We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Kyran's Country House Restaurant

St. Kyran's Country House Restaurant
Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
+353 (0)49 8547087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Virginia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Dined here on Saturday 9th August 2014 to celebrate my birthday. We were a party of six and all our food was excellent from the appetisers to the desserts. It averaged about 60 euro per person including pre dinner drinks and wine. The restaurant was very busy so there was a good atmosphere, but due to the fact it was so busy we had to wait over a half an hour for our table. Our taxi to bring us home was a bit delayed so I asked for a cocktail menu but they don't have one although the waitress said she would make one for me but then had to come back to say they couldn't because they didn't have the ingredients!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Booked dinner here for 2/8/14 on a recommendation from friends. On arrival were shown to a seating area, and our drinks order was taken. Very friendly staff - lovely surroundings. We were shown to our table, which on reflection was probably the worst in the house (being seated between the kitchen and the loo) but in this restaurant, was a very nice table! The service throughout was excellent, friendly and attentive. The food was on a par with Bang Restaurant. It was absolutely superb. I saw afterwards that they have been nominated for a Michelin star, or have been recommended, or are applying for one (am not sure how it works) but it would not surprise me one bit if they were awarded one, the food was that good. Pricewise was not cheap, but very reasonable for the quality of the food, and they also have a very good early bird. There were tables with a beautiful view of the Lake, so if you can, book one of these. We knew nothing of the place, except that the food was supposed to be good. We were delighted that we went as it was exceptional.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation, setting and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Two ladies and I decided to go to St Kyrans for a mid week break as a treat! We made the right decision by going to St Kyrans. Our bedroom was luxurious, comfortable and with a great view of Ramor Lake. We had the early bird meal, which was beautiful. The waitresses were v friendly+ efficient. As it was a beautiful evening we sat outside and when it started to get a little cooler the waitresses brought us out blankets for our shoulders. Will defo be back!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Birthday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Visited St Kyrans this weekend for a 50th Birthday lunch with a large family group. Prior to the lunch both Patrick & Helena were so helpful with menu choices and changes - nothing was too much trouble.
On the day we had one of the rooms to ourselves overlooking the Lough which was just gorgeous, especially when the sun shone. The waiting staff were superb and the two girls that served us worked their socks off and nothing was a problem to them. The food was excellent and the whole party thoroughly enjoyed it.
Many thanks to Patrick, Helena & staff for a wonderful afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Should be Michelin starred”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Returned again thankfully, favourite place to visit when in Virginia. The early bird menu on Wednesday evening was fantastic. The pork belly was better than the last time when it was a small piece accompanied with some other meat on the specials menu a few years ago. This time fantastic as was the whole meal. It is just the best experience for a night out and a very nice birthday treat. It is actually better than some of the Michelin starred restaurants in the UK that I have eaten in. It has so much more than the great food. The welcome , the attention to detail , the service and the food all make for a great night out. Wish there was a St Kyrans in an other part of the country so we could stay there for a holiday .I suppose Patrick and Helena cannot be in two places at the one time and they make it what it is a long with their wonderful team. It is so nice to see consistency in something that is done so well. Looking forward to a return visit with my husband.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Kyran's Country House Restaurant also viewed

Virginia, County Cavan
Virginia, County Cavan
 
Virginia, County Cavan
 

Been to St. Kyran's Country House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Kyran's Country House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.