We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Nicaragua!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masaya Volcano National Park

Masaya Volcano National Park
Masaya, Nicaragua
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$98*
and up
Masaya and Catarina Day Trip from Managua
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Masaya
Type: National Parks, Volcanos, Outdoors
Attraction details
Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A must see in Nicaragua!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were in Nicaragua last summer in a Missionary Trip and one day the took us to Masaya. This is a beautiful place, so peaceful that you dont want to leave. There are some places were you can buy souvenirs with good prices, but if you have spare time is better to buy those things in El Guengue. We ate there and the food was good and cheap. I do not recommend that you drink tap water because there are high possibilities that you will be sick next day. The view in here is unbelievable and the huge crater unbelievable.

Visitamos el volcan como resultado de un viaje misionero que hicimos y la experiencia fue extraordinaria. Comimos en el lugar, disfrutamos de la vista y pasamos un rato agradable. La verdad es wue no hay palabras que describam lo hermoso del lugar. Si comes alli o en otro lugar de Nicaragua mi recomendacion es que solo tomes agua embotellada. En el area del volcan venden souvenirs a precios razonables pero si tienes tiempo puedes ir a El Guengue y encomtraras mas variedad y cosas mas baratas.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    95
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

It is a great place to visit. Beautiful view of the lower valley where the lava once flowed. Wonderful visitors center with reasonable priced merchandise. I would though recommend the night tour if you can do so.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The visitor center has a fantastic view of the volcano and some of the surrounding landscape (go to the deck in the back). There are a lot of great pieces of art in there as well, not to mention a ton of info on the volcano and some really interesting displays and exhibits. Worth the trip! There are also refreshments, bags, postcards and t-shirts for cheap.

Make sure to get a car or van to drive you to the top of the volcano: The hike would be a waste of time because most of the landscape on the way up was burned in a wildfire than took place a year or two ago. The volcano was belching sulfur constatly, so you had to be patient to get a good picture.The stairs to go up and see the crosses on the top of the hill were closed for reasons unknown, but we still got good pics of them. Unfortunately, the guide did not explain what the crosses meant, but lucky for me I did my research before I came. (I suggest you do the same: Guides in Nicaragua are not very good at explainng the meaning or history of attractions very well)

If you want a snack, there are people in front of the volcano selling fresh coconut and mango.There was also some random guy selling jewelry. How they deal with that sulfur all day every day, I have no idea.

Bring sneakers or sturdy walking shoes and a cloth to cover your face.The sulfur can be overwhelming and I've heard some people complain of sore throats afterward. I covered my face with a sarong I had in my bag and was just fine afterward.

Overall, this is a pretty cool excursion. Worth the trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“On fire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I tried to visit the park during April several times, but forest fires were raging. I was happy to get to visit it in May-the fires have stopped. The top of the volcano is pretty, lots of color inside the crater.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stunning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The visitor's center is awesome, with tons of information about the park and lake. Many of the exhibits are interactive so the kids really enjoyed it as well.

When you get out to the crater it's difficult to see much due to the steam but that makes it even more dramatic. There is a higher peek you can climb for a different view but it was closed the day we were there.

Side note - the bee hives lining the trees on the way up are really dramatic!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masaya Volcano National Park also viewed

Granada, Granada Department
Granada, Granada Department
 
Masaya, Masaya Department
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Masaya Volcano National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masaya Volcano National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.