We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to see Lava in an active volcano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masaya Volcano National Park

Masaya Volcano National Park
Masaya, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$98*
and up
Masaya and Catarina Day Trip from Managua
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Masaya
Type: National Parks, Volcanos, Outdoors
Attraction details
gulf shores
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Wanted to see Lava in an active volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I visited Masaya Volcano in September 2013. Our intent was to go at night and see the lava. We are probably the only two dweebs in the world to try three nights in a row and never even entered the park. It was the rainy season. It rained two of the nights and that stops any attempt to see the lava. The other night were buying our tickets to get into the park and they closed the gate and asked us to leave as they thought the volcano was erupting a little to much. We did drive into the park one afternoon and got to walk up to the top and look into the crater. A lot of smoke and noise. The view of the crater was good and the view of the lake was nice. You can only see the red lava when it is dark. We will try again if we get back to Granada. Try it. To my knowledge this is one of the few places in the world where you can actually view the red lava.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    95
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Hiking a real active volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Masaya Volcano is an interesting site. We have driven up close to the rim and then follow the stairs to the top for an bird eye view. Masaya continually emits large amounts of sulfur dioxide gas, coming from the active Santiago crater, that might bother your breathe. Stay within the pathway and don't venture to close to the rim.

One interesting story that I've learned from a local is that when Spaniards came to this area and approached the mouth of the volcano, they were sure that gold is is there to be be taken. So they rappeled down into the crater with buckets to collect the incandescent gold, which was just pure lava....Most of them haven't got the chance to return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A large, active volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were able to drive up to the rim of the volcano. There was a lot of earth displaced by the last major eruption. The caldera is huge. There are active steam vents, which can make visibility an issue. We were able to see enough of the caldera to be very impressed. The surrounding park has several lava flows and large rocks that were part of the last major eruption.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The museum isn't much but to be able drive up to the edge of the volcano and look down into it was something you don't get to do very often. $10 to get into the park. Small price to pay to see something so unique.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Masaya Volcano, you can drive right up to the rim of this active volcano. But when I was there the volcano was smoking and smelling a little bit of sulfur. Usually there is a night tour but not for the past few days because the smoke has been too thick and you cannot see down to the lava inside. Since I was the only one camping there after they closed for the day I did drive up to the rim and looked for myself. They were right just smoke, no glowing lava but a good sunset. I had the whole park to myself. It is undoubtedly worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaya Volcano National Park also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Masaya, Masaya Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Masaya Volcano National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masaya Volcano National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.