Hotel staff. I have rated this eating house 'average' because the hotel and service is a bit rough 'round the edges'. If on the other hand you don't mind so so service and a bit of rough then you will love this place. I eat here often, I visit the lake often and the boss man is a dead ringer for Charlie Chaplin. I took my wife to the restaurant on Easter Monday and the place was busy as usual. I did'nt like the glare from the windows - facing west the sun shines into the restaurant and without awning the glare is awful. I had a BLT sandwich, tea and desert as did my wife. It was wholesome but not as enjoyable as it could have been if the ambience was tidied up a bit. Something has to be done about the windows, either an awning or a UV filter to cut down the glare and deep shadows. The other thing is the toilets, they are kept clean but lack ventilation - real ventilation. Anyway, all things considered your family will enjoy visiting this place, plenty of space inside & out, good grub, nice drink, friendly staff, clean water, sand & marina.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeside Manor Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Virginia, County Cavan
Virginia, County Cavan
 

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Manor Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.