We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   184 East Dumplin Valley Road, I-40 at SR 66, Exit #407, Kodak, TN 37764   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kodak
1 review
“Don't Stay Here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place should be demolished. I have stayed in many motels, some very nice and some not so much. This one was the worst I've ever seen. Door know was broken, so we had to have someone come and fix it, instead of being offered a new room. Room was filthy. No light in bathroom, and for good reason. Large rotted hole in the ceiling. The ceiling sagged in bathroom from rot right over the tub, with a large amount of mold. Hair all over and in the sink. We left without a refund or an apology! Should be shut down at the very least!!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    12
See reviews for
7
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olmstead, Kentucky
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

First this place actually needs demolition!! We had our pet with us so we had a "pet friendly"room but it was not friendly at all. There were cob webs throughout the entire room,the carpet was red with mud stains(blue carpet).We had a smoking room and smelt like an ashtray(there are products that other hotels use to control smoke odors)But the thing that got me the most was that roaches were crawling on the tables,desk and counters.GROSS!! We did not have reservations and were charged a outrageous price for the night and were overcharged even further for our pet(they advertise $8.00 per night but our fee was $15.00. Just wrong!!Traveler beware!!!

Room Tip: I doubt there are any at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvikodak, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Sissieannie,

On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced. We are an exterior property located in the South. Due to this, there are insects which are native to the area. Rest assured, do not have a roach problem. We have a licensed pest control company which treats our rooms. We will address the cleanliness issues with our housekeeping staff.



Regards,

Manish-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Kodak, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Needed a pet friendly hotel and Motel 6 was booked so I went to this place. All of the reviews here that state the place is dirty are being nice in their review. There are cobwebs in ALL corners of this place (with spiders living in them) including across the entire ceiling above the bed above the door and window, behind the nightstand, bureau and desk. The rug in these areas haven't been vacuumed in years from the looks of it. I checked for bed bugs but at least I didn't find any. If you have allergies, definitely don't go here because the room smells of mold, dust and is musty. A cloud of mold spores came out of the air conditioning unit when turned on. I also took a towel to the ac unit to clean it because it was thick with dirt and grime. I also had to wash the motel door because it was literally black all around the handle. My allergies flared up from moment I walked into the room. Every baseboard in this room had at least an inch of dirt on top of it plus whatever others have spiIled on them. I refused to even shower in this place because of the cobwebs across the top of the shower and there was actually blood on the bathroom walls. I was scared to even sleep in the bed so I tried sleeping in my truck for a while. I refused to walk on the rugs without shoes on my feet because it was so dirty. Top things off, they charged me $75 for one night. As far as their "free breakfast" when I went to get coffee the office was still closed and that was at 6 am and when I went to check out at 7 am the office was still closed with a ring bell for service sign on the door. I had to wait for some woman to "wake up" to answer the door. When I complained about the condition of the room all she said was she would tell the cleaning person about it, like that will do anything. If she didn't clean it before, she won't now either. How anyone can say this place is clean or homey is beyond me and don't believe it unless you don't care about things crawling and biting you in the night. Pigs live in a cleaner place than this hotel room.

Room Tip: Don't rent here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvikodak, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Rita M,

First, allow me to apologize for the unacceptable conditions of your room. We do our best to provide a good product and service for our guests. Unfortunately, we were not able to meet your expectations. We are doing our best to address the mold and other issues. We hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.


Regards,

Manish-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Kodak, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon forge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This by far has been the worst place I have ever stayed. Stains all over the carpet and the room smelled like body odor and onions. I asked for a different room and they said we can only change sheets not rooms. There was dirt and black curly pubic hair in the sheets. There was long hair in the shower that was surely not mine. I hope no one goes though this. Please don't ever stay here. The water wasn't even hot when I went to shower. These owners are all about getting your money and putting in as little money as they possibly can to keep this establishment running.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvikodak, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jennmir,

We strive to ensure that each of our guests have a positive experience while staying here with us. Please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay. Had we known of these issues, we would have kindly changed your room. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations.




Regards,

Manish-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Kodak, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kodak
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Well we have decided to TRY to stay here when we didn't have no lights nor water due to the storm. Let me say this I NEVER write a review. Anyways. They put us in room 127 which is bottom and remind u after the storms. I walked in and the room smell met me. It was musky. I went back to the desk and ask for another room and told her that the room smelled awful. She replied well is it a water smell bc with the storms sometimes it smells that way. I said I want sure and offered us air fresher. Well I thought maybe that room was flooded due to the storms so I went back in there and took my flip flop of and sure enough goodness gracious the floor was wet. There was so way I was staying here. They put us in the room above the room we was in well the sheets had yellow stains. I went back up to the desk and clearly asked for a refund. She got attitude and asked well what do you want a holiday in they are 100% in EVERYTHING. I said well yes and what's sad is they admitted there hotel was NOT 100% everything. Yuck. Now I am dealing with my credit card and booking.com because she said "she refunded" the money back on my card and come to find out NO REFUND!! I hate lying crooks that's out to get people's hard earned money. I advised you PLEASE go somewhere else. I promise you won't regret it and your not losing anything by not saying here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvikodak, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Robyn3664,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that due to the circumstances, we were not able to provide you with the accommodations you were expecting. If you could contact us directly regarding you refund. It does take some time to reflect on your credit card statement. This could explain why you felt that we did not take care of the issue. We are not crooks as you had stated and try our best to work with the public on any issues which may happen during their stays.


Regards,

Manish-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Kodak, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Front desk guy was great answered all questions about the area. Hotel is an older hotel but for the price it was great.. could use some new pillows or more on each bed. Location is great walking distance to the smokies park and a McDonald's . Drive 10 hours got a room Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvikodak, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Mitchell W,

Thank you for sharing a traveler review with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our motel which is located not far from the baseball stadium. We are glad that you chose Americas Best Value Inn.



Regards,

Manish-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Kodak, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent staff. Great rooms. Very pleased with the service. Need to add a little to the breakfast menu, but other than that... Great.. We will certainly return.. Very close to the interstate for easy on and off!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvikodak, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Melissa W,

I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our clean rooms and excellent staff. If you are ever passing through this area again, we would love the opportunity to have you come and stay with us again!



Regards,

Manish-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Kodak, TN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 184 East Dumplin Valley Road, I-40 at SR 66, Exit #407, Kodak, TN 37764
Location: United States > Tennessee > Kodak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kodak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Kodak/Sevierville, located off Interstate I-40 just 20 miles east of Knoxville. We are conveniently situated nearby to the Smokey Mountain entertainment district making our hotel a great starting point for your vacation. We invite our guests to start your day off right with our free continental breakfast, and to enjoy complimentary coffee all day in our lobby. Stay connected with free wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public areas. Corporate travelers will appreciate the convenience of our fax and copy services. Step into the privacy and comfort of your own guest room featuring amenities including a cable TV, HBO, ESPN, Showtime, desk with lamp, free local calls and wake-up service. 2 pets up to 40lbs each are allowed for a charge of $8 per pet, per night. There are several restaurants located within walking distance of our hotel including McDonald's, Cracker Barrel, and Uncle Bucks Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodak Motel 6
Kodak Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.